We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“don't get your hopes up”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Salle Pleyel

Salle Pleyel
Ranked #39 of 242 Concerts & Shows in Paris
Attraction details
Paris, France
Level Contributor
147 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“don't get your hopes up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

When the designer of the original Salle Pleyel heard how bad its acoustics were, the story goes that he committed suicide. Since then the hall has been extensively remodeled at least 3 times, with a view of improving the acoustics. This was successful, but only up to a point. They are now acceptable, sort of. But definitely not as good as the Théâtre des Champs Elysées or the fantastic Palais Garnier (the original Opéra de Paris). If you must go to a concert there, because the artist roster is first rate, then go. But go despite the hall's acoustics, not because of them.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank philber78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    19
    5
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great accoustic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We went to the Joshua Redman Quartet on October 6th 2013. Metro Ternes in 5 min away. We had a great night and the accoustic was phenomenal. Only thing was the heat. It was so extremely hot that by the end of the show I was soaked and completely dehydrated. I was hoping the show would end earlier just because of that.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank samcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercer Island, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fabulous acoustics, very hepful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

great music in a beautiful hall. wonderul experience. Metro stop Ternes. People dressed from the occassional evening frock, down to jeans and sandals, all seeming enjoy themselves, so reason to stay away if you travel as casually as we do.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank laurelhurst56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best acoustics I have ever heard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Great venue in Paris! Huge entry, small bar (with free pop corn)
Concert hall is not too big including 2 balconies.
Acoustics are just perfect. Patrick Watson sang without microphone and everyone could hear it fine. Highly recommended

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TessaVeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, NJ
Level Contributor
558 reviews
183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 616 helpful votes
“Great concert venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Surely enough, Salle Pleyel built in the latter 1920's in the sort of Art Deco style, doesn't amaze its guests with the lavish Belle Epoque interior as Opera Garnier does. However, for the lovers of the classical music, the spacious Salle Pleyel offers numerous, carefully selected, concerts featuring world-class musicians. We reserved our advance tickets using Salle Pleyel's easy-to-navigate Web site. The affordability of the tickets is hardly believable; for the central seats in the third row of orchestra we had to pay only 60 euro each.
The concert of the amazing Russian pianist Denis Matsuev was unforgettable. We would highly recommend the nearby famous Brasserie La Lorraine (two minutes walk) as your after-the-show dining option. We were pleasantly surprised that Denis Matsuev too picked the same place for his and his companions' dinner.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RGSOUNDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salle Pleyel also viewed

 

Been to Salle Pleyel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing