We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de la Place du Louvre - Esprit de France
Ranked #296 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Small but cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

My partner and I were only in Paris for 2 days and we mainly wanted to stay near the Louvre and enjoy a few great meals. The hotel is small and quiet, with narrow corridors and lifts. However the service was friendly and the room was quite well lit and very clean. The concierge was helpful in organising our airport shuttle and overall there was nothing negative about our experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivianhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    202
    37
    7
    3
See reviews for
68
206
35
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Hidden in a small side street but with a full open view onto the large west entrance to the Louvre and the Church of Saint-Germain-l'Auxerrois, the Hotel de la Place du Louvre is our favourite retreat in Paris. If you can afford it, try to book the Picasso or Jackson Pollack mezzanine rooms on the 5th floor as they have the two roof-top balconies facing onto the church and the Louvre. The hotel is well known amongst independent travellers. While somewhere close to 3 stars, it does not have the reception, elevators and wide corridors of a modern hotel, but this is Paris and small is beautiful. The rooms that I mentioned are compact but not small with ample storage, a work table and big comfortable beds. The upper level bathroom requires the climbing skills of a goat to get up the stairs but the bathroom is clean - yes no shower curtain but then this is Europe and most people use hand held showers. Staff are fabulous and always willing to help. The free WiFi is also very good especially when larger hotels still think they can charge you. Within easy walking distance of the Seine and all shops etc. this is a very good base for walking and/or bus connections. Arrive by Charles de Gaulle airport on the RER to Les Halles and its a 10 min walk to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fliegenkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is a small boutique hotel (25 rooms), but it is a great location next to The Louvre. Rooms are small, but very clean and comfortable. What sets them apart is Ritz Carlton like service. They all speak English, are incredibly nice and friendly and will go out of their way to help out with anything you need.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

so glad we found this hotel,situated perfectly for the louvre,notre dame and the latin quarter, all within ten minutes walk. Rooms were a good size with enough room for an extra bed for an adult. Bathroom could do with some modernisation as we only had a hand held shower over a bath and no shower curtain in our room. One of our other rooms however had a walk in shower which was much better. Air con in room was great and not too noisy ensuring a good nights sleep was had in the most comfortable beds. All three rooms looked out over a small courtyard but this was not a problem as we were only in the room to sleep. Breakfast was ok for the 7 euro cost but would have been expensive at 15 euro which was the full price.
Stayed for three nights with family and was impressed with the help given by the staff, Sophie in particular who arranged tickets for a boat trip and open top tours at a discount.
To sum up a great location, great staff(especially Sophie), adequate facilities for a short break and good value for money. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: try to get a room overlooking the quiet road and church and also one with a walk in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leonard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Picasso room which has a great view of architectural details of the church right across the street. We enjoyed the breakfast there and found the location convenient for most places we wanted to go. The hotel is clean and modern . Don't stay in the Picasso if you are put off by climbing steep steps up to the bath but we loved the quirkiness of of it and the skylight above the deep soaking tub.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tfb520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We booked this on LateRooms.com on a recommendation. We had a lovely email from them a fortnight beforehand welcoming us and to ask if we needed anything.
We arrived in Paris and went straight to the hotel. Our room was ready for us by 10am.
The room was a good size clean with an excellent view over the Louvre Palace very central and walking distance to the Arc de Triumphe Eiffel tower Notre Dame and a lot else.
The staff were absolutely brilliant both in reception and the little restaurant, thank you so much.
Breakfast was on top but excellent continental selection fruit breads yogurts cheeses eggs ham etc.
I would definitely recommend this to anyone and we will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDSB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sykkylven
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Pros: good service, quiet rooms, good air condition, great location.

Cons: smaller than usual for european hotel rooms, rooms didn't look clean, terrible shower, incredible small elevator. It only fitted me and barely my suitcase. The halls, rooms, elevator, reception, entrance and stairs looked rather old, dirty and shabby. And not in a good way!!! Not to recomend at the price we paid. Overpriced!!! We didn't even get breakfast included.

Wouldn't want to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#75 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#311 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Britannique
Hotel Britannique
#167 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
L'Empire Paris
L'Empire Paris
#439 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#649 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
#832 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Place du Louvre - Esprit de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Place du Louvre - Esprit de France

Property: Hotel de la Place du Louvre - Esprit de France
Address: 21 rue des Pretres St Germain l'Auxerrois | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#298 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#486 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Place du Louvre - Esprit de France 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de la Place du Louvre - Esprit de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Place Du Louvre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing