We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Magellan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Magellan
Ranked #287 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our large room overlooked the street but we never noticed any street noise. The breakfast room was of the highest caliber, with a wide variety of food and a most attentive staff. The front desk staff were very helpful and accommodating. The bathroom had a full tub as well as a laundry line, which is lacking in most hotels. It is in a wonderful location, with a charming small walking park nearby, as well as the metro and bus stops. We were quite pleased and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being so thoughtful in giving your appreciation of the time spent with us during your stay at the Magellan.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our property, its location and the staff.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Magellan.

Best Regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    367
    57
    14
    8
See reviews for
74
357
58
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We chose the Magellan Hotel because of its location and price. It is only a 15 minute walk from the Arc De Triomphe, and close to the Metro. For the price it seemed like a much better deal than the average hotel in districts that are further from the city centre. The hotel us in a pleasant, mostly residential area. The room was simple, but still pleasant. All the staff were friendly and helpful, and the buffet breakfast was excellent.
We would happily recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be noisier due to early morning dust carts etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this kind review that perfectly reflets the level of service that we want to offer to each of guests.
Sincerely.

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yerevan, Armenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Please, never stay in this hotel where there is no elevator and you had to go upstairs with your suitcase using stairs. Not so clean with old furniture, not convinient and badly furnished bathroom. Poor breakfast. All this is accompanied with horrible service. The receptionist refused to open the room door when I forgot keys in the room with explanation she is the only one working in the hotel and she can left the reception. I urged her to open the door since I had just 15 minutes after which I had to left the hotel with a group, but she didn't even move or respond. After I finally got in the room I discovered the cleaning lady took the keys to the reception, but the receptionist didn't even check it. I have travelled a lot, but this is the worst hotel I have ever seen. Please, never, never stay in such hotels so that they understand that iimpression on Paris is not only Paris, but the hotel, service and people you meet there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilittunyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Mrs Lilittynian,

We thank you to take a moment to give us your opinon about about our hotel. We are sincerely apologise that your experience was not sucessful.
Nevetheless, if you don't mind, We would like to clarify something:
Our hotel is equipped of an elevator in the principal building; you were at the "Pavillon", typical parisian house with only 9 rooms on two different floors and, you are right without elevator.
You know, it is really appreciate by our leisure guests especially the honeymoon and when you meet difficulties the reception team are completely at your service to help you with yours bags or change your allocation if you signify it on check in day.
Regarding the moment where you forgot your room key. As the receptionist explained, she was in impossibility to come with you during 15 minutes because she was alone and because she was alone and she was responsible of the security of desk and she must be there in case some other guest wants to do check in or his room key. What did you think about hotel when they are nobody to welcome you when you arrived?
In definitely, you lost 15 min because you forgot your room key in your room and the housemaid who thinking give you some help brought back the key at reception. If the receptionist did not checked if the key was on board it was she definitely trusted you.
So, that you called a poor quality of service seems to be a terrible misunderstanding.
As regards your mark about cleaning service, 1 point on 5, it a really bad mark which never we received!!! It's really important to know what that you have not agreed. The cleaning quality if our main goal and we wish absolutely want to improve us.
We are sincerely apologise for your bad experience and we hope sincerely you will help us by your answer to increase our quality of service.

My best regards

Hélène DEQUAIRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

A perfect end to a wonderful trip. Elegant hotel with attention to detail and a feeling of complete luxury. Close to the metro, quiet with extremely friendly and professional staff. This gem also has a lovely courtyard sitting area a small bar and a fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillyaVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments through Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Le Magellan.
We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with our hotel and services.
Do not hesitate to visit our Facebook page or our official website for special promotions and our best rates!

We sincerely hope to welcome you soon at Le Magellan.

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tooele, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel and its staff were incredible. Its close to the metro so its easily accessible to all the venues and sites. We were not too excited about France, but our minds are changed and we loved it. THe hotel is clean, rooms pretty small, usual for Europe and the breakfast was fresh and delicious. They have a fresh orange juice machine that I wish every hotel had. Fruit and breaks of the best quality and the wait staff was excellent. Highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2millionmilers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at Le Magellan.

We are so pleased to read that the comfort of the room was appreciated but also the helpfulness of the staff. We also thank you for your valuable comments that we will take into consideration as we continuously do our best to offer a high quality of service to our guests.

We sincerely hope to welcome you soon at Le Magellan.

Best regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My daughter and I had a very pleasant visit April 27 - May 4, 2014. The hotel is in a lovely residential area with shops and restaurants nearby. The room was as expected, clean, comfortable with all amenities. Our flight arrived very early on a Sunday morning and although we couldn't check in the Hotel staff were very helpful and have a very secure area to leave your bags until the afternoon. It was great to wander in the neighborhood on a Sunday morning and then visit the Champs-Élysées! Breakfast was included and very good. Our room had a lovely view of the quiet street. The courtyard looked so inviting but you can't control the rainy weather so we didn't have a chance to enjoy it. WiFi was good and it was great to have the pay for use business area to print tickets and boarding passes etc. We took a taxi both to and from CDG airport, it was about 55 euros each way but for me well worth it considering the timing of our flights, weather and transfers required on the Metro/Train. The Metro and RER C line is less than a 10 minute walk, very convenient to visit all the major attractions in Paris and Versailles. I highly recommend the hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and support. We are glad to read that we have met your expectations. Your comment is our best reward and we hope you will renew this experience and we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very nice hotel in very pretty, quiet neighborhood in 17thArron.
Check in was quick but elevator was out of service. Luckily we
were only on 2nd floor. Located conveniently between Ternes
metro which is direct line to Montmarte and Pereire metro which is
direct to Eiffel tower and further. Took train from airport with a change
at St. Michel Notre Dame which came out at Pereire Lavallois which
is a 10 minute walk to hotel. Very easy navigating. From hotel it is
a nice 15 minute walk also to Arc de Triomphe.

Staff were very nice and accommodating. There is a bar that you can
buy drinks or bottle of wine from (serviced by front desk staff). Room
was typical european room with all of the amenities and clean. Cute
breakfast room. It was definitely a great price for the budget traveler.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renee2rio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sincerely touched to read how much you appreciated our hotel. We fell honored that you chose the Magellan for your holidays in Paris. You are quite correct in that our location is very ideal and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed the style of our property.
Thank you for your kinds words and support for our employees is very much appreciated and we will share with them.

Best regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Champerret Heliopolis
#336 of 1,800 in Paris
190 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Armoni
Hotel Armoni
#362 of 1,800 in Paris
512 reviews
Hotel La Villa des Ternes
#204 of 1,800 in Paris
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Les Jardins de la Villa & Spa
Batignolles-Monceau
Niel Hotel
Niel Hotel
#732 of 1,800 in Paris
298 reviews
Hotel Etoile Pereire
#1,103 of 1,800 in Paris
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magellan

Property: Hotel Magellan
Address: 17 rue Jean Baptiste Dumas, 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#268 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#444 Business Hotel in Paris
#505 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Magellan 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHARMING HOTEL WITH INDOOR GARDEN, A SHORT WALK FROM THE PLACE DE L'ETOILE AND THE PALAIS DES CONGRES. Near to the Arc of Triumph and the Congress center from Porte Maillot, the hotel offers guests an unexpected garden in the heart of Paris's 17th arrondissement. Whether you are in Paris for business or leisure, you will find all the benefits and services of an attractive privately run hotel at the Magellan, at the crossroads of the main business centers and tourist attractions. Next to the Boulevard Pereire Gardens, the hotel is in the style of the surrounding Hausmann architecture, sheltered from bustle of Paris's busier streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magellan Hotel Paris
Hotel Magellan Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing