We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny Rooms and elevator doesn't go to the top floor.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Paris Opera Garnier
Ranked #530 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tiny Rooms and elevator doesn't go to the top floor.”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Cons: The rooms are tiny, even by Paris standards. The hotels elevator goes to the 5th floor and then you have to get off and walk up a flight of stairs if you are staying on the 6th floor. This walk would not be so bad if the hallway did not smell of mildew. The electricity for the block went out which is not the hotels fault. However, the Internet was still not up and working 48 hours later.

Pros: Good location during the day. Very central to shops and metro. Area gets a little sketchy at night when all the shops are closed. The people at the front desk are all very helpful and really try to give you the best possible experience. Rooms were clean and new.

Verdict: Stay here for a few nights if you don't have much luggage, don't plan to use the Internet, and don't mind taking a cab anytime you leave the hotel after 9pm.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rl47ucla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc P, Deputy General Manager at Mercure Paris Opera Garnier, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,
 
You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.
 
We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Thank you for notify that the hotel wasn't responsible of the Electrical shut down. This situation burned up our WiFi Hot spot.
Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken and that the Wifi has been repaired.
Also as the hotel is a old fashion Parisian building, it's true that the lifts doesn't link to a part of our 6th floor rooms. This is why our hotel offer a porterage service to assist our guest to climb their luggage for the last floor (from 5th to 6th).

Once again, please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenient occurred during your stay.
In order to demonstrate that's not the way we usually welcome our guest, please contact me in order to organize your future booking.
 
Looking forward to welcoming you shortly at Mercure Opéra Garnier.
 
Yours sincerely,

Marc PILARD
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    530
    210
    55
    24
See reviews for
130
441
103
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I visited Paris for the first time to celebrate my 40th birthday. PLUS: close to the San Lazare metro. Checkin was relatively easy. The breakfast was good. Free WIFI. Front desk clerk, Kekio was very nice & helpful. NEGATIVES: the hotel only has two irons for the entire hotel(145 rooms). Front desk clerk; Megharzo was UNFRIENDLY; SARCASTIC; & not very helpful during my stay there. She needs to take a customer service class! A hot mess! The other clerks were nothing to brag about either; but this lady was the worst! This hotel doesn't have wash cloths! Was told hotels on Europe doesn't provide washcloths. Housekeeping takes forever to clean the room! Also the rooms are VERY SMALL! Try to avoid taking anything bigger than a 25 inch suitcase. The restaurants close by were overpriced & not worth the money, time or effort! The AC in the room wasn't effective.

Room Tip: There is no tip. All the rooms are small. I had to place the chair in the room out on the balcony to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth, mi
Level Contributor
125 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Mercure Paris Opera Garnier is a very nice hotel steps away from St Lazare train and subway station.

The front desk was nice and accommodating and had no problem getting us into our room hours ahead of check in. The lobby is nice with a bar and small courtyard. We did not eat at the hotel, choosing instead croissants from PAUL which was around the corner.

The room was small, as is often the case in Europe, but it was modern, clean and comfortable. We had a narrow balcony overlooking rue de l'Isly, which isn't much, but at least a nice step out to check the weather in the morning and get a breath of air.

The location of the hotel was very good - near the St Lazare station, but also walking distance to The Louvre, Eiffel Tower, etc. Some walks were longer than others, but subway was always an option. There are several restaurants very close - from the fast food "Quick" to Itialian, French and Western options.

This hotel is pricey but with the price comes a great location, service and room. If it's in your budget, you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adavici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed for 3 nights . Great value, very good staff, and comfortable rooms in the heart of Paris. We reserved the Premier rooms which were 1) more spacious 2) more comfortable 3) provided breakfast (Inlcuding delivery to your room!) and 4) had a free minibar with complimentary soda and water as well as a few madalines and a cool little backpack to carry around the water! SO if avialble well worht the extra money.

Staff at front desk was extremley helpful, very nice and pleasant (Sarah - thank you - I think walked us across the street to the restaurant Centas to try and get us in but they did have an hour wait. Breakfast was good (decent eggs, good coffe, youghurt and some fo the standards). Room was quite over looking one of two courtyards.

some very minor complaints 1) AC is room is adequate (but unlike other hotels will only get it comfortable can get it frigid like we prefer although will stay on while you are gone), 2) similar to others we did get a knock on the door every morning at around 9:00 am even thought the do not make up room sign was on 3) we had two room ours had a bathtub with one of the swinging glass doors whcih could not contain all the water thus the floor was always a little wet. The other room had a shower only and was better.

Parking close buy but no on the street thankfull not a heavily traveled street so allowed us plenty of time to unlaod and load the car.

Certainly a modern, well managed, cerntally located, value hotel! We will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a premier room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrcbasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed at for a couple of nights on a business trip. The location is ok (right near a metro for instance) and in a good part of town. The rooms are small and a bit dated but fine for a night. Watch out for the corridors as they are so narrow you might get stuck! Breakfast is ok.

My real beef was the price which was ridiculous for a really average place (they claim that there was a tradeshow in town) which apparently allows them to charge whatever they want. For the money there must be far better possibilities than this slightly tired place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc P, Deputy General Manager at Mercure Paris Opera Garnier, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,
 
You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.
 
We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.
It appears that June is a very busy month in Paris and our prices are quiet high due to several exhibitions (Air Show; medical congress......). Never the less, you can easily find better rates on our website on many other periods.
I'm also taking this opportunity to inform you that we have just renovated 40 rooms. The rest of the works will be done in shortly.

I hope to get the opportunity to earn your trust again on a next stay with us and I will be very please to handle personally your future booking.
 
Sincerely,

Marc PILARD
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This was our first time in Paris and it was our 30th anniversary. The hotel is in an excellent location: north of the Seine, 1 block away from St. Lazare metro and main train station (which we used both a lot). It is also close to many restaurants, Lafayette shopping mall, and more.
The hotel has a very clean nice lobby, small lounge and breakfast area. The breakfast selection was simple, but effecient. The front desk staff were very friendly and very helpful regarding information around Paris.

The room, however, was on the 5th floor and was very very small. No space for 2 sets of luggage and the bathroom was also very cramped. We asked for a balcony, but it was only on the smoking floor. The balcony was not a "plus" because it is bare (no chairs or table). The view was ho hum as you couldn't see much of Paris - just to the apartments across the street. It was good to open the door to get fresh air and check out the daily weather.

Overall, it was a good hotel - and you can't beat the location.

Room Tip: Do not ask for a room with a balcony unless you want to get the smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc P, Deputy General Manager at Mercure Paris Opera Garnier, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Mercure Paris Opéra Garnier.
We are very sorry to hear about the inconvenience with the size of our room and please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.
So, let me invite you to try our Privilège room which are more spacious and so enjoy once again our location.
We hope to welcome you again at the Mercure Paris Opéra Garnier.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed here for 4 days we were pleased. The staff is very helpful. Great location and near the Galleria Lafayette. Only suggestion is to pick up a hotel business card. I went out walking and easily got lost on the streets that all looked the same. While it was exciting and fun to be "lost in Paris," after a couple hours and not finding help, I began to realize I made a huge mistake by thinking I could find my way back. Once I got back, it was late, and the staff heated up soup for me and made me a hot cup of tea. This goes to say a great deal about the service. The next time I go to Paris I would not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleni1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc P, Deputy General Manager at Mercure Paris Opera Garnier, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,
Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.
 
My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.
I'm Sorry that you got lost in Paris but as you said, the best thing to do is to keep the hotel address or download our Apps to stay in contact with the hotel where our team could assist you any time. 
Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in Mercure Opéra Garnier.
 
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Mercure Paris Opera Louvre
Mercure Paris Opera Louvre
#823 of 1,802 in Paris
380 reviews
Entrepôt
Mercure Paris Opera Grands Boulevards
Opera / Bourse
Mercure Paris Opera Faubourg Montmartre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Paris Opera
#284 of 1,802 in Paris
1,564 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Londres et New York Hotel
Londres et New York Hotel
#879 of 1,802 in Paris
335 reviews
Le Grand Hotel de Normandie
#817 of 1,802 in Paris
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris Opera Garnier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Opera Garnier

Property: Mercure Paris Opera Garnier
Address: 4 rue de l Isly, 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Green Hotel in Paris
#309 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#391 Family Hotel in Paris
#592 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Opera Garnier 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of Paris, near the Opera and the Deparment Stores "Printemps" and "Galeries Lafayette". Soundproofed & air-conditioned rooms. Direct dial-telephone, internet connection.TV, safe. Bar. Flowered courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Paris Opera Garnier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Opera Garnier Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Opera Garnier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing