We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unfriendly staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of A La Place Saint Georges

A La Place Saint Georges
Ranked #5,876 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Opera / Bourse
Eeklo, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“unfriendly staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We passed this restaurant in the afternoon when walking through the streets of Paris and decided to go in for a coffee and someting small to eat.
We were carrying some shopping bags so we decided to sit down at a table for 4, even though we were only 2, but needed some extra space to put down our bags. After all, there was nobody els in the restaurant, we were the only clients.
The waiter came to us and asked - rather unpolite- to move to a table for 2 in the corner near the window. We were surprised and agreed. Loooking back on it, we shouldn't have, but anyway, we moved to that uncosy and uncomfortable place in the restaurant.
When the waiter asked us what we wanted and we said we just wanted coffee, we didn't want to have something to eat, he was clearly disappointed and didn't put any more effort in servicing us in a friendly way. We got our coffee, together with the bill, which implied: drinkt your coffee, pay and leave.
So after feeling mistreated like this, we decided to drink up our coffee, pay the bill WITHOUT ANY EXTRA and leave. Again, the waiter was unhappy because he didn't get any tip :)
We will go back to Paris on one of our future citytrips, but not to this cafe/restaurant!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy En Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    79
    46
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We went here for dinner prior to leaving Paris. The service was good considering we moved inside since it had started to rain. The bartender was especially helpful since he brought us Parmesan cheese and a large spoon for our pasta. He also took a picture of us without asking. Yeah for the helpful bartender. The waiter was pleasant enough. He was not rude or unkind even though we had little French understanding.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Authentic French Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

The food was lovely, the prices were reasonable and all the people eating around us seemed to be locals. The waiter who spoke reasonable english was very helpful and the creme brulee was great. I recommend if you are in this area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank carline8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Walking from our hotel near the Moulin Rouge toward Les Halles we stumbled across A La Place de Saint George for breakfast on Sunday morning.
Lovely location, very friendly staff, good coffee (of course), chocolate, croissants and pain au chocolat. Also good ham and eggs to start the day.
Would come again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankSmits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quite good and easy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

We went to this place because it was right near our Hotel. It was busy but they fit us in, service was pretty quick given how busy they were and the food was great. We only had a burger and fries each and a beer but it was very nicely done.

Would happily eat here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OhnoTimbo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A La Place Saint Georges also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to A La Place Saint Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing