We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, Clean, Characterful - But you get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Des 3 Nations
Ranked #1,392 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed here over New Year and mostly used the hotel as a base from which to go sightseeing and it was in an ideal location, just a short walk from the Gare du Nord (where the Euro star stops). The hotel itself is definitely not modern but has everything you would expect from 2 star accommodations.

The staff at reception are friendly with good english, the rooms clean with the bedding was changed regularly, fresh towels every day, warm (despite the freezing temperatures) and we did not experience any noise as other reviews have complained about. However, the bed is definitely comparable to camping on hard ground and the lack of a proper door (strange sliding plastic panel) means that you have to be pretty close to the person you are in the room with!

After reading reviews on here we decided not to get Breakfast but went to the nearby Supermarket daily for bread and cheese which was easily kept cool outside on the balcony! There is also a wide variety of Cafes and Restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2011

Very bad, stay there for 3 nights then change hotel, we had bugs in our room, we complain about it and they din't do nothing about it so. I was bit everywere, so i call them to complain again and the men in the reception was very rude and told me it wasent is fault and then he hung up the phone....i had a bad holiday i was allways on the farmacy and feeling bad, and this hotel din't take the responsability to say sorry at least, there wasent good thing to say about this hotel....

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flowert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

This hotel seemed like a good choice. Cheap, near the centre, and in an old Parisian building. However, when staying there we came across a huge problem - bed bugs. First we didn't notice them, but after staying at this hotel for one night, terrible red marks - stains on legs, arms and necks as result.... Service was great - they booked us another hotel. But that doesn't count if they knew that our room was full of bed bugs...

Overall, bedbugs / bedwantsen are animals you don't want in your own home. We had to wash all our clothes and had to buy new ones for the weekend.

Breakfast isn't great either. One croissant, a small baguette and bad, bad, bad coffee...
Stay away from this hotel.

Room Tip: Room full of bedbugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anneliesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

OVERALL
I would recommend this hotel, its a good budget hotel in a good location 10 min walk form Gare du Nord for Eurostar users, additionally It has a metro stop close by. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly, our room was clean but rather small with a nice balcony, but beware the room had VERY thin walls, but we still slept fine.
I give this hotel :) :) :) :) :)/5

HOTEL
We arrived in Paris at the hotel around 09:00 in the morning and were told that the room would not be ready until 14:30, but luckily we were allowed to leave our luggage with reception until the room was ready. After some sight seeing we returned to the hotel, all our luggage was fine, and we were given our room key. Oh by the way you have to leave your room key with reception every time you leave the hotel, but not to worry there was always somebody there to let you in at any hour.

ROOM
All in all the hotel room was fine, small but enough room for the two of us. The room was clean and further cleaned everyday by room service. The bed was fine and an extra blanket was provided in the wardrobe for cold nights, the bath room was small but all appliances worked well, I would say the shower curtain probably needs a change. There was a working TV with a verity of channels and we had a nice balcony but not exactly the best view. ALSO I must add that the walls are paper thin, you can hear everything!!!

STAFF
Friendly helpful staff including the lovely room service ladies, bless them. The morning man at reception was very friendly he gave us a map of Paris and marked all the must see locations. Additionally the night reception man was also very friendly providing us with clear instructions on how to reach the Paris night club we were heading to.

PARIS
Oh Paris I miss already, people actually smile there unlike my city. Paris we'll meet again someday.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DreamsOfClouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Although the hotel is near the Place de la République it is in a very suspicious street. When we came to the hotel we noticed that the lobby is very dirty and old. The room was about the same, if not worse. Wallpapers were old and with stains and the furniture was very old and ruined. Sheets on the bed also had stains, the bed cover was just awful and you wouldn't like to sleep in that bed. Bathroom was small and very dirty, not to mention the towels - like they were already used.
Also the staff was unpleasant.
Rooms in a very bad condition, cleanliness at the lowest level so AVOID this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jelitza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Last minute trip! Everything was organised by my Aunt who had no idea of my travel standards. Imagine my surprise when she told me that all six of us were staying at a basic hotel. I don't do 2 stars!!

I forgot to pack my mariegolds, cif, dettol, which I always travel with!!! Great!

So there we were standing at the reception desk checking in. The receptionist Antenor was very helpful and explained that he would give us 4 rooms one of which was small with just a sink and no toilet.

Anyway in a nut shell, we were given rooms 61,63,52 and 56. After inspection I gave back room 56 the single room with just a sink. The other rooms were okay and were very clean and tidy. We all had a great night sleep. Breakfast was good (at extra cost), French bread, croissants, jams, tea & coffee.

The location was great with two near by metro stations within five minutes walking distance one being the Republique.

On a budget it is a very good place to stay and I had no problems. Even my relatives from the States (over 65+) were happy with their stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Stayed in Hotel des 3 Nations with my partner on a one-week trip to Paris.
Got to say we really liked the hotel for several reasons:
- Location is very convenient (5 min from Gare du Nord)
- Staff is very helpful and friendly
- Even if the building is quite old, rooms are more than decent for the proposed price

We would not recommend the breakfast, better take it outside as there are many cafes and typical Parisian restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goldorak_GO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Excelsior Republique
Hotel Excelsior Republique
#1,585 of 1,803 in Paris
230 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Little
Hotel Little
#1,495 of 1,803 in Paris
226 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
District Republique
District Republique
#639 of 1,803 in Paris
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Aida Marais
Hotel Aida Marais
#442 of 1,803 in Paris
895 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Victory Hotel Galou
Victory Hotel Galou
#1,647 of 1,803 in Paris
86 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Nord et Champagne
Hotel Nord et Champagne
#1,471 of 1,803 in Paris
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des 3 Nations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des 3 Nations

Address: 13 rue du Chateau D Eau, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,392 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £57 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Des 3 Nations 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Des 3 Nations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des 3 Nations Hotel
Des 3 Nations Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing