We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not Great”
Review of Hotel le Senat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel le Senat
Ranked #497 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

I had high expectations of Hotel le Senat based on the praise given by other reviewers. But unfortunately there was a "je ne sais quio" missing in my opinion.

A lot of good points including its location and friendly staff. The rooms were a touch small even for Parisian standards but forgivable given most visitors would not be spending much time in the room other than to sleep. Thoroughly cleaned everyday with a turn down service. Nice L'Occtiane toiletries. Free wifi which a lot of hotels still do not provide.

However, it was the finer details that you would expect from a boutique hotel that was lacking. The shower for instance flooded. We had used all our towels to soak up the water and was not able to get in touch with staff to get more towels (albeit 3 in the morning... but still)! The rooms did smell stale as reported by others. There were strange loud noises coming from either the plumbing and/or heating duct which woke me up during the night.

Having stayed in major hotel chains in Paris before and at a cheaper rate on average by €30 per night, I would consider staying again however there's not much substance to Hotel Le Senat that would retain my guaranteed loyalty. By not means was it bad. It was simply good but not great.

I would definitely recommend catching the RER B train from either airports to Luxembourg station. They come every 10 minutes and only costs €9 each. Some great restaurants and cafes nearby including:



Les Chardenoux Des Pres in St Germain that is owned by a celebrity TV chef but the food is fantastic. Must book.

Hotel Relais St Germain which has a small bistro which we didn't dine in. It also has a tapas wine bar which compelled us to spend all night eating and drinking! No bookings so be prepared to get there early and mark your territory.

Art Macaron in Monparnasse. Seriously, forget Pierre Herme or Laudree. This place is truly magnificent with flavours such as Nutella and Passionfruit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank strawberry_501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We do regret that your stay is only good and not great.

We try everyday to give satisfaction to all our guests, and even if you are not so sure to come back, we will be proud to accommodate you for a next stay in Paris.

From CDG airport, you have well noticed that we have direct access with RER B and Luxembourg 's station.

We all look forward to welcome you back in the future.

S.Peccatte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    255
    60
    10
    5
See reviews for
100
332
34
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed two nights in Hotel le Senat and I enjoyed it very much. The room was clean and cleaned well and I slept well as it was quite. As the hotel is in the centre of Paris and from my window I could see teh Senat building just some hundred meters away, it is a perfect location. I was on a business trip, but found time to relax in the Jardin de Luxembourg. I can recommend this hotel and will becoming back myself.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

Truly, hotel Le Senat is perfectly located in a quiet and safe area of Paris and close to many monuments, museums or fashion stores.

We hope to welcome you for your next stay in Paris.


Best regards

S.Peccatte
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I just returned from a four night stay at Hotel le Senat with my daughter. We loved the hotel: great location in very "French", not touristy neighborhood, close to metro and many sights, extremely warm and helpful front desk staff, beautifully designed hotel, most comfortable bed/linens that I've ever slept in, and plush towels in the bathroom on a towel warmer. A wonderful experience all around. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask about room options. We got a free upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kideye808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you so much for your so nice review.

It is always a great pleasure for all the staff to know that our guests are happy with their stay in Hotel Le Senat.

Your feedback is very much appreciated.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back very soon

Best regards

S.Peccatte
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I loved the hotel because of its great location. In Saint Germaine, close to everything that Paris has to offer. Walking distance to the train station that would take you directly to the airport in 45 minutes for 9 euro. Lots of shops and cafes around.The hotel is clean and offers the basic amenities. The rooms are pretty decent in size for Paris. I would definitely stay here if I am in Paris again.

Room Tip: Stayed in a superior room on the 6th floor. It was excellent with a window that opens up with a part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PersianG48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
Be assured that we feel very proud to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have appreciated our welcome and the friendly service provided by our entire staff

We all look forward to welcome you back in the future.

S.Peccatte
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

great location. one block to the Luxembourg gardens. close to the RER B train station which will take you to the airport. close to metro Odeon and close to the amazing shops/cafes on Blvd. St. Michel and St. Germain. I highly recommend the Patrick Roger chocolate shop and the Laurent Dubois cheese shop just a short walk away.Walking distance to Notre Dame cathedral, the pantheon and many other places of interest. As a major tourist zone i did find the cafes and restaurants to be more expensive than other parts of the city but the small markets have good cheap snacks and the bakery Eric Kayser sells excellent baguettes for 1.50 euro.

The rooms are definitely small but this seems to be par for Paris. Wifi is free but you have to request a code from the front desk for each device. it was a small inconvenience as you have to punch the code in each time you want to go on the web. The staff is very friendly and all speak English at the front desk. breakfast is served in the basement level each morning from 7-10:30am and is quite good even if its the same thing each morning. The walls are a little thin as we could hear the couple next door to us get "frisky" but c'est la vie Francais.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the street are nice but noisy if you like to have your windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UC_Caifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad to read that you enjoy our location and the service provided by the staff.

Your feedback is very important for all the staff.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back very soon

Best regards

S.Peccatte
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenpasadena
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Three factors in Hotel le Senat's favor: Close to RER stop, quiet area, close to heart of Paris. The hotel itself is very nice, comfortable and large rooms (for Paris). I enjoyed running in Luxembourg gardens - which even in November was crowded with other runners. Walked to all the major sites - Louvre, St. Germaine and D'orsay, very close to Ille St. Louis and Marais. Staff was very acoomodating and friendly. I will put it high on my list for a return visit to Paris.

Room Tip: Good choice for runners and joggers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenpasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment posted on Tripadvisor.
Please be sure that we will be sure to share your positive feedback with all of the team.
Your comment is very appreciated.
Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again

S.Peccatte
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novo Sancti Petri, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My family loved this hotel is quiet, comfortable, away from the noise. Very beautiful setting, greens, a very positive atmosphere and beautiful interior. In walking distance of the park Luxembourg. We have a very friendly and warmly welcomed, wonderful staff polite.

Room Tip: If you are tired of the hustle and bustle, I recommend staying at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tatiana904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guets,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to read that you like the location of our hotel, and also the staff and our atmosphere.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in a near future.
Best regards

S.Peccatte
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#385 of 1,801 in Paris
568 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#101 of 1,801 in Paris
368 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#105 of 1,801 in Paris
1,075 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Recamier
Hotel Recamier
#292 of 1,801 in Paris
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Senat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Senat

Property: Hotel le Senat
Address: 10 rue de Vaugirard, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#257 Business Hotel in Paris
#263 Family Hotel in Paris
#297 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#327 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Senat 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Le Senat in hotel Paris is an elegant hotel for those with exquisite taste. Our hotel is located in central Saint Germain, on the leftbank ( rive gauche) close to the Seine river, a hotel in the Latin Quarter, close to the breathtaking jardin du Luxembourg. A central paris hotel, in the most romantic region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel le Senat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Senat Hotel
Le Senat Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing