We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great concert venue”
Review of Salle Pleyel

Salle Pleyel
Ranked #35 of 242 Concerts & Shows in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hamilton, NJ
Level Contributor
587 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 620 helpful votes
“Great concert venue”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Surely enough, Salle Pleyel built in the latter 1920's in the sort of Art Deco style, doesn't amaze its guests with the lavish Belle Epoque interior as Opera Garnier does. However, for the lovers of the classical music, the spacious Salle Pleyel offers numerous, carefully selected, concerts featuring world-class musicians. We reserved our advance tickets using Salle Pleyel's easy-to-navigate Web site. The affordability of the tickets is hardly believable; for the central seats in the third row of orchestra we had to pay only 60 euro each.
The concert of the amazing Russian pianist Denis Matsuev was unforgettable. We would highly recommend the nearby famous Brasserie La Lorraine (two minutes walk) as your after-the-show dining option. We were pleasantly surprised that Denis Matsuev too picked the same place for his and his companions' dinner.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RGSOUNDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    21
    5
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent concert! Excellent venue”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Salle Pleyel was a great venue for the Orchestre de Paris concert we saw. They have a great website where one can book tickets very conveniently with all additional information to make a visit to the Salle Pleyel as hassle free as possible. Well done!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank whiteroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First visit to Salle Pleyel”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Wonderful! Handsome building with great acoustics, well renovated and comfortable. Medium-sized symphony hall, seats 1950 or so. Oh, the music! Beethoven and Mendelssohn with Martha Argerich, Claudio Abbado and the Mahler Chamber Orchestra. Musical heaven, it just doesn't get any better, well worth travelling from UK for.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Figural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
191 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent Acoustics, World Class Artists”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I had the opportunity to attend a performance of the Verdi Requiem on March 4. The 4 soloists were world class, the Czech Philharmonic Choir superb and the orchestra outstanding. I understand that the tenor, Stuart Neill, had sung the Requiem over 150 times and it was evident in his facile performance.

But I think the purpose of this review is to comment more on the venue. I was amazed at the acoustics - truly superb. The only negatives were seats which were a bit too close together and a ventilation system which was way off that evening (very warm in the theater with only an occasional on/off flow of cool air). Hopefully the ventilation problem was a one off, but it was truly uncomfortable. The seat cushions, however, were consistently comfortable throughout the entire performance.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTraveller034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Magnificent Concert Hall”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Went into the Salle Pleyel six times during my stay in Paris and I loved every minute of it. This is how a world-class concert hall should operate: great line-up of soloists/orchestras and efficient service from the employees. There is even a Pleyel Piano Museum right next to it!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank celleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salle Pleyel also viewed

 

Been to Salle Pleyel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing