We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good one in Paris ...near to Exposition” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Royale Montsouris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Royale Montsouris
Ranked #383 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Kanpur, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good one in Paris ...near to Exposition”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We booked two rooms and when we landed up in Hotel ..we were quite surprised to see the Interiors...it's like Arabian Nights ...quite congested Hotel ...and rooms were quite small...bathroom gates were having a center glass window so not much privacy if you are with friend...or with family....breakfast was okay but the chef was not at all co-operative...I didn't see any welcome smile on his face during my stay for almost a week...reception guys were okay and quite helpful...we had to suffer problem with Hot Water ...in freezing temperature we had to took bath in cold water for almost two days ....later they fixed up this problem...on the last day I ask for late check out bcoz my flight was late evening ...earlier they agreed but on the final day they refused ...but after lots of discussion they finally agreed to allow me for some hours ....I booked taxi from the Hotel for Airport and this taxi guy took me on ride and ended up with huge 98 Euros bill from Hotel to Airport ...which was quite high and moreover I ended of losing my carry bag...he stole my bag and runaway ....I sent a mail to the Hotel but no answer... may be this is not in there control...but they should have answered me and have arranged the contact details of the taxi company to trace this taxi driver ....but anyway the stay was okay comfortable but last day was not very good ....Hotel in general was okay for a business travelers.....central location ..near to Metro ....and close to Exposition ...I appreciate the support from Reception Guys ...one Gentlemen from some African country was the best ....a perfect front office manager ....I appreciate his customer handling ...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanjivsafit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    386
    94
    54
    55
See reviews for
85
328
62
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

When we got to the hotel, there was 1 person there and he barely spoke English. Our room was outdated and had a crazy design that was not attractive at all (my opinion). The bathroom door had a window in it giving my sister and I no privacy. We had to wrap a towel over the window. The wifi barely worked. The rooms were cold and a little dirty and did not have much lighting at all. There is 1 restaurant next door and that is it! Nothing else around. When we were leaving I was waiting for 15 minutes in the lobby for my sister and then we were going to go to the airport (we were in a rush). It wasn't until we were walking out the door that the staff member decided to ask for a signature for the credit card! Completely unprofessional to wait 15 minutes and then ask when we were rushing out the door. This hotel is a complete headache. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JarvisC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Two days before travelling to Paris, we had booked a double room at Hotel. Fortunately we haven't paid in advance, due to some problems with online banking. I had contact with the staff to report this problem and they confirmed firmly that we could stay for the weekend and pay at our arrival. When we checked in at the hotel, the receptionist was very unkind, almost rude. He made a very unprofessional impression and knew nothing about the agreement we made on telephone. When we saw our room we were actually relieved not having paid in advance. The whole place looked not well cleaned at all, the walls were even really dirty, the bed small and dusty, the furniture worn-out, the curtains torn by moths. Moreover the room was extremely small, almost claustrophobic, and very dark. Some of the lights didn't even work.
We went complaining at the reception, where there was another couple unsatisfied with their room. Since we expected a four-star hotel, this stuffy, dusty place was a huge disappointment; we finally took our luggage and left, searching for another place to sleep (which we eventually found, a little cheaper but at least twice worth the price).
I want to warn everybody for this hotel. This hotel is hardly worth a three-star rating and the price is much too high for what you get. It's maybe close to a (even distant) metrostation, but you'll find a much better deal in Paris.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank O_HUYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Very Poor quality overall. The reception staff should be taught to smile ( send them to the east ) dirty carpets and floor, bathroom and toilet dirty. No assistance from the staff at all they should be given training to smile. Never will we stay here again and will not recommend at all.

Room Tip: nothing good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AndrewColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

Design wise - rooms look like Arabian nights on drugs. Rooms are small (I stayed alone in a double room and had no place to put my luggage). Air conditioning was not working, and room was hot and stuffy.
Breakfast was OK. Hotel is close to public transportation.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyBarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We had the worst possible experience at this hotel. It was in a terrible part of Paris where the threat of getting mugged was very real. An I-pad and other items were stolen from our room and we weren't the only people robbed while we were staying there. We tried to call the police but the hotel staff kept disconnecting our call. Avoid this hotel at all costs, they pretended not to speak English and accused us of threatening them when we asked for the police to be called if they wouldn't let us call out. The hotel management admitted that theft was going on in the hotel - didn't care. No customer service - English speaking people were targeted in the 3 robberies that occurred in the 2 days we were there. Staying here ruined our Paris trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Bedbugs. BEDBUGS. Need I say more? I can! Stinky. Bedbugs. Moldy. Did I mention bedbugs? We checked the mattress for signs of bedbugs the second we entered the room - we've been burned before - but saw no sign. The morning after our SECOND night, when we awoke early to get to the airport, there they were. On the mattress, the pillows, the ceiling, everywhere. The guy at front desk didn't seem shocked when we told him. He went ahead and tried to charge us the city tax (room had been pre-paid with airline miles, so that wasn't up for debate). We refused to give them any money for that [--] hole.

Otherwise, the place also had a strong cologne-y smell that wouldn't dissipate even with the windows open for our whole stay; the shower was moldy; and the staff ignored the "Do Not Disturb" sign that we posted after the front desk guy specifically advised us to use the safe.

But really, do you need to know anything more than BEDBUGS????????????

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Fred Hotel
Fred Hotel
#230 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Gobelins
La Manufacture
La Manufacture
#257 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#97 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
#389 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Terminus Orleans
#457 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Villa Modigliani
Hotel Villa Modigliani
#822 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Royale Montsouris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale Montsouris

Property: Villa Royale Montsouris
Address: 144 rue de la Tombe Issoire, 75014 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#87 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#207 Business Hotel in Paris
#412 Family Hotel in Paris
#516 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Royale Montsouris 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
How would you know, before actually entering the Villa Royale Montsouris, that you would be crossing the Mediterranean? The lobby, decorated in Andalusian-Moorish style, is a perfect representation of the charms of the Orient. Colonnades and vaulted ceilings, copper, zelliges and wrought iron make the hotel look like a traditional Moroccan riad. Combine the stories of One Thousand and One Nights with draperies, sheer curtains and precious fabrics and the rooms seem to jump straight of oriental palaces. The elements of the decor bring brightly-coloured touches to the place: the reds of the floor tiles and the ochres of the earthenware, the Majorelle blue of the doors, which, when closed, make Paris seem very far away. In this exotic and wonderful universe, the service provided by the attentive staff add a personal note to the unique charm of the establishment, located in a peaceful district of the Capital, near the Parc de Montsouris and the tram that’s a direct connection with the Porte de Versailles Convention and Exhibition Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your Villa Royale Montsouris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Montsouris Hotel Paris
Hotel Royal Montsouris
Royal Montsouris Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing