We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Architecture Museum”
Review of Palais de Chaillot

Palais de Chaillot
Book In Advance
More Info
US$38.74*
and up
Paris 3-hour Sightseeing Bike Tour
Ranked #109 of 1,108 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Architecture Museum”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

In the east wing of the Palais, overlooking the Eiffel Tower. Exhibits are devoted to 12 centuries of French architecture with massive and amazing replica casts of church facades. Also has a modern exhibit of Le Cobusier and beyond.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    124
    22
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham England
Level Contributor
213 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Stand there to see the lights at night of the Eiffel Tower”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Wow what a view to see of the Eiffel Tower. We waited patiently for the night to draw in so that we could see the twinkle of the lights at 10.00pm switch on. This was July 15th 2012. It was worth it!!!!!!! They lasted it seemed 7-10mins and they come on every hour until it closes.
There are street musicians and loved the atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnnNottinghamEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
1,032 reviews
602 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“great view”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Great view of the eiffer tower from this location. I had great time...

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank lalocadr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best view of the Eiffel Tower”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

From here you have the best view of the Eiffel tower both day and night. A must see and beautiful. Easy to get there by metro. Get off at the Trocadero and you can walk around and cross over the garden "jardin" over to the Tower.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank deebutterflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disaster. Cheated. Great example of why many people hate the French.”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

My father and I were excited to visit an exhibition at the PdC on "hotels particuliers" (private mansions). This exhibition had been heavily promoted in print media, and with innumerable posters in the Metro. We went on Day 3.

PdC is at Trocadero, which from most points in Paris, takes at least one hour r-t door-to-door travel, not to mention at least 2+ euros pp on metro travel.

We arrived to find a cheaply printed sign on the door, "Exceptionally closed today for media event". No announcements in the media, on their website, and of course not on the Metro posters. The arrogant reception girls dismissed us with a gesture. Then they dismissed the other 20 people who had arrived at the same time. As we stood in the lobby to plan our next move, we saw at least another 50 visitors rudely turned away.

Over the course of that day, I'm sure they rejected at least 1000 people. That's at least $25,000 of wasted transport costs, not to mention the wasted time and energy. No apology, go screw yourselves.

I actually took the time that afternoon to write a complaint to PdC on their website. Of course, no response.

Whoever is in charge should be fired, and replaced with someone who actually cares about the paying visitors. I'm sure that will happen just after the banning of dog poop on doorsteps, the training of waiters to be polite, and the introduction of cold drinks on hot days. :)

I am part French. I love France forever, and spend a lot of time there.

But I will not be wasting my time on Palais de Chaillot ever again - there are so many other wonderful things to do in Paris.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Monsieur_Henri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palais de Chaillot also viewed

 

Been to Palais de Chaillot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing