We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and that's about it.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St. Georges Lafayette

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
Ranked #912 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location and that's about it.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Wish I hadn't looked that the rose tinted reviews on here before agreeing with the travel agent to stay here. My husband and I honeymooned across europe and mainly stayed in Accor branded hotels. This hotel left us wishing we'd just gone for an ibis.
Yes it's dated, but it's not exactly clean. The bed cover was covered in 'stains'. The shower is unmovable and basically sprays horizontally at the shower curtain or your face, the curtains were coming off the railing and made them difficult to close. Warning that walls are paper thin.
I wasnt expecting it to be perfect going on previous people's reviews, but I was expecting it to be better than what it was.
One of the staff members at the desk was super friendly and very helpful. This was overshadowed by the other, incredibly rude desk person.
Be aware that you need to leave the room key at the front desk and if you ask why, expect a very insolent "because I said so" type of reply instead of a reasonable explanation.
I wouldn't ever stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kylie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    140
    129
    31
    23
See reviews for
46
204
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

To be honest I was a little unsure about this hotel when I read the earlier reviews but the Hotel was close to Gare du Nord and close to a metro to the airport. I was pleasantly surprised by how sweet this hotel was. Yes it is technically in the "red light" district but I did not have any problems walking around at night (about 10pm- I do not recommend any young ladies being out later than that). I bought 2 door alarms just to be safe and didn't have any problems. A little noise from people walking down the street but not enough to disturb my sleep although I had bought ear plugs just in case.

The style of the hotel suited my tastes. It was not dirty or dingy but it was not sleak or modern either. I can only describe it as "old world" which as I said before, suited my tastes. The window view was lovely. I loved looking down the street. Breakfast was wonderful as well: Coffee (un cafe avec lait si'l vous plait) pastries, yogurt, cereal YUM!

The staff was amazingly friendly and lovely to talk to. Annis is one of the most interesting people I met and Filipe is multi-lingual and knowledgeable. They all spoke English very well. I felt like a Parisian and I loved every second there. Be sure to practice your French. Everyone appreciated it.

Room Tip: I was on the first floor and loved it. Perhaps rooms on the higher floors do not get much noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ViatrixJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

The hotel is an easy walk from Gare Du Norde in the Pigalle district. Room was small, but clean. Bed was ok, but not exactly comfortable + the room was very hot (a fan was supplied but not effective) The shower was impractical as you couldn't stand underneath it (it was set horizontally) + the shower head was cracked, meaning a flood every time the shower was used. We were scolded by the receptionist for not greeting him correctly in French + then instructed that we must learn the correct greetings if we wanted to visit France! After a poor nights sleep it was the last thing we needed. The local area seemed perfectly safe, despite being full of sex shops + strip bars. Pigalle Metro station is a very short walk away, giving easy access to the rest of Paris + the Sacre Cour + Montmarte are also within easy walking distance. There are lots of lively bars in the area which are great for evening visits, but not so great when the one opposite the hotel still has a singer/guitarist outside after midnight when you're trying to sleep!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astramax151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

For a two star hotel it is fairly resonable, it is small, but we have staying in small in our travels around France. There is no air conditioning and the room can be a bit stuffy. Set in the 17th preceinct, it is not too far from the Moule Rouge, and is located near train stations and has a few quaint little shops around. My partner had breakfast there, and it is a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Handanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
172 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Good location, close to the metro station. We thought it was good value for the price, but still our most expensive accommodation in Europe (worked out around €100 a night without breakfast). The shower should be replaced as the shower head isn't very good at all. The room was small and tired, but overall we thought it was adequate and enjoyed our stay.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kylie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

This hotel was decent for a 2 star hotel. The staff were lovely, the rooms were okay...a bit small but we've had smaller elsewhere in Europe. On a couple of occasions the toilet paper and hand soap wasn't restocked so we had to follow that up. Also the shower didn't drain fast enough so you had to be quick! The room was pretty warm at night but the noise from the street (mainly scooters) prevented us from keeping the window open. It was a great location though in Montmartre...the Moulin Rouge is walking distance, and the Pigalle metro station just a few minutes walk away. Lots of cafes and places to eat. It is sort of known as the 'adult' district, lots of those kind of shops and strip clubs, so maybe not suitable if you have kids! Although you can't tell as much during the day. The one major problem for us with the hotel, as we stayed for 5 nights, was no internet; their WiFi didn't work for us, and then their computer in the lobby was also down for the whole of our stay. But if you're on a budget, I would still recommend, Paris is very expensive!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelsterSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

the rooms were smallish but had everything needed and were clean, the staff were really nice and helpful,didnt have breakfast so cant comment but others seemed to enjoy it! safety deposit boxes are available so you dont need to carry kindles,all your cash etc around with you which is great.the location was excellent!!!!I couldnt recommend it enough, it was a 3-4 minute walk to pigalle station and from there you could go anywhere and everywhere!!for those on a budget theres plenty of cheap eats around on the main road including mcdonalds, subway etc and some of the nicest bakeries ive ever visited, I would definetly stay at this hotel again xx

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riggers4597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Grand Hotel de Turin
Grand Hotel de Turin
#1,106 of 1,794 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Prince Albert Opera
Prince Albert Opera
#1,381 of 1,794 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Antin Saint Georges
Hotel Antin Saint Georges
#1,383 of 1,794 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#929 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Audran
Hotel Audran
#630 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel De Paris Saint Georges
Hotel De Paris Saint Georges
#1,571 of 1,794 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Georges Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Georges Lafayette

Property: Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
Address: 11 rue Victor Masse, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#128 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel St. Georges Lafayette 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel St. Georges Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Lafayette Paris
Hotel St Georges Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing