We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Montpensier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montpensier
Ranked #872 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My family of 4 stayed there for three nights in the beginning of August. The room for the 4 of us was clean and spacious. The location could not be beat!!!

The staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roepollack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    397
    178
    30
    21
See reviews for
217
260
51
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Nice, clean hotel- very close to the Louvre. Our room was spacious and the wifi worked great. The breakfast was 10 euro for a small buffet. The staff was helpful- there was a metro strike on our last day and the woman at the desk provided us with an alternative method of traveling to the airport. Overall, this hotel is in a prime location of Paris and I would recommend it as an affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurai313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Room was large, breakfast, which was supposed to be included and wasn't, was very basic. Staff not very helpful or friendly. Easy walking to main sightseeing though. Lift is for one small person and a suitcase so may cause some problems.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosalind2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

When traveling in Europe for three weeks we needed to watch our penny's, so I looked for rooms that were, cost effective, close to things, and clean. This hotel fit this. I must say for an older hotel it was charming.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kandi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel for the location and it was prefect for our 2 day stay.

The service was average - people at the desk not helpful or friendly. we had on our booking that breakfast was included but when we checked in they said we had to pay 10euro each - that was the first bad thing.

Then when we got up to the room we saw that the toilet (which was old and maybe original) was in a totally different part of the room than the rest of the bathroom...and it had a door but it was impossible to close as the space was too small... Very strange! The upside is that the other part of the bathroom was remodeled and the room itself was big.

No a/c - only a fan...

Was fine for a short time stay but I'm not sure we'd go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ars629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is the second time I've stayed in this hotel. This hotel is excellent value for the price and you couldn't be more centrally located. Walking distance to the Louvre, Tuileries and Palais Royal,the metro and many restaurants nearby. This is a small hotel with friendly, helpful staff, great service and a good value breakfast for a reasonable additional cost. My room was excellent, with comfortable bed and a fantastic very spacious bathroom. Wi-Fi is provided free of charge and having an English TV channel was good. I would definitely stay again next time I go to Paris.

Room Tip: The room sizes do vary. Rooms on the 5th floor are smaller but still comfortable with a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Prince Albert Louvre
Hotel Prince Albert Louvre
#790 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
#854 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Timhotel Le Louvre
Timhotel Le Louvre
#1,101 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Sainte Anne
Hotel Louvre Sainte Anne
#561 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Saint-Roch
Hotel Saint-Roch
#1,238 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Crayon by Elegancia
Hotel Crayon by Elegancia
#251 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montpensier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montpensier

Property: Montpensier
Address: 12 rue de Richelieu, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#482 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Montpensier 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Montpensier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montpensier Hotel Paris
Montpensier Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing