We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience at Residence Nell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nell Hotel & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #197 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience at Residence Nell”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed here on the 6th floor, in the studio apartment for three nights at the beginning of June. It was perfect. The whole building is beautiful with the feeling of a true Parisian home with all the modern accommodations you could want. The "studio" was exceptionally spacious and comfortable. The kitchen was well-equipped and the whole experience felt like having an apartment within a hotel, as the staff was very responsive, friendly, and welcoming, and the room had everything a hotel room would normally have. It was a great location as well. The Residence Nell would be my first choice on a return trip to Paris. My only wish was that there was some access to a fitness facility, but this is hardly a reason that I would not return. There are plenty of places nearby to walk and run. In fact, I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aviva0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NELL09, Responsable réception at Nell Hotel & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
We thank you for this nice review and to support us.

Indeed, we don't have fitness room but we are preparing a running along the Seine

We do hope everything is ok in New York!

Do not hesitate to send us a mail to book in the future.

Awaiting the pleasure to see you back in Paris!

Warm regards,
Josselin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    82
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
175
63
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

There were 10 family members in total in three rooms at Residence Nell. We stayed during the week of July 4, 2013 (which also happened to be couture fashion week, which might be why the prices seemed so darn high). it is a bare-bones hotel that used to be an old mansion. There's no fitness center, business center, pool, etc. But, the rooms all have free wi-fi.

First the good. Residence Nell is wonderfully located in the 9th a. near several metro stops, so it's very easy to get around Paris. It is also a very lively neighborhood near Opera Garnier and across the street from the best candy store on earth. The beds are very comfortable, even the sofabed. Our room was on the stop foor -- Room 601 (which also happens to be the smallest in the hotel -- more on that later) -- and was nice and quiet at night. Please note that there is a skylight in the living room portion, so if you've got someone sleeping on the sofabed, they will, in all likelihood, wake up with the sun. Also, the front desk staff was very nice, very helpful, very professional.

Now the not-go-good. There were several little annoyances that, individually, I would have overlooked. First, our room seemed much smaller than advertised. My husband, stepson, and I were practically on top of each other, and there was hardly any room to maneuver in the bedroom. If you are put in Room 601, ask for another. Second, housekeeping was indifferent at best. We often received too few towels for the three of us (and, on occasion, the towels we did receive were not quite clean). Dishes were ostensibly "cleaned" by staff but were, in fact, stlil dirty. The Nespresso coffee service was often not replenished. Finally, the bathroom, while stylishly decorated, was extremely cramped, the water pressure in the shower was virtually nonexistent, and the shower tiles kept coming loose.

But, like I said, the above are relatively minor annoyances that I would have been willing to ignore until the hotel elevator broke three times in as many days -- twice with members of my family in it. The first day, family members were stuck in the elevator for approximately 20 minutes. When we came back to the hotel later than evening, we were told that, while the elevator was thought to be repaired, it broke down again just 10 minutes later and was still not functional many hours later. Accordingly, we were forced to climb the stairs to our rooms. Please note that my mother-in-law and father-in-law are both in their 70s and would not have voluntarily stayed in a hotel room on the 5th floor without a working elevator.

Two days later, we took the elevator from our rooms to the leave for an outing. The elevator broke AGAIN -- the third time in as many days. Again, we were stuck, again we had to wait in a hot, cramped compartment to be released. While the hotel staff was very apologetic, helped us out of the elevator, etc., but they were understandably limited in their options of giving us recompense. My in-laws asked to move to another room on a lower floor but were told that the hotel was fully booked (again, fashion week). We spent the rest of our vacation taking the stairs and avoiding the elevator to avoid a potential fourth adventure in your hotel's elevator. We also asked to speak with the owner or hotel management and was told that no one was on site.

To be fair, I emailed the hotel management after I left about my disappointment. Within just a couple of hours, I received a reply. Management was aware of the situation, extremely apologetic, and decided to refund us for two nights of our stay (we stayed a total of 8 nights). This was a lovely gesture on their part and sincerely appreciated.

Management's quick and substantive response definitely raised my overall rating of this property. it's too bad that lots of little things and one very big thing ended up marring our stay. I don't know if I would stay here again, given the price and the very cramped living quarters, but I would consider other properties under the same management team.

Room Tip: Room 601 is the smallest of its category in the hotel. Ask for another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank guptan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NELL09, Directeur général at Nell Hotel & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Mr or Mrs,

We thank you to have booked in our Residence, and for this review.
As a residence, every day we make a light cleaning (we close your bed, check if everything is ok in your room, we wash the dishes...) and every 2 days, we make a deep cleaning in rooms and change the towels, bed sheets...

We offered you 2 nights & the Champagne (you don’t mention…) because for the first time, due to an overweight, the lift put itself in security mode. We apologized again and were very embarrassed. It was the first time it happened since the opening, 15 months ago. We never had a full family, your family, 7 persons inside a such small lift. Even if it is a new one, it unfortunately stopped for safety reasons.

The technician came under 2 hours to fix it. It is a reasonable delay… and he had to come back the next day again…for the same reason. What a pity for you, never had any problems with the other guests.

About the fitness, just ask us: 2 minutes from the Résidence, we do have a partnership with a luxurious fitness center with private pool or a sport coach to run next to the Seine. Even a special flyer is available for the guests on the front office. That’s why we never sold or promote a fitness center in the Résidence.

Many thanks for your confidence in your conclusion. Our Hotels in Paris or St Tropez remind on your entire disposal. Do not hesitate to write us to get the best deal and conditions.

Josselin & Arnaud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed there with my 3 children for 5 days. Suite was clean, uncommonly large, and well-appointed. It was very hot when we were in Paris, but the suite's air conditioning worked beautifully. Beds were comfortable, (including the fold-out) with good linens and more than enough pillows. Bathroom was vast and luxurious, with excellent water pressure and plenty of hot water. Soaps were very nice and the robes and slippers were so comfy I should have taken them home with me. Very convenient to have a sizable refrigerator and well-stocked kitchenette with stovetop and microwave, coffee/tea maker, and a table big enough to seat all 4 of us. Nespresso machine and supplies were complimentary and made great espresso. There also were 2 flat-screen televisions, an in-room safe, hair dryer, iron, umbrella, free wi-fi, and more than enough storage space (with hangers). Location was within walking distance of significant tourist attractions (Louvre and vicinity, Opera), with 2 cafes only steps from the front door (the one right next door was the better one) and a whole street of shops selling bread, pastry, cheese, fruit, wine, groceries and sundries around the corner (so we put that kitchenette to use). ATM around another corner, too. Neighborhood seemed safe and more of a residential area than a tourist/hotel area, and the locals and shopkeepers were friendly. But the best part of our stay was the OUTSTANDING service. Every request was handled with efficiency and courtesy, and the staff proactively worked to anticipate and meet our every need. The staff was especially helpful when I had trouble with tour reservations and mix-ups; since I don't know more than 10 words of French, they resolved all issues on my behalf. I have been to Paris before and stayed at highly recommended hotels, but nothing in the past ever came close to the absolutely wonderful experience we had at Residence Nell. This is where I will be staying on future visits. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We had a 5th floor room and it was extremely quiet. Street noise was negligible, and there was no no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank distortiongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NELL09, Responsable réception at Nell Hotel & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Mrs from Cleveland,

We thank you for this complete comment.

All is said, you perfectly described the Residence NELL and the district.

As a small 4 star hotel (17 apartments), we take care of our guest and try to anticipate all your request. This is a real personalized service and we are pride to read you felt it this way!

We're waiting for you, for your next trip in Paris ! Do not hesistate to contact us by mail to have our best available rate.

Warm regards,

Josselin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Spent two days there 2 adults and 4 kids. The staff could not have been more helpful. I also lost my phone and the hotel helped me after i had left in order to try and get it back, great service.
The hotel is great for families, we had the large 2 bedroom suite, which provided us with just the right amount of space for our family, the place is clean, modern and extremely well maintained. The price is very reasonable for the amenities.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NELL09, Responsable réception at Nell Hotel & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Stuart,

We thank you for this nice review.

Indeed, the Luxe Apartment offer a nice space (58 square meters), with 2 bathrooms and 2 kitchenettes, which is good for a big family like yours.

It was a real pleasure to welcome you and your family and we hope to see you again in a near future.

Warm regards,

Josselin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epe, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed a week at Residence Nell and felt very much at home. Having the luxury of a separate living room cannot be underestimated when you have a full and busy week. The apartments are really nice and functional. It's all there and it all works, from fridge and nespresso to ipod docking station and 2 flat screens. Location is superb in the 9th, walking distance to all main attractions. we found the Passages and Galeries especially nice. There is an access across the road. enter it and you wonder through them for hours, exiting right in the city center. We found the brasseries next door very handy and nice. Open early and late incl sundays.

Room Tip: we were on the top floor. apt 601. which was very quiet, bedroom in the back and far above the traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinmeerkerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NELL09, Responsable réception at Nell Hotel & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear martinmeerkerk,

We thank you very much for this good comment.

Indeed, the Passages are beautiful, this is something to see!

Do not hesitate to contact us by mail for your next trip in Paris, it will be a pleasure to propose you ou best available rate.

Warm regards,

Josselin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We spent a weekend in Paris for a family celebration nearby. Most hotel rooms in city centres are really small and not pleasant if you want to spend a couple of hours reading or relaxing. Residence Nell has a spacious bedroom plus a lovely sitting room with kitchenette all for much the same price as a normal hotel room. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RVC_SBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NELL09, Responsable réception at Nell Hotel & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear RVC_SBR,

We thank you for your good review.

This is always a great pleasure to read this kind of comments and we want to continue! :)

Do not hesitate to contact us by mail to have the best rates for your next trip in Paris.

Best regards,
Josselin
Front Office & Duty Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

After reviewing many hotels on TripAdvisor we chose Nell Residence and were very pleased. We thought the location was great, certainly within walking distance of the Louvre/Rue de Rivoli. Our apartment was large with a king sized bed in the bedroom and a queen sized pullout sofa in the livingroom. I was traveling with my daughter and 16 month old grandson. There was enough room for him to run and play, CNN to keep us abreast of the news and a galley kitchen for making small breakfasts and baby bottles. The staff were friendly and helpful.
They do charge €20. per night for the baby bed. Also, our room only had a shower and we would have liked a bathtub to bathe the baby. There are rooms with tubs so if that is a requirement, make a request for that type of room when booking.
We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank barbinbarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NELL09, Responsable réception at Nell Hotel & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Mrs,

We thank you to have share your feeling about the Residence NELL.

Indeed, we have good reviews on the Ligne Roset sofa bed, which is like a real bed.

Also, the Studios and Classic Apartments have a shower and simple basin, and the Deluxe Apartments are bigger, have a bathtub and a double basin.

We stay at your disposal for your next trip in Paris and will try to upgrage you to a Deluxe Apartment with bathtub!

Warm regards,

Josselin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#31 of 1,802 in Paris
1,263 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#8 of 1,802 in Paris
216 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel De Nell
Hotel De Nell
#58 of 1,802 in Paris
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Saint-Marc
Hotel Saint-Marc
#15 of 1,802 in Paris
287 reviews
Opera / Bourse
La Maison Favart
La Maison Favart
#28 of 1,802 in Paris
1,427 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#9 of 1,802 in Paris
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nell Hotel & Suites, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nell Hotel & Suites, BW Premier Collection

Property: Nell Hotel & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Address: 60 Rue Richer, 75009 Paris, France (Formerly Nell Hotel & Suites (Residence Nell))
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nell Hotel & Suites, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Paris’s 9th arrondissement, Nell Hotel & Suites welcomes you to the intimacy of a private mansion. This unique setting contains 17 apartments and studios designed by Patrick Jouin, available to you for stays of a night, a week or a month… Welcome to Nell Hotel & Suites, combining the luxury of a pied à terre with the carefully designed decor and comfort of a four-star service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nell Hotel & Suites, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing