We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking & Seating”

Chatelet - Theatre Musical de Paris
Ranked #204 of 1,132 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Booking & Seating”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

(This review is not about the show we saw, that's your own matter of choice, but FYI we saw 'Into the Woods' which was brilliant!)
The website is a nightmare for those not so confident with the French language. Having to input security codes and signing up via email and all via a google translator can be a nightmare - I would telephone if you can.
Some seats in the Corbeille (first tier) and above have VERY restricted views due to the support posts in front of some seating. Be careful when choosing seats that you aren't placed right behind one if these posts.
As with most opera theatres, aim for the more central seats to the stage. Views of the stage are somewhat limited the further back and to the side you are.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mercer-Murray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    61
    13
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exelent”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

If you are up for theatres and spoiling, this would be a good idea as this is something spectacular when you are actually attending a Show.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ldleeuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Helena, California
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful venue, fun show”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My wife and I attended the Christmas concert (Le Pere Noel N’est Une Ordure) at Theatre du Chatelet. It was an easy bus ride on the 96, which deposited us less than a block away from this 1850s, approachable theater on the right bank at the Pont au Change. Place du Chatelet offers a panorama that is a tourist’s dream, with unobstructed views of the Eiffel Tower, La Conciergerie, Notre Dame and, of course, the Seine. You definitely know you are in Paris when you are here.

The audience was mixed, with a lot of families and couples of all ages. It certainly seemed much less formal and more comfortable that one might expect at the Opera House. I guess what we saw could best be described as a Christmas variety show, with instrumental music selections provided by piano, harp, trumpet, harpsichord, some mystery instruments and even a calliope, with vocals by a chorus of teen-aged girls and a few solos by a booming baritone. It was a real mix that on first impression was hokey but as the evening progressed, became fun and even impressive. A thoroughly entertaining and spirited evening!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous programme!”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The Chatelet theatre has a very rich and varied programme all year round, but my particular favourites would have to be the musical comedies that they stage in English! Not everyone is able to jet off to New York or London each time a stage show comes out, so being able to see it in the heart of beautiful Paris is amazing. We just saw My Fair Lady & already have tickets for The King & I in June 2014 :)
The theatre itself is stunning; even if the seats are a litte uncomfortable, but hey, you can't have it all & I think it goes with the atmosphere.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_Saltburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So close to perfect!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Last night I surprised my husband with tickets to Chantecler Tango at the Theatre de Chatelet The show was beautiful and we quite enjoyed the theater. The toughest thing was that the seats were not very comfortable, despite being the top category, and it was hard to sit through to intermission.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chatelet - Theatre Musical de Paris also viewed

 

Been to Chatelet - Theatre Musical de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing