We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food But Poor Ambiance”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Veraison

La Veraison
Ranked #24 of 16,854 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$54 - US$65
Cuisines: French, European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Food But Poor Ambiance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The food was good. Mainly the appetizers. The owners were very friendly. It is a small place with down to earth decor. It is not a place for a romantic or a special dinner. It is more of neighborhood place for a good meal. (by the way, this is a major disadvantage of critics on TripAdvisor: they lack the setting/ambiance rating - something which very important)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    87
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This is a place that cares about it customers. There are not that many tables so it is wise to book in advance.

The food is excellent, all dishes we ordered were delicious especially the pork. One of party claimed not to be hungry but ended up finishing 3 courses. The wine prices are very reasonable.

But above all, the service was fantastic. We were being checked on regularly and the chef also took time to come around. She even sent us off when we left, it really was like you were visiting friends!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dodo4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Norway, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Loved it. Tasty food. Good service. Even the chef took his time to walk around the tables and talk to the guests. Reccomended!!

Helpful?
Thank bjornkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Delicious food, good service, nice atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We picked this restaurant because it was within walking distance of our hotel and we like to try places that are a bit off the tourist track. We'd read a few great reviews and weren't disappointed. We were greeted by the chef who remembered speaking to my partner who had called to make the reservation a few days earlier. The menu was great - it was difficult to decide. We had the fois gras ravioli with cognac sauce and an asparagus dish to start, both were delicious. For main we had veal and pork dishes, again, both delicious. We just about had enough room for dessert and opted for the cheesecake and the chocolate ganache with salted caramel ice cream. The ice cream was really great, as was the chocolate ganache, although it was so rich I could't finish it. They also have a great wine list. The restaurant is quite small, perhaps 10 tables, with 3 members of staff. Food is made to order in the small open kitchen which meant we had a bit of a wait between courses, we didn't mind as we were enjoying the evening but we did have to wait a bit at the end of the night to pay the bill. The only real negative is that due to the open kitchen the restaurant got incredibly hot as the evening went on. That aside, I would definitely recommend La Veraison - excellent food, charming atmosphere and warm service. Be sure to make a reservation, we visited on a Friday evening and they were fully booked.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Going nuts over chestnut soup...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just a great little place. Outstanding food and outstanding service. Incredibly tasty chestnut soup (do not miss it!) and awesome duck confit. On top of that the lady Chef was from Bavaria - WOW! Who says Germans can't cook as well or better than the French? Highly recommended!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank IndySourkraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Veraison also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Veraison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing