We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just superb”
Review of Verjus

Verjus
Ranked #492 of 18,828 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Louvre / Palais-Royal
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

I read about Verjus over a year ago after I dined at Ellsworth. I knew I would be returning to Paris this year so it was at the top of my list.

Verjus has a set menu of 7 delectable courses. I was dining with my mum and we decided to opt for the matching wines. Definitely did not regret that decision.

Verjus' menu is all about local seasonal produce and the waiters were able to tell us where many ingredients were sourced from.

Will definitely return in the future

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank bel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 161 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2016

Verjus was walking distance from our Palais-Royal apartment and our first real dining experience since arriving in Paris. It did not disappoint. It is a very intimate setting, Our group of 5 was seated at the entrance, not the best table as other guests were arriving and leaving but no other tables were available. An english speaking staff member was helpful describing each wine paired with our tasting menu. The delicious meal ran about 3 hours which is nice not to feel rushed. Restrooms are in the basement where the wine bar (and cellar) is. They ran out of toilet paper in the ladies room and when a staff member opened a small cupboard expecting to get more, it was empty to. It was the only setback but not to detract from my 5 star rating. There is a private dining room above the main dining room that looks out on the historic Théâtre du Palais-Royal and can accommodate parties of 8-12 guests for private dinners and special occasions. I wish we had another week in Paris as we would definitely have returned to Verjus.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Noreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2016

We had a wonderful experience at Verjus!
We found this restaurant on a trip two years ago and had our favorite meal of our trip. We went back to Paris with our family and made sure to make reservations for dinner. We have three young children and were a little nervous about bringing them but decided we would try...everyone was very kind to my children and my children enjoyed the experience of a tasting menu. I would not recommend this as a family restaurant unless your children are willing to try new foods and can sit through a three hour dinner.
The chef came to talk with us as we finished dinner and was extremely kind to my children.
The food is wonderful and creative and we love the small atmosphere. It feels like your experience can change though based on the menu. Two years ago, we loved every single item on the menu....this time though there were a couple of items that we weren't crazy about. But that could be completely personal taste.

All in all, I highly recommend this restaurant. I love smaller restaurants and love how personal this restaurant is. Everyone was very helpful and accommodating and gave excellent wine suggestions!

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank schmerge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Went here for a birthday celebration, and really enjoyed both the tasting menu and the accompanying wine. Interesting food choices and combinations - would go back.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

A truly great little restaurant with the perfect wine pairing to an incredibly array of tasting dishes.

A romantic atmosphere and great staff to create the perfect evening out.

Although it was a tasting menu we felt fulfilled but not bloated as most others leave you. The wines were superb and the whole pace perfectly executed.

See you soon!

Date of visit: May 2016
1  Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Verjus also viewed

 

Been to Verjus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.