We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE FIRST THING YOU SHOULD DO IN PARIS”

Ricki Stevenson's Black Paris Tours
Ranked #69 of 524 Tours in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A walking-public/city bus tour that takes you to the Paris haunts, hangouts and places made famous by African-Americans. Founded in 1997 by former newscaster and travel reporter, Ricki Stevenson, Black Paris Tours provides little-known facts about the early presence of Africans and African Americans in the City of Light and introduces travelers to great jazz clubs, Diaspora museums of interest and restaurants worth writing home about!
Rio Vista, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THE FIRST THING YOU SHOULD DO IN PARIS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The first thing you should do in Paris is Ricki Stevenson's Black Paris Tour. WOW and another WOW. Learn from the master how to enjoy your Paris vacation from common greetings to crossing the street. Learn that you belong in Paris. Learn that our history is embedded in this beautiful place.
One of Ricki's first lessons was to teach us to speak with a softer voice, ok I am black and real country so you know I had to work on that one.
I am back home now so my very loud, Black, Country Voice is SHOUTING ............................. DO THE TOUR.
Shout out to Dede.

Jerry W

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    40
    8
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The African influence in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Myself, daughter and sister had an amazing experience with Ricki sharing with us the history of Black people and their deep connection with Paris, France, missing info in U.S. history books.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank taylorhyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exciting Black Paris Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were blessed to go on the Black Paris Tour in April 2014. Ricki and her lovely daughter Dee Dee gave us a beautiful welcome to our first visit to Paris. She has a wealth of knowledge of the African and African American contributions to Paris. She also took us to the Paris Fair. This fair only comes once a year. What another blessing. Thanks Ricki for giving us so many beautiful memories to carry with us. We are still talking about how this was one of our favorite tours of Europe. We toured London, Paris and Rome.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HAPPYDAYSPGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
1 review
“Wonderful Journey to the Past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

As an unseasoned traveler in Paris, I found this excursion through the streets of Paris educational and quite enjoyable. It's quite a special feeling walking in the footsteps of legendary black people who either made Paris their home, or had a special place in their hearts for this celebrated city. Thank you so much for this unique experience!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Like being with family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Ricki is engaging, warm and very passionate about Black history!! It was as if you were hearing history from a family member and wished you would have taped the stories. We have a new appreciation of various sites and of course of the culture and diversity of Paris, I now want to read the various books she shared during her research. I recommend taking her tour on your first day. You are not only inspired by her wonderful spirit, you learn how to navigate the city be train and bus. You also learn about proper etiquette which is useful during your stay. She is also interested in what you want to know or experience and will provide assistance or guidance towards achieving them.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ricki Stevenson's Black Paris Tours also viewed

 

Been to Ricki Stevenson's Black Paris Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing