We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect steak before quick exit to Eurostar”
Review of Certa

Certa
Ranked #894 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Runway27
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect steak before quick exit to Eurostar”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A great little, interesting, lively bistro with the perfect steak and chips. Good service and a great atmosphere. A bit of time pressure to catch the Eurostar but quick attentive service - despite the place being full - plus a short journey of the RER from near by Gare St Lazare to Gare du Nord meant we had plenty of time and began the journey home with smiles on our faces. We will return plus fully recommend it to others to try and enjoy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trav4114r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    120
    28
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Nicest bar of the neighbourhood”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We rented an apartment on the next street (rue de l'arcade) and wanted to have a drink at night. We were surprised to find that there were not so many bars in this area. We found a few, but they didn't look that friendly ... then we found this one! It's a really cozy lounge bar, the people are welcoming, and the mojitos were delicious. I can definitely recommend this bar!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StewardM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Working Bistro-working well”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Went for a meal early on a Monday evening. Seated and menued immediately by very friendly staff. Ambiance good- steadily filled with youngish clientele fresh from work- some eating and some for a drink only. Comfortable- good service and reasonable food (and large portions). My Osso Buco was fine- J's steak was huge and tasty. The starters- anchovies and hard boiled egg and goose rillettes- were very tasty. I also had a delicious freshly cooked chocolate fondant though in terms of overall quantity this was probably a step too far! With three glasses of Brouilly Beaujolais this came to 70€. Not cheap, but not bad.

Overall a good experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HughWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Don't Go. Waiter Obnoxious. Not in the 'mood' to serve us he said.”
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

We went here on a Sunday evening for a drink and a snack. I ordered a gin and tonic. The waiter took ages to take our order and then brought me the gin with the tonic already mixed in. It looked like sloppy lemonade. I apologised but said I don't drink gin and tonic like that with the tonic mixed in and asked for it separate instead. It would be unusual for a bar to serve a gin and tonic in this way.

He didn't offer to change it and said I had to pay for it even if I didn't drink it. When I said I wasn't going to drink or pay for something I didn't want or hadn't ordered, he said, and I mean literally "this is not worth my time- you can leave- I'm not in the mood for this"! And so we left.....there you have it! Voila!

Helpful?
4 Thank scenarios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cosy local bistro”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We wanted to try a typical Paris bistro (not a tourist trap) for lunch and the staff at our hotel recommended Certa, which was across the street from our hotel (close to st lazare). We were lucky to get a table with 2 comfortable armchairs. The waitress presented the menu in handwritten French on a chalkboard, which didn't really help us. We picked some random food and especially the salad landaise was interesting. We had an apple/strawberry crumble thing for desert which was really fantastic (again we thought we were ordering something else, but hey, it's great to be positively surprised!).
The atmosphere was great and we were the only non-French people there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Svend G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Certa also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Certa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing