We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little hotel”
Review of Hotel Magellan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Magellan
Ranked #368 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights a week ago. It is excellent! It's clean, quiet, and inexpensive, the three most important factors for me to choose a hotel. The staff are helpful and the breakfast is great. It takes about 8 minutes of walking to the nearest metro/RER station Pereire. There are at least three supermarkets/grocery stores nearby which is very convenient (one even opens untill midnight). There's a restaurant just down the corner, I didn't go, but it seems nice. There are more choices around the metro station. The neighborhood is very quiet and safe. Walking late from the metro to the hotel won't be any problem. BTW, the bed is super cozy. I highly recommend this little 3-star hotel in Paris.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank wangtwdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for being so thoughtful in giving you appreciation of the time spendt with us.
We hope to welcome you back.
Sincerely.

Hélène Dequaire
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 750 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

I booked this hotel through Europedestnations.com which turned out to be a great choice. Given its location (5 km northwest of main attractions such as Eiffel Tower), friendliness of the staff, having a lot of charm and finally being located 6 minutes from the Metro station, you can't ask for a better value. The hotel's breakfast was included in our deal which was absolutely superb! The hotel is located in a fairly quiet neighborhood which close to all sorts of restaurants, grocery markets and retail stores. Just stay away from the restaurant kitty corner from the hotel but all other restaurants we tried during our stay were great and of course pricey (we are talking about paris after all!)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ali I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Kindly rest assured that we have shared you kind words with all of the team.
We willl all be very happy to welcome you soon.

Sincerely

Hélène Dequaire
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a lovely stay at this wonderful hotel. Room was great, breakfast fantastic. It was a great location, close to the metro and some lovely restaurants. The restaurant as you leave the hotel to the right, same street was the best meal of our trip and there is a lovely Italian around the corner too. Would definitely recommend and a really good price too. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Princessjcx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for writting such a positive review.
Your enthusiasm for our hotel and also for our employees is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for them.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Sincerely.

Hélène Dequaire
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Visited Paris 6 times over the past 12 months. Stayed at Hotel Magellan on June 6, 2014 for 2 nights. This is a sold 3 star hotel with very reasonable rates if book early. Would definitely stay here again.

Pros:
1. Good soundproof with near full-size bed in a single room
2. The black gentleman working the night shift was fantastic. He provided very clear instructions for the Metro and RER. He will teach you French if you want to learn a few useful phrases.
3. Breakfast was very good with fresh squeeze orange juice (a must), do-it-yourself hard boil eggs, good selection of breads and croissants, sausages, cheese and yogurt.
4. Good location in the 7th Arr., 10 min walk from a grocery store (Monoprix) and the ATM.
5. 15-20 minute walk to the Arc de Triomphe
6. Lots of restaurants near by, a pastry shop one block away and a small store around the corner for snacks, fruits and drinks.
7. Hotel near Metro and RER C (train to CDG)
Cons:
1. Bathroom and shower is very small.

Room Tip: Book through hotel website for a rate including breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tulip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear guest,

We apprecicate you taking the time to share your experience with us.
Thank you for your kind comment on our team.
Sincerely.

Hélène Dequaire
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Booked the magellan for a 2 day trip to Paris with family. Only reason i choose it was it's proximity to the Arc the triumph.
Arrived Paris after our flight from Heathrow was cancelled and and we had to spend the night at an Airport hotel in london, thereby losing one night of our stay in Paris.
We arrived at the hotel and was meet by the most unpleasant staff at the desk who after explaining what we went through, insisted that we wouldn't be given keys tour room, because we were four in number. This was myself, wife, four years old child and infant, which was clearly stated while booking.
I had booked through Agoda.com who had collected payment upfront, if wasn't for that i would have walked out and gone to look for another hotel. He said insurance laws in France doesn't cover more than 3 persons in a hotel room. We were made to pay for an extra room before we we allowed to get the keys.
To add insult to injury the lift wasn't working so we had to climb four floors. the rooms were so small there is hardly any leg room for movement. The only downside to our trip
The only plus is it's proximity to Arc de Triumph

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wakanow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you to taking time to give us your opinion about your trip in Paris but let me answer and clarify some things:
We are truly sorry that your flight was cancelled at Heatrow Airport. We can understand this event has ruin the beginning of your stay but you can recognize that the hotel Magellan is nothing to.
About your check in at the hotel,I would like to clarify that your booking confirmation indicated a reversation for 2 adults in a double room and not for 2 adults and 2 children. Unfortunately, we do not have family room and what the receptionnist told you is true: it is impossible for 2 adults and 2 chilren to stay in one our room for 2 reasons:
- the rooms are too small
- Due to fire regulation, the French administration is really strict with that, we CANNOT allocated more than 2 persons in each room.
I am responsible of the safety for all of guests of the Hotel, so my instructions to my staff are clear about this law.
You can trust us, we regret not having lived up to your expectations but sometimes we have to comply with some rules
Very Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our large room overlooked the street but we never noticed any street noise. The breakfast room was of the highest caliber, with a wide variety of food and a most attentive staff. The front desk staff were very helpful and accommodating. The bathroom had a full tub as well as a laundry line, which is lacking in most hotels. It is in a wonderful location, with a charming small walking park nearby, as well as the metro and bus stops. We were quite pleased and would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for being so thoughtful in giving your appreciation of the time spent with us during your stay at the Magellan.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our property, its location and the staff.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Magellan.

Best Regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We chose the Magellan Hotel because of its location and price. It is only a 15 minute walk from the Arc De Triomphe, and close to the Metro. For the price it seemed like a much better deal than the average hotel in districts that are further from the city centre. The hotel us in a pleasant, mostly residential area. The room was simple, but still pleasant. All the staff were friendly and helpful, and the buffet breakfast was excellent.
We would happily recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be noisier due to early morning dust carts etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this kind review that perfectly reflets the level of service that we want to offer to each of guests.
Sincerely.

Hélène Dequaire
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Champerret Heliopolis
#264 of 1,804 in Paris
226 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Armoni
Hotel Armoni
#385 of 1,804 in Paris
540 reviews
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#330 of 1,804 in Paris
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#22 of 1,804 in Paris
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magellan

Address: 17 rue Jean Baptiste Dumas, 75017 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#267 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#443 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £85 - £893 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Magellan 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHARMING HOTEL WITH INDOOR GARDEN, A SHORT WALK FROM THE PLACE DE L'ETOILE AND THE PALAIS DES CONGRES. Near to the Arc of Triumph and the Congress center from Porte Maillot, the hotel offers guests an unexpected garden in the heart of Paris's 17th arrondissement. Whether you are in Paris for business or leisure, you will find all the benefits and services of an attractive privately run hotel at the Magellan, at the crossroads of the main business centers and tourist attractions. Next to the Boulevard Péreire Gardens, the hotel is in the style of the surrounding Hausmann architecture, sheltered from bustle of Paris's busier streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magellan Hotel Paris
Hotel Magellan Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing