We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desperate”
Review of Modern' Est

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Modern' Est
Ranked #1,458 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Desperate”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We had an unforgettable experience with this hotel. We had been shunted from one railway station to the next only to find that we had missed the last train to Germany. Travelling with heavy suitcases are not the best accompaniment when searching for a bed for the night. Eventually, we stumbled on the Hotel Modern Est. We paid an extortion amount for the night and the room stank of heavy perspiration. The lights went out in the street at 5.00am when we wanted to leave to catch the 6.00am train. . I slept fitfully as the stench kept me awake. Let me tell you, it was not fun trying to find everything in the dark. The staff who looked like 2 bouncers at the local nightclub, were helpful.
Not a great memory of Gay Paree.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Polkadot723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    32
    46
    8
    12
See reviews for
22
31
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in Sept. 2013. The hotel was very clean, and the staff were helpful. Because I had a last-minute reservation during a very busy week in Paris, the first night I had an odd room (the only one left) with tiny windows by the ceiling, it used to be an office. However, they moved me the next day and actually upgraded me to a nice double room for the price of a single, with a nice bathroom, so I very much appreciated it. I've spent a lot of time in Paris and this hotel is very good for the price, and the Metro is right outside the front door. A few blocks away is an interesting covered alley full of Indian restaurants. It's a busy, lively neighbourhood, which I liked.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LGRTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

i had no complaints with this hotel. room was very comfortable with good beds, nice decor, safe, tv and wifi connection. Breakfast served in the small dining area was ample with eggs croissants juice cheese ham baguettes tea and coffee. .. Friendly enought staff at reception and 24hour security.
Ideal location with major train station to the left of the hotel and metro directly outside the front door.. its right bang in the middle of cafes and shops. Naturally any area in close proxmity to a railway station or metro.. in any city in europe....wouldnt be the most pleasing to the eye or the safest place to hang aroundn so you take precautions.
To sum it up...its not the Hilton but a pretty good budget hotel for anyone on a tight budget who's sole purpose is to see the sights of Paris with ease and just use the hotel as a base to sleep.
I would stay again and recommend it to like minded people.

Room Tip: our room was at the back of the hotel away from the noise and general activity
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gilbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The only reason I got this gross hotel is that once we arrived, we were shocked by the nastiness of Paris, and did not want to walk any further with our luggage attracting attention.

It was located right across the train station, Gare d'lest.

Now to the point.

1. The refrigerator did not work. Could not keep our drinks cool in such a hot, unbearable room. That's the LEAST that they could have done!!

2. Of course, there was no air condition in a hot, suffocating, airless room. It was terrible. But the lobby had air condition for the owner!

3. The view was SO depressing. There was another building where people could see inside your room. On our side view, our room faced what looked like a rat alley. Very uncomfortable because we could not get air due to the other building blocking our room from getting air.

4. For some strange and scary reason, the restroom floor was hot. I was afraid the restroom would explode.

5. The shower was pretty pathetic. Is it a European thing that they put the shower head low on the wall so you can hold it with one hand and use the other hand to bathe?? That is not comfortable when bathing.

6. The elevator was so tiny but I didn't care about that. What I noticed though, it gave away how old the hotel is. It smelled like a century old disgusting building. YUK

NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chatoaburida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

There were more amenities at this hotel than some other hotels we stayed at in Paris - a fan, blowdryer, bar-fridge, safe and TV.The reception staff were friendly and helpful, the beds and pillows comfortable. On the negative side, the stairs were treacherously slippery, there were no sheer curtains to provide privacy from the opposite windows and the bedroom lights were inadequate. Even so, we would probably stay here again because we liked the staff member with the twinkling, kind brown eyes!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madryn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed here for one night before our flight out of CDG. It is very convenient if you are arriving for leaving from Gare de l' Est, it is across the street. There is a metro entrance and bus stop right in front of the hotel. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful; we were able to request a room on a high floor so we could leave our window open at night. Our room was at the back and it was very quiet for a peaceful night's sleep. No A/ C, but even on an unusually warm night it was fine with the open window and fan. Room was very clean and reasonably sized for a triple. Flat screen TV, minibar and good Wifi. Bathroom was of a good size and clean. Only thing we didn't like was that the temperature of the water and the water pressure changed abruptly from hot to cold and strong to a dribble while you showered. Hotel offered breakfast, but we didn't take it. There is a Monop grocery store right around the corner and a boulangerie across from that. The Canal St. Martin neighborhood with its many cafes, wine bars and restaurants is a 5 or 10 minute walk east of the hotel. This was a good budget stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BooKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desna, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel is well located - besides the Gare de l´Est (metro, trains) and it is in walking distance e.g. to Montmartre. Only there are bus stops and the Noctilien (night buses) might be a bit disturbing. The staff was ok - they speak English but are glad if you speak French :-) The room was clean but the whole hotel looks "a bit too old" and needs refurbishment (new carpets, furniture...).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Little Regina
Hotel Little Regina
#1,159 of 1,800 in Paris
312 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Grand Hotel de l'Europe
Grand Hotel de l'Europe
#1,581 of 1,800 in Paris
105 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amiot Hotel
Amiot Hotel
#1,597 of 1,800 in Paris
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare de l'Est TGV
Ibis Paris Gare de l'Est TGV
#728 of 1,800 in Paris
964 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Alane Hotel
Alane Hotel
#892 of 1,800 in Paris
540 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Sibour Hotel
Sibour Hotel
#1,493 of 1,800 in Paris
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Modern' Est? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modern' Est

Property: Modern' Est
Address: 91 boulevard de Strasbourg, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,458 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Modern' Est 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Modern' Est reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modern` Est Hotel Paris
Modern Est Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing