We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect trip to Paris!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le85 Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le85 Paris
Ranked #21 of 128 Paris B&B and Inns
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect trip to Paris!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed in the smaller of the two rooms at Le 85 for two nights last week, and absolutely loved it! The room was immaculately clean with a huge comfy bed and plenty of clean towels and Didier, the owner, made us feel completely at home. The breakfast was beautiful, plenty of croissants, tea, fruit and yoghurt as well as a lovely chat with Didier about Paris - he certainly had plenty of recommendations of how to spend our short stay.

Le 85 is in an excellent location if you are arriving at Gare du Nord - just a five minute walk away. Although not in the centre of Paris or close to the main attractions, the location was perfect for us as we enjoyed walking around (although there is a Metro station just around the corner which was also very convenient)

As some other reviews have mentioned, there is a shower and sink in the room, but only very slight downside was the shared toilet which is just outside the room - although we never had to wait and it was always very clean so it wasn't really an issue for us.

We looked at so many hotels before booking, and really cannot imagine that there is anywhere in Paris that is better value for money. We will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louise_tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
44
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

I am so happy that I did find this place for my daughters first stay in Paris. We were at Didier and Valeries B&B for 4 nights in februari 2013. And you cant find more loving and caring hosts. I have been in Paris quite a few times during 34 years and this stay was really special. We really felt like we were taken care of. The breakfast is excellent. We stayed in the Baudelaire room and it was perfect for us. The bed was very nice, and at the weekend it was totally silent. The original floors and the beautiful rooms with its original windows and decorated cealings is beatiful. Everything is very clean and tasteful. Didier and Valerie is really doing everything to make you feel welcome !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

Once we stepped inside Didier's wonderful B&B, we knew we had chosen the perfect place to stay. As a family of 2 adults and a 12 year old, it was ideal to have 2 very spacious bedrooms, each with own shower and lovely balcony. Didier opened up the connecting door so our daughter had direct access to our room if needed. He also made her specially welcome with sweets and English comic books placed in her room. When I needed a quick medical appointment, Didier didn't just book this for me but he also accommpanied me and was prepared to act as traslator if required. The location was very convenient and we felt safe wandering around at night. We particularly enjoyed being able to experience a genuine taste of life in a tasteful Parisian apartment. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fatima12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

Preferring to stay in small characterful accommodation wherever we travel. This is the perfect spot in Paris...5 mins walk from Gare Du Nord...especially if arriving on Eurostar. Beautiful rooms in true French Décor. Didier and Valerie are the perfect hosts imparting much advice over a delightful breakfast. Printing maps of walks from the door... even recommended a short stroll to canal on the day of departure...so no waiting around in the station burdened with the luggage..Also recommended eateries full of locals covering all price ranges....Because of this perfect place to stay one cannot fail to fall in love with Paris! Will definitely return again and again and again...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger Poole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

We have stayed in hotels in Paris on many occasions in the past. None of the previous stays came close to matching our experience this time in le 85 Paris. Didier and Valerie more than lived up to our expectations which was quite somehting because we were expecting a lot based on the reviews we had read from other travellers on Trip Advisor. They gave us such a warm welcome that we immediately felt at home in their beautiful flat.
Didier's advice on where to go was invaluable and we saw places in Paris that were completely new to us. We wouldn't have found them without Didier's maps. He gave us a list of places to eat and we were pleasantly surprised, both by the high quality of the food and the reasonable prices. You can get a really good two course meal at lunchtime for 14 euros (try Hugo's or Jolis Momes, for example) In the evening prices were around 20 euros or 25 euros. All of the places Didier sent us to (near the flat) were full of French people, always a good sign. Le 85 is in a great area, well away from tourist rip off Paris.
The room was great, very clean and comfortable. We would love to go back with friends. The set up is ideal as the two rooms are next door to one another.
To be honest the only concern that we have now is that this B and B is so special and represents such great value for money that we think it likely that it will be booked up so far in advance that we won't have a look in. We will try to beat the crowds and get in early next time........

Room Tip: We stayed in the smaller of the two rooms and we were very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Didier and Valerie have modified their flat and added two spacious B&B rooms with private shower and sinks. We stayed in the smaller of the two rooms but the room was by no means small... especially for European standards. We had plenty of room and having the private shower was a huge plus.

The breakfast was great every day. Freshly baked croissants and freshly squeezed orange juice was part of the meal every day. Most days also had cheese, meat, fruit, yogurt... definitely more than enough food to tide us over to a late lunch.

DIdier was a tremendous host and assisted us with recommendations of places to visit and local restaurant tips, etc. His English is great but he was also willing to speak French with my husband who was practicing his second language. We very much appreciated that :)

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tdrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

What can I say? We loved it so much, we visited Paris twice in 2012 and one of the reasons was to come back and visit Didier and Valérie.

For both of our trips, we stayed in the larger Eugenie room. As you can see on their website (Google for "Le85 BB Paris" to find it), the room is painted red and absolutely gorgeous. The photos don't do it justice though. It has 3 metre ceilings, a huge king bed and plenty of floor space with 2 huge windows overlooking Rue Chabrol. Our second trip was with another couple and Didier removed the noise dampening divider between the rooms allowing the adjoining door to be opened. This was a fantastic set up and we took advantage by having a couple of "eat in" nights with fantastic cheese and wine which is hard to miss in France, regardless of where you shop.

In terms of amenities, Le85 has it all: Free WiFi, a Vélib station right on the corner, the Poissonniére metro station (line 7) is literally a 2 minute walk away, and Gare du Nord, Paris' major travel hub, is a 10 minute walk away. Gare du Nord is the terminus for the London to Paris Eurostar train as well as a stop on the RER B commuter line which originates from the Charles de Gaulle airport (all terminals). There is a square 1 minute up the road, Place Franz-Liszt that has a few nice restaurants and most importantly a Monoprix for all your supermarket needs. Of course, this being Paris there are literally 3 bakers within a 3 minute walk from Le85. Also, the new restaurant directly across the street, Les Animals, has good food, great beer and a good atmosphere and doesn't close until everyone leaves.

Of course, this being a B&B, and us being discerning B&B aficionados, the make or break feature as always is the breakfast. Fortunately, this isn't your typical European B&B with a self serve coffee machine, a couple of packaged cookies and the hosts nowhere in sight. Didier lovingly lays out a properly set table with plenty of croissant and pain au chocolat for everyone. Also he provides fresh squeezed orange juice for all to enjoy and endless amounts of espresso or loose leaf tea (from the awesome Palais de Thé in Paris). There is also fresh fruit at the ready and once in a while, a home-made pastry (if you're lucky). Didier being the friendly bon-vivant that he is, loves to chat and keep you company during breakfast and most mornings the same goes for his lovely wife Valérie.

Paris in May and October is absolutely gorgeous in two completely different ways and I'd highly suggest a trip during these months rather than in the summer when the heat can be stifling. As a home base, Le85 can't be beat. It is close to all the best modes of transport, Métro, Vélib and RER, is only a 25 minute walk to Ile de la Cité if you wanted to hoof it and most importantly is in a lively and decidedly NON tourist area, which was a key feature for us.

So as I said in my title... it's hard to let the secret out and risk not finding a vacancy when we need it, but it's hard to give anything but the most glowing review of this B&B. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Only two rooms here, Eugenie and Baudelaire both immaculately decorated with well appointed private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Filicenturian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#26 of 1,794 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Mademoiselle
Hotel Mademoiselle
#242 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Les3chambres
Les3chambres
#1 of 128 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Villa Paris
#3 of 128 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
A Room in Paris
A Room in Paris
#18 of 128 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Villa du Square
#9 of 128 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le85 Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le85 Paris

Property: Le85 Paris
Address: 85 rue d Hauteville, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover our two charming guest rooms, in the very heart of Paris. Built at the Haussmann period, second Empire, end of the 19th Century. Our house has that typically Parisian style and is in the 10th arrondissement near the Opera Garnier, making it ideal for guests visiting Paris. The apartment is located at 85, rue d'Hauteville, Paris 10th arrondissement. The rooms are on the second floor, comprising the house's original reception rooms with their elegant balconies, access from ground floor by elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le85 Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing