We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going nuts over chestnut soup...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Veraison

La Veraison
Ranked #24 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$54 - US$65
Cuisines: French, European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Going nuts over chestnut soup...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just a great little place. Outstanding food and outstanding service. Incredibly tasty chestnut soup (do not miss it!) and awesome duck confit. On top of that the lady Chef was from Bavaria - WOW! Who says Germans can't cook as well or better than the French? Highly recommended!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank IndySourkraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    84
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious food, charming atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Delicious, home cooked food at this restaurant. A really lovely and charming atmosphere, a little away from centre of Paris but all of these reviews are true - it really lives up to what is said about it. The staff are delightful and very down to earth, hope they don't change and it stays just as home like and local as it currently is! Only downside is it is very hot due to the chef cooking in the same room, but really the other aspects make up for this! Thank you La Veraison!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EGS280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Try it - you will not regret it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Fabulous place. Well off the beaten track, you will not come here for the fine views but you will come for friendly service, a warm welcome and excellent food. Great to see right in to the kitchen to see things being prepared to order. Small but well formed restaurant with a nice atmosphere.
Make sure you book, the restaurant was full on the Friday evening we visited.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skydom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
192 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 660 helpful votes
“A true find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were taken to this restaurant by friends who live in Paris. They are regular customers and they were highly recommending it. Indeed we were not disappointed at all. The restaurant is relatively small and everything you order is cooked right in front of you - this is very interesting but sometimes the heat can get at you. The menu is updated very frequently updated as it takes into account what is available in the market and this is a major plus. On the night we visited there were two dishes based on asparagus; I had the white asparagus gaspacho which was absolutely divine and my friends had the green asparagus salad which was also excellent. My ain dish was a fillet of white fish whish had an oriental twist as it was cooked in sesame oil and served with stir fired vegetables. The beef with morels in a creamy sauce seemed to be excellent but my friend selfishly did not allow me to taste it, The fondant au chocolat was oozy and tasteful and the strawberries with balsamic vinegar great.
The restaurant has an excellent wine list although it tends to be on the expensive side. The service is impeccable and informative and the chef joins the customers from time to time when she is not busy. We considered the restaurant a wonderful find and we were very grateful to our friends for their recommendation!
One word of warning: our visit was on a Saturday and our friends had booked well in advance. The restaurant was fully booked on the night. Ts was hardly surprising as the restaurant is excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Scotscouple99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borlange, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurang by our hotel (who also knew the owner of the restaurang) and we also looked at tripadvisor. Therefor our expectations were high. When we first entered the restaurang it felt that this should be a wonderful night which it was! I love the idea with the smallness and that you could see the kitchen.

The food was stunningly good and the service was very friendly!

Go to this restaurang when in Paris!

Helpful?
Thank Jonas_Andersson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Veraison also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Veraison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing