We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Royal Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal Opera
Ranked #1,374 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Within a stone's throw of all the touristic places of Paris. Great location. Warm and friendly staff. Very clean room. Tiny bathroom. Breakfast is improvable. Wi-fi is ok. Excelent rate price/quality.

Room Tip: If you like continental breakfast, you'd better go to any closer Café
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

Great Location and friendly staff! Stay on the 5th floor to avoid the street noise, and enjoy the balcony. The staff was very helpful, and you're within walking distance of just about everything. Would stay there again no problem!

Room Tip: Rooms are typical for Europe.. small but nice. Stay on the Street side so you can have a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed for a business trip at Hotel Royal Opera and it was amazing! Great team, warm welcoming and so perfect-really enjoyed my stay and all service.The location is excellent and by walk even at night safe for a female guest.Service so friendly and polite and breakfast superb!
Last but not least everybody has a good sense of humour and a nice honest smile.
Coming back asap and recommending to all my friends&business partners!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Great location 5 min walk from Roissy Airport bus stop, 15 min to Louvre, close Maddelaine metro statio. Direct line to Montmartre.
Room is very small. I was ready for it, but it is really small. Bathroom is ok. Hair dryer is avaliable. A bit noisy- if your neighbors talk in a hall you can understand everything :). During my stay people were quiet, but anyway, soundproofing could be better.
Breakfast- tea or cofee,yogurt, jam, croissant, toast, butter, juice- everything was ok.
Internet ok.
Bad thing- they blocked deposit on my card and did not unbloked after payment. So. it hang out for a while.
in general- good quality for reasonable money

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andriana2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed at the Royal Opera for 5 nights in September 2013 in a double room. I learned my lesson with a single room 2 years ago, and for the extra few Euros, a double is the way to go for a single person.
This was my second stay in this Hotel. The fact that I went back says it all. The Royal Opera is NOT a 4 or 5 star Paris super Hotel!!!!.
But, it IS a very good basic, clean Hotel with friendly and helpful English speaking staff (and I really do mean helpful, they were wonderful to me). But, above all it is its location that makes it so wonderful for the tourist.
It is in a small side street off the Rue Tronchet one block back from the Madeleine Church which in turn is just back from Rue Royale which empties into the huge Place de la Concorde.....6 minutes walk from the fountain in Place de la Concorde to the Hotel. When you are in Place de la Concorde it is a travellers dream. The Champs Elysee runs off the Place and you can wander down to the Arc de Triomphe or in the other direction you can wander through the Trileries Gardens down to the Louvre. The very busy Rue de Rivoli is nearby and you can walk through the Place de la Concorde to the French National Assembly and over the Seine and to the Musee d'Orsay. All of this plus heaps more is very easily walkable from the Hotel. The magnificent Opera Garnier is another 5 or 6 minute walk away.
The Hotel is at 5 Rue de Castellane, off Rue Tronchet and just 2 doors from the Hotel is a Subway Sandwich Shop, over the road is a Pastisserie, a few doors in the other direction are 2 convenience stores that sell fruit and drinks etc and are open until late at night. There are numerous restaurants including Pompei Italian restaurant at the bottom of the street. Many other restaurants are to be found in Rue Tronchet.
I could go on and on, but if you want Location, Location, Location and a good, honest, clean and reasonably priced Hotel (for Paris) then you will find it very hard to better the Royal Opera.
I certainly hope to return for a 3rd stay.
The Hotel does provide breakfast, but I did not partake, therefore I cannot comment.
Overall rating for the Hotel 8 out of 10.

Room Tip: As with all the smaller Paris Hotels, if you are a single traveller, do not take a single room. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kersan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

For the top location, this is a good value deal. We paid € 65 per night (end of summer) after booking directly on the hotel website. Royal Opera is located in a good neighbourhood directly at the Place de Madeleine and 200m from the metro station. Women can cross the street after dark, no problem.

The rooms are indeed pretty small, but clean and with a good bed. Bathroom is also small, yet was clean and have everything one needs. True, it's no 5 star resort, but one shouldn't expect that for the money/location combo. Front desk staff was polite and in for a joke.

Breakfast is good, fresh bread, fresh juice, fresh coffee and enough of it all. Only sweets though, I recommended adding some cheese and savory things to spice it up. Other than that, good food and although € 9 might sound a bit expensive to some people, it's cheap for Paris' standards and also a good value for money deal.

All in all, if you can deal with a smaller room, this is a good place to stay! We'll stay here again on our next trip to Paris.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Whatever you do - Don't forget to hand the hotel keys in! The receptionists will harass you as soon as you are on the bottom floor.
We were accused of having a third person in a double room with two single beds - go figure!
Rooms were quite small, the bathroom had yellow liquid dripping from the roof which was concerning.
Location was good, a short walk to everything.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Massena
#1,010 of 1,804 in Paris
222 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Residence Orion Paris Haussmann
Residence Orion Paris Haussmann
#1,525 of 1,804 in Paris
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Queen Mary
#719 of 1,804 in Paris
253 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Antin Trinite
Hotel Antin Trinite
#978 of 1,804 in Paris
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Opera

Address: 5 rue de Castellane, 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,374 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £78 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Opera Hotel
Royal Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing