We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Magellan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Magellan
Ranked #283 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A true find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

A wonderful little hotel in the 17th Arrondissement. Helpful and courteous staff - especially the female ones. Smallish (but this is typical of Paris) but very clean and modern rooms, a delightful little courtyard, lovely breakfast and about 5 mins walk from Periere metro. A true find after trying many hotels in the same price bracket. Highly recommended and will be back to stay again next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadMonty2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear host,

Thank you for having taken time to write on your experience at the Magellan. I have already informed our Ambassadors of your comments (the little girl !)
At the Magellan, we are always delighted to answer the personal requests. Do not hesitate to contact us during your next stay so that we can make you a service even more personalized.
We hope we can welcome you soon among us.

Best regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    365
    57
    14
    8
See reviews for
74
356
58
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed at Hotel Magellan after a 10 day trip through Europe. After 10 days of navigating subway systems with minimal escalators, my arms cried when we walked into the building next to the courtyard and had to climb 40 stairs with our luggage. My bf and I are fit people, but later in the night after trains and lugging our luggage around, the 40 stairs nearly killed us. It was a nice treat to have breakfast included, which had everything you could want in a continental breakfast. The egg boiling station was a nice touch, as was the fresh squeezed juice that you poured yourself. The staff were very diligent cleaning up plates and making sure there was adequate food.

The room was nice and clean it was nice to see a shower curtain and full shower. The weather was very mild and muggy, so air conditioning wouldn't have went astray, but opening the windows was a decent solution. It was somewhat easy to find off the metro and there were a variety of restaurants to choose from around the hotel. The first night we were recommended the restaurant directly down the street on the corner and it was incredible.

I would stay at this hotel again, as I enjoyed that it was out of the tourist zone and the neighbourhood was clean and appeared safe. The courtyard area was nice (although we didn't use it). The staff were all friendly and helped us when we needed.

Room Tip: The second floor in the building around the corner from the courtyard was nice and quiet. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Host,

Thank you for your kind words. Your positive remarks are a big motivation for all our teams. (It's a pity for staircases nevertheless...)

Regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Nice hotel with breakfast in a little courtyard which was nice each morning before going off to see Paris. The metro was a short walk, which we often walked to through a lovely park. There also was a coffee shop near the metro which we enjoyed as we were coming and going sightseeing for the day. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kafiagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Host,

It is the pleasure to read that your stay in our hotel was a big success. We hope we can welcome you again during your next stay in Paris.

Regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

If you're looking for a really nice hotel in Paris that is affordable at the same time, you have found it :-)

The rooms in the hotel are really nice and modern, not huge but you have sufficient space, and you can either get a room facing the lovely courtyard or the quite quiet street (rooms to the street have balconies!). There is also a water cooker with tee & coffee in the room, and a safe - the only thing I missed was a mini-bar. The bed is really comfortable, too.

Breakfast was nice - sufficient variety, and I liked the possibility to make fresh orange juice. Ask for an espresso if you want a bit stronger coffee in the morning. When the weather is fine, you can also take your breakfast in the courtyard, which is quite a treat.

The location is ok - you walk about 10 minutes to a subway which will bring you to all the typical tourist destinations. Walking all the way to e.g. Montmatre or Notre Dame is also possible, but be prepared for some serious walking (we just did that once ;).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Host,

I am delighted that you so much liked the design, the comfort of rooms, the breakfast and geographical sitation of our hotel. Thank you for your visit and see you soon...

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal, Québec
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Recommended by a couple of friends who went in March 2013.
We stayed for a whole week at this great hotel. 5th floor with a view on the garden below.
Loved the breakfast ... included in the price. Had breakfast outside in the garden as often as we could. Had freshly pressed orange juice every day :)
Great location to get every where in Paris. Metro not far at all.
Very comfortable bed. Huge window to open and get some air.
NO AC, but fortunately we had an amazing week weather wise.
Washroom with a bidée .... LOVED IT !

All in all we most definitely would and will be going back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the garden. Quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elianecl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Host,

That pleases us that you took advantage well of your stay in our hotel. Thank you for your constructive feedback and we hope we can welcome you among us during your next visit in Paris.

Regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Room 103 at Le Magellan for 9 days. The room IS small but it has large TV, bedside tables & lamps, desk, telephone, closet with PLENTY of hangers (unusual in many American hotels!), and a large window overlooking the lovely COURTYARD.
But, there is no room fridge & no air conditioning. Could have used both as it was quite hot & humid during our stay. The compact bathroom has toilet, bidet, sink, bathtub (with built-in laundry line), and a small, wall-mounted hair
dryer.
The front desk staff are helpful, the kitchen staff is very cordial. The breakfasts are basically all you can eat: baguettes, croissants, pains au chocolat, pastries, bread for toasting, cheeses, cold cuts, eggs, fresh & dried fruits, butter, jams, honey, FRESH orange juice, carafes of coffee served with small pitcher of hot milk, tea. We often skipped lunch because we could have such an ample breakfast!
Le Magellan is a small, charming hotel. The lobby & sitting room are nice, you can get drinks at the bar, the location is near the Palais des Congrès, and several Métro stops; the neighborhood has good restaurants & cafés.
So, why would I NOT STAY THERE AGAIN?
CIGARETTE SMOKE.
Before, during, and after breakfast -- and at all times of the day or night -- people went into the courtyard to smoke. I'm allergic to smoke & it aggravates my asthma. And it was too hot during our stay to keep the window closed, so, lots of cigarette smoke came into our room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cricket M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Host,

Thank you for having taken time to share your experiences of your stay among us. We are delighted to read that you have have a pleasant stay. We are sorry to learn that you were disrupted by the smell of cigarette. The hotel is non-smoking and thus it is the only possibility for our customers to go to the garden to smoke a cigarette. The air conditioning should be installed in rooms soon. We hope we can nevertheless welcome you again during your next visit in the city.

Best regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Very, very impressed!
Fantastic location. Normally, I like to stay right in the city centre but you have everything you need around the Magellan and can be on the Metro to anywhere you like in 5 minutes. When we wanted to go to Versailles for the day, the staff not only came out to help us buy our tickets from the machine, but also printed us out a journey plan which was invaluable.
The area is quiet (so the glorious hot weather wasn't a problem as we just opened the windows wide at night) yet has all the amenities you need; Carrefour Express for water, snacks etc., and great cafes and restaurants. We particularly liked the nearby Indian (Shri Ganesh), the Thai (Le Nem?) a pizza place and a little take-away round the corner owned by a very friendly French/Egyptian family.
The hotel staff are fantastic - everyone is extremely helpful and no-one passes you without a smile and a greeting. They take pride in their work and it shows.
Rooms are fine (previous reviewer - our door had an internal lock, we had a bathtub with shower, and I wouldn't expect any hotel to give me a free toothbrush and paste!!).
Breakfast is at a sensible time (not too early!), is plentiful and delicious and you can eat inside or in the lovely courtyard.
We had a fantastic stay (wish it had been longer) and would definitely stay here again.
Perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisondonnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Alison,

We are delighted to read that you have have a magnificent stay among us ! Thank you very much for your comment. it’s great to know that you enjoyed the concept of the rooms so much. We hope you were able to have some nice dreams in our comfortable rooms.

We hope to see you again soon,

Regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Armoni
Hotel Armoni
#327 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Hotel Champerret Heliopolis
#448 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel le Mireille
Hotel le Mireille
#441 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Villa des Ternes
#224 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Champerret Elysees
#566 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Hotel Gaston
#261 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magellan

Property: Hotel Magellan
Address: 17 rue Jean Baptiste Dumas, 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#268 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#444 Business Hotel in Paris
#505 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Magellan 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHARMING HOTEL WITH INDOOR GARDEN, A SHORT WALK FROM THE PLACE DE L'ETOILE AND THE PALAIS DES CONGRES. Near to the Arc of Triumph and the Congress center from Porte Maillot, the hotel offers guests an unexpected garden in the heart of Paris's 17th arrondissement. Whether you are in Paris for business or leisure, you will find all the benefits and services of an attractive privately run hotel at the Magellan, at the crossroads of the main business centers and tourist attractions. Next to the Boulevard Pereire Gardens, the hotel is in the style of the surrounding Hausmann architecture, sheltered from bustle of Paris's busier streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magellan Hotel Paris
Hotel Magellan Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing