We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous acoustics, very hepful staff”
Review of Salle Pleyel

Salle Pleyel
Ranked #36 of 242 Concerts & Shows in Paris
Attraction details
Mercer Island, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fabulous acoustics, very hepful staff”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

great music in a beautiful hall. wonderul experience. Metro stop Ternes. People dressed from the occassional evening frock, down to jeans and sandals, all seeming enjoy themselves, so reason to stay away if you travel as casually as we do.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank laurelhurst56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    21
    5
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best acoustics I have ever heard”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Great venue in Paris! Huge entry, small bar (with free pop corn)
Concert hall is not too big including 2 balconies.
Acoustics are just perfect. Patrick Watson sang without microphone and everyone could hear it fine. Highly recommended

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TessaVeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, NJ
Level Contributor
569 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 615 helpful votes
“Great concert venue”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Surely enough, Salle Pleyel built in the latter 1920's in the sort of Art Deco style, doesn't amaze its guests with the lavish Belle Epoque interior as Opera Garnier does. However, for the lovers of the classical music, the spacious Salle Pleyel offers numerous, carefully selected, concerts featuring world-class musicians. We reserved our advance tickets using Salle Pleyel's easy-to-navigate Web site. The affordability of the tickets is hardly believable; for the central seats in the third row of orchestra we had to pay only 60 euro each.
The concert of the amazing Russian pianist Denis Matsuev was unforgettable. We would highly recommend the nearby famous Brasserie La Lorraine (two minutes walk) as your after-the-show dining option. We were pleasantly surprised that Denis Matsuev too picked the same place for his and his companions' dinner.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RGSOUNDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent concert! Excellent venue”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Salle Pleyel was a great venue for the Orchestre de Paris concert we saw. They have a great website where one can book tickets very conveniently with all additional information to make a visit to the Salle Pleyel as hassle free as possible. Well done!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank whiteroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First visit to Salle Pleyel”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Wonderful! Handsome building with great acoustics, well renovated and comfortable. Medium-sized symphony hall, seats 1950 or so. Oh, the music! Beethoven and Mendelssohn with Martha Argerich, Claudio Abbado and the Mahler Chamber Orchestra. Musical heaven, it just doesn't get any better, well worth travelling from UK for.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Figural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salle Pleyel also viewed

 

Been to Salle Pleyel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing