We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much better than we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Des 3 Nations
Ranked #1,401 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“much better than we expected”
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We chose this hotel as first timers in paris as we wanted somewhere cheap and near the gare du nord station and with good metro links to the rest of the city, with a map the hotel was fairly easy to find. Reception staff all spoke very good english and were more than happy to help with directions etc. There was free wifi in the hotel (if you ask they give you a password valid for 10hrs) and also a pc which could be used for 1euro per 1/2 hour. The room was much bigger than expected for paris (room 33) and was cleaned with fresh sheets and towels everyday which was very nice after a long day in the city! There are 3 metro stations very close to the hotel - we found the 'republic' easiest as there were so many lines connecting to this one but the city centre is only 20-30mins walk away if you prefer to walk (as we did on our first day to get our bearings). For the price we got this hotel for 4 nights we were overall impressed, everything is so expensive in paris - even the basics and the only negative is that the bed was very hard, however, im sure this actually was good for us after all the walking!! Would recommend using the Batobus to get around the attractions, nice way to travel on the river.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinktiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    51
    49
    15
    18
See reviews for
34
41
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Distinctly average in most respects...

Good
Decent sized room
Cheap, simple 2* hotel, what you expect for budget
Breakfast wasn't included so didn't try it
Good location, close enough to Gare du Nord and next to Republique, where there are plenty of bars, cafes, even a good supermarket if you want to nibbles/drinks to take to room
English-language tv channels
Kettle/drinks facilities in room

Not so good
Bathroom was quite shabby and needed a refurb.

Really don't have too much to say about this hotel, it was 'okay', cheap and cheerful. Too many other hotels in Paris of a similar price and grade to try tho, which could be a lot better, so I don't think I would stay again for that reason.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StreathamMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2008

This was a nice surprise. The hotel is like the pictures on there website, no bad surprises.
My room was large, clean and with a nice view, in the 5 th floor, with working elevator.
The staff was very friendly and i could tell they can speak many languages.
The location is GREAT, right next to Place Republique, subway just 2 minutes away.
They have internet and serve breakfast, but i cant tell if it is good because i didn´t try it.

  • Liked — The room was large and a good oldie
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Boginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2008

This hotel is perfect if you want a cheap and clean place to stay in the middle of Paris. The staff were all polite and helpful and the hotel is within walking distance of the Gare du Nord. Our room had some rather 'interesting' decorations (as do alot of rooms in Paris!) but we were very happy with what we got all for a very reasonable price.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ---------
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
79 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2008

The hotel is about 10minutes walk from the Gare Du Nord Station. I only discovered this upon going back since I got lost finding this hotel when I arrive. The hotel is okay for a short stay but you can get better ones and even closer to Gare Du Nord. The room looks a a bit dated and I got the best room (so it seems according to the reception) with a balcony. But nothing much of a view can be seen outside. Personally if I can turn back time, I would book a different hotel.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank zmyusof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2008

This hotel was cheap and cheerful.

Location was great for getting around via the Metro and on foot (if you like walking).

The staff were friendly and the reception was open 24 hours.

My only complaint was the noise of the room doors slamming. They are fire doors which swing back. This is probably more to do with insensitivity of other guests than the hotel!
Just be aware the rooms are not sound proof!!!

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would consider using this hotel again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms not sound proof
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kikev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweden
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2008

Ok hotel, good price. The room we got was really small but we got a big terrace, nice and cozy. close to place de la republique. The room was worn out and smelled funny. othewise we were pleased, god value for the money

  • Liked — price, terrace
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pollycobain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Aida Marais
Hotel Aida Marais
#456 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Excelsior Republique
Hotel Excelsior Republique
#1,478 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#1,309 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Little
Hotel Little
#1,500 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Nord et Champagne
Hotel Nord et Champagne
#1,440 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Hauteville Opera
Hotel Hauteville Opera
#1,515 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des 3 Nations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des 3 Nations

Property: Hotel Des 3 Nations
Address: 13 rue du Chateau D Eau, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,401 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Des 3 Nations 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Des 3 Nations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des 3 Nations Hotel
Des 3 Nations Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing