We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paris in the Springtime !”
Review of Hotel le Senat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel le Senat
Ranked #672 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Le Senat is superbly located in a quiet street off Jardin du Luxembourg. Staff are very friendly and more that willing to take time out to help us in our enjoyment of this wonderful city. Would recommend to friends. We will stay there again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ronan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Valued Client,

Thank you very much for your nice feed back.

We are happy that you have enjoyed our location and our staff .


We are all looking forward to welcoming for your next stay in Paris.

Best regards

S.Peccatte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

Great Staff, Great Service superb rooms, fantastic balcony view of Paris Eiffel tower, Sacre Cur and Notre Dam. Great location and not too expensive.. would highly recommend ......great local Bistro right on the corner....Petite Suisse.....

Room Tip: choose a suite...... great views from the 6th floor.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malcolmDeghamsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Valued Client,

Thank you very much for your nice review.

We are all looking forward to welcome you for you next stay in Paris.

With my best regards

S.Peccatte
Directeur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Love everything about this hotel: the convenient location, the delicious breakfast, the helpfulness of staff, and even the L'Occitaine toiletries. The rooms are very small (it is a boutique hotel), but who stays in the room when in Paris anyways? Walking distance to several metro and RER stations. Make sure to check out the small antique shops next to the hotel; they have amazing items.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariya1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Valued Client,

Thank you very much for your nice feed back.

We are happy to know that you are a repeat guest, and that you are still satisfyed with our hotel.

Rooms are not so large like usually in Paris, but it is possible to reserve Deluxe room and Suite room, they are largers than our first category ( Superior room ).

We are all looking to welcome you very soon in Paris.

Best regards

S.Peccatte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Staff friendly and accomodating and dealt generously and efficiently with problems. Beds very comfortable and our room was quiet with a glimpse of the Eiffel Tower. Room (601) layout was strange and not ideal - bath and wash basin were in a separate room from miniscule toilet.

Narrowness of one way street at Hotel entrance posed a bit of a problem for taxis which could only load/unload by holding up other traffic.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omnivore_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Valued Client,

Thank you very much for your nice feed back.

We are happy that you have enjoyed our location and our staff 's service provided .

It is true, we are located in a small street in the hearth of Paris, in a very old and also historical's area.

We are all looking forward to welcoming for your next stay in Paris.

Best regards

S.Peccatte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Current squeeze and I stayed for three nights in December 2013, the room was typically small which is usual for Paris hotels, but clean and well appointed.
Breakfast can be tricky if lots of folks arrive at the same time, but you get to enjoy the chaos somehow.
No restaurant in the hotel, but lots of good places in the area.
I liked the "honesty bar" in reception, good selection of wines, very civilised.
Give it a try!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Valued Client,

Thank you very much for your nice feed back.

Our breakfast is not so large,and 40 % of our guests can be sit down when hotel is fully booked.

This percentage is not so bad but of course is not enough if all of our guests are comings in the same time. By the way, most of hotels canno't have all theirs guests in the breakfast rooms when hotel is fully booked.
In case of large affluence, it is always possible to have a continental breakfast in the lobby for 7 euros.

We look forward to welcome you back in Hotel Le Senat.


S.Peccatte
Directeur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I had high expectations of Hotel le Senat based on the praise given by other reviewers. But unfortunately there was a "je ne sais quio" missing in my opinion.

A lot of good points including its location and friendly staff. The rooms were a touch small even for Parisian standards but forgivable given most visitors would not be spending much time in the room other than to sleep. Thoroughly cleaned everyday with a turn down service. Nice L'Occtiane toiletries. Free wifi which a lot of hotels still do not provide.

However, it was the finer details that you would expect from a boutique hotel that was lacking. The shower for instance flooded. We had used all our towels to soak up the water and was not able to get in touch with staff to get more towels (albeit 3 in the morning... but still)! The rooms did smell stale as reported by others. There were strange loud noises coming from either the plumbing and/or heating duct which woke me up during the night.

Having stayed in major hotel chains in Paris before and at a cheaper rate on average by €30 per night, I would consider staying again however there's not much substance to Hotel Le Senat that would retain my guaranteed loyalty. By not means was it bad. It was simply good but not great.

I would definitely recommend catching the RER B train from either airports to Luxembourg station. They come every 10 minutes and only costs €9 each. Some great restaurants and cafes nearby including:



Les Chardenoux Des Pres in St Germain that is owned by a celebrity TV chef but the food is fantastic. Must book.

Hotel Relais St Germain which has a small bistro which we didn't dine in. It also has a tapas wine bar which compelled us to spend all night eating and drinking! No bookings so be prepared to get there early and mark your territory.

Art Macaron in Monparnasse. Seriously, forget Pierre Herme or Laudree. This place is truly magnificent with flavours such as Nutella and Passionfruit.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank strawberry_501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We do regret that your stay is only good and not great.

We try everyday to give satisfaction to all our guests, and even if you are not so sure to come back, we will be proud to accommodate you for a next stay in Paris.

From CDG airport, you have well noticed that we have direct access with RER B and Luxembourg 's station.

We all look forward to welcome you back in the future.

S.Peccatte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed two nights in Hotel le Senat and I enjoyed it very much. The room was clean and cleaned well and I slept well as it was quite. As the hotel is in the centre of Paris and from my window I could see teh Senat building just some hundred meters away, it is a perfect location. I was on a business trip, but found time to relax in the Jardin de Luxembourg. I can recommend this hotel and will becoming back myself.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Valued Client,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

Truly, hotel Le Senat is perfectly located in a quiet and safe area of Paris and close to many monuments, museums or fashion stores.

We hope to welcome you for your next stay in Paris.


Best regards

S.Peccatte
Directeur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
#1,006 of 1,809 in Paris
370 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#98 of 1,809 in Paris
428 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Villa Madame
Villa Madame
#101 of 1,809 in Paris
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Hotel Chaplain
Hotel Chaplain
#279 of 1,809 in Paris
816 reviews
Odéon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#480 of 1,809 in Paris
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Senat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Senat

Address: 10 rue de Vaugirard, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#256 Business Hotel in Paris
#326 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#368 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £112 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Senat 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Le Senat in hotel Paris is an elegant hotel for those with exquisite taste. Our hotel is located in central Saint Germain, on the leftbank ( rive gauche) close to the Seine river, a hotel in the Latin Quarter, close to the breathtaking jardin du Luxembourg. A central paris hotel, in the most romantic region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel le Senat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Senat Hotel
Le Senat Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing