We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Disabled Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ecole Militaire

Ecole Militaire
Book In Advance
More Info
US$36.22*
and up
Paris L'Open Tour Hop-On-Hop-Off
Ranked #190 of 1,088 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff UK
Level Contributor
635 reviews
410 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“Not Disabled Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is a lovely building and well worth a visit, but it is not disabled friendly. There are some lifts but these are not clearly marked or sign posted. There are toilets but you have to show your ticket to use them and the security officer is not very helpful. I used the lift to go down to the toilet but was not told that I would need a key get back up in the lift, so had to use the stairs with difficulty.

The ww1 and ww2 Museum is upstairs security was quick enough to check tickets and bags but not to point out where the disabled lift was. Found the lift upstairs and after our visit came back down in it only to be told off by the security, that we should not go out through the entrance we came in by.

Very interesting place but as I said not for the disabled, only with difficulty.

The adjacent hospital is still in use today for the Military

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    85
    16
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Needs help”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

The Ecole de Guerre is a massive building but if you don't self study prior or have a guide, it's just a building. If you're already visiting the Tour Eiffel or Champs de Mars, just turn around and take it in and/or take a picture.

Helpful?
2 Thank musket_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Texas
Level Contributor
1,358 reviews
494 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 485 helpful votes
“Wish We Had More Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Unfortunately we arrived late in the afternoon and only got to see a portion of the museum. We started with Napoleon's Tomb then to the history. We spent about two hours and only got up to WW I when it closed. All the displays were excellent and if we have time during our stay we will come back to see the rest.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CDM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredible amount of history in this museum. The building is a site in itself as we'll.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

The building is enormous and gorgeous. The museum is massive. If you wanted to look at and understand everything you would need a whole day. We took about a 2 hour stroll through the museum and napoleons tomb (same space) and loved it. They even still use a part of it as a vacation place for current vets.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nlbrunner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Nice stay in paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We mostly liked the ...atmosphere, but not so much the weather..
We are planning to go back there and also visit the South of France, which should be more sunny...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank daniadelita a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ecole Militaire also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Ecole Militaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing