We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Duplex room is excellent for family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture
Ranked #850 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Duplex room is excellent for family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We booked a duplex room (one king upstairs and 2 twin downstairs) which is hard to find in Paris. The room was spacious with a nice balcony and large modern bathroom. The beds were comfortable and the room was cleaned daily. The front desk staff were very helpful, especially the manager, who went above and beyond. Our week long stay was enjoyable and the breakfast was good. There was a bit of noise from the street, but not from neighboring rooms. The location is fine, a bit of a walk to attractions and metro, but lots of restaurants and shops nearby. WIFI and computer in lobby were very nice to have, we were even able to print our boarding passes. Overall a great stay at this hotel, would definitely book again.

Room Tip: If you need a family room, book early, there is only 2 duplex rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieIPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Léo M, Axel Opera at Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Dear customers,

Thank you for your comment on our TripAdvisor. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that your family had an unforgettable time in Paris. We will do our best in order to maintain our services.

We are looking forward to seeing you as our regular customers
Yours faithfully,

Hotel Axel Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    233
    106
    43
    31
See reviews for
93
253
28
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel. We were travelling around for 2 weeks (a few nights in 3 different cities) and we really appreciated staying in this hotel. The location was fantastic (of course it was unfortunate that on the Friday night we stayed there, a very rowdy, drunk, and loud group was hanging out at the bar just down from our room so we didn't get ANY sleep that night). Other than that one bad experience though, the rest of the stay was fantastic.
The room was very clean (though small! But we found that was the case with each place we stayed). The bed was very comfortable, and although the bathroom was teeny tiny, it was nice.
The service was pretty good...though we did have some troubles with communication on one of the days.
The hotel does ask that you leave your key with the front desk each time that you leave the hotel, and then you pick it up from them when you come back in. We didn't really have a problem with this system (though it was odd), until they lost our key! We gave it back to one person and then when his shift had ended and someone else took over they weren't able to find our room key.
The breakfast was nice. It was small, but it had pastries, toast, cereal, coffee, juice, tea and fruit. We really appreciated having it each morning.

All in all I think we'd stay here again. And for those who are part of the Choice Hotels rewards program, they do accept your points for free room stays (though the rooms are FAR more expensive than they would be in Canada!).

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms with a street view and it looked much bigger (from the floor plan) tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Léo M, Axel Opera at Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Dear customers,

We are so thankful for your comment on our TripAdvisor. It is very helpful for us in order to maintain and improve our services.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel in your next trip.

Looking forward for a long term relationship,
Yours truly,

Hotel Axel Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night in February to attend a concert at Le Trianon. The location of the hotel was great for me. The room was overpriced for what I got (big bed in tiny room with tiny, gloomy bathroom and big pipes bulging out which is not aesthetically pleasing). But I guess that`s Paris! A handyman came into my room without explaining why he was in my room - which is quite rude, particularly since I am a girl traveling alone. Turns out the room beside mine had a big flood and he had to check out the pipes in my room. Also, while I found a couple of the staff at the front desk really friendly, I found the one that I dealt with on my way to be rather off-putting and seriously lacking interpersonal skills - they are in the wrong line of work.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Léo M, Axel Opera at Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Dear customers,

We would like to thank you for your comment that is very important for us.
We are really sorry you were not entirely satisfied with your stay at our hotel.
We assure you that we did everything we can to make sure it does not happen again.

Sincerely,

Hotel Axel Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

danbenjoseph
Level Contributor
227 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This hotel is a true gem for those who are looking for value in Paris. It is located in the center of things, close to Follies Bergers and the Grand Bouleverads. Metro station is five minutes walk. The covered markets are across the street. Opera is 15 minutes walk. The hotel itself is a typical Parisian building. Small lobby and reception area, but very inviting! Brand new furnishings and very well kept. The corridors and elevator are tiny, but that's what you find in Paris. Front vdesk staff was very helpful and courteous. The room itself is smallish but very well furnished, well kept. Everything in great condition. Bathroom is actually good size and new. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danbenjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Léo M, Axel Opera at Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Dear customers,

We would like to thank you for your appreciating comment on our TripAdvisor.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel.

We are so happy that you had an unforgettable time in Paris, and also especially thank you for remarking the Parisian style of our hotel.

Looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal life.
Best regards,

Hotel Axel Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathu, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Not the Ritz, but certainly value for money. The room was big enough for the double bed and not much else, but it was probably the only "smoking" room left in Europe. The lift was crazy - two people, or one with luggage. Hilarious. Breakfast was great - very informal, bur fresh and enough to last way past lunch

Room Tip: They have SMOKING rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directeur-Axel, Directeur général at Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Madam, sir,

We thank you for your post on tripadvisor.

We are pleased that your stay went well.

we are aware that our elevator is small, but we can make sure it is working properly!

We hear your feedback on breakfast and make every effort to improve it.

I hope to welcome you again personally, I will ensure that your stay is unforgettable.

Regards,

R.PLATEAU
MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 4 nights in the period just before and after newyears. The location is excellent (15 min walk to the Louvre, 4 subway stations a minute or two away, lot's of restaurants in the neighbourhood), it's quiet and the area is safe. The rooms are basic and the hallways are narrow. There is an elavator where you can just about fit in with your luggage, but it's tiny - we took the stairs more than once and our room was on the fifth floor. Staff is friendly, English speaking (although don't expect too much) and the service was good. Breakfast is included, sort of in buffet style with mini croissants, cereal and yoghurt. Again, basic - no frills.

I've got to say we enjoyed our stay here, a perfect balance between quality and a very decent price in an excellent location. You get what you pay for, and this is a good option.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directeur-Axel, Directeur général at Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Madam, sir,

We thank you for your post on tripadvisor.

We are pleased that your stay went well.

we are aware that our elevator is small, but we can make sure it is working properly!

We hear your feedback on breakfast and make every effort to improve it.

I hope to welcome you again personally, I will ensure that your stay is unforgettable.

Regards,

R.PLATEAU
MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucharest
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I somehow feel sorry to give a bad review to this hotel, but aside it's nice location and cleanliness ( although they need a severe renovation), everything else went all wrong.
I booked a room on booking.com chosing the "book now, pay now" option and the hotel immediately put a hold on 100 euros on my credit card. I am honestly amazed that I read the reviews about Quality Axel and nobody had this issue before ! After our stay there, at check out, some lady at the reception asked for the entire price of the booking, clamining that the 100 euros they put a hold on was just so they could check the validity of my credit card. Ok, it happened before, but NEVER 100 EUROS !! And then, she became sarcastic and a little aggresive with her attitude towards us, telling us a lot of silly things while charging us again for our stay. At the end of the "show" she smiled and said our money will PROBABLY be back on our card in 2 weeks or so... Probably in 2 weeks or so??? It's december, Christmas time. Needless to mention that booking.com clearly stated that this hotel won't ask for a deposit when booking there.
As for the hotel...first day we arrived we received a room with a window facing a concrete wall ( they "forget" to mention that when they sell and their photos are misleading ). After putting up AGAIN with one of the staff scarcasm, we changed our room the next day. The new room was available a day before, as it was already clean and sparkling at 8 am....but they said a big NO to my face when I asked for a change or an upgrade.
Breakfast is decent , but definetly not a 3 star breakfast - more like for a 1 star guesthouse.
The door at our bathroom never closed and the elevator would simply make you feel like you're aging as you wait for it. We skipped the elevator as often as we could.
I cannot recommend this place unless other guests won't mind the issues my husband and I had with hotel QAO .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directeur-Axel, Directeur général at Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Madam, sir,

We thank you for your post on tripadvisor.

we are sorry for the experience you have lived. cel did not match the mission we have set ourselves to welcome you better and help you to discover our beautiful capital.

I hope to welcome you again personally, I will ensure that your stay is unforgettable.

Regards,

R.PLATEAU
MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Pavillon Opera Bourse
Pavillon Opera Bourse
#1,083 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Ibis Styles Paris Lafayette Opera
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#28 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1,568 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Logis Jardin De Villiers
Logis Jardin De Villiers
#1,124 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture

Property: Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture
Address: 15 rue de Montyon | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #850 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few minutes from the Grands Boulevards and Grands Magasins in Paris, Hotel Axel Opera is a beautiful charm hotel that offers the best comfort and the best service throughout your stay in Paris. Every day from 2pm to 5:30pm, discover our HappyTime "Comptoir Gourmand": tea, coffee and pastries, you are our guest ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotelopia, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Axel Opera Hotel Paris
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing