We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, cute, great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Royale Montsouris
Ranked #389 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Munster, Germany
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Friendly, cute, great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed here for two nights for a buisness trip. Well connected through near-by Metro stations, with cafes and bars close by. Still quiet, because it is in a side street, and the windows close tight as well. The rooms are small, but then again, this is Paris.....
Everything is keot in a North African decor, and I really liked it. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and everyone I met spoke excellent English. Breakfast is good, and I would come again without hesitation, particularly considering the reasonable price (again, this is Paris.....).
One evening I walked from the Pantheon back to the hotel, it took me 30 minutes, so walking is an option too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationsoffice, Responsable relations clients at Villa Royale Montsouris, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Stefan,

First of all, We would like to take the opportunity to thank you very much for your review about your recent stay at Villa Royale Montsouris.

We are glad to see that you have appreciated the quality of our service and staff. It is very important for us to satisfy all of our guests.

It is a pleasure to know that you will choose again the Villa Royale Montsouris for your next stay in Paris. Our staff will be delighted to help you in order to choose the best places to go, for eating or visiting the capital. Of course, you can also check our all new website and our last good spots !

Best Regards and Happy new Year !

Eric Raffestin
Manager - Villa Royale Montsouris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    389
    95
    54
    55
See reviews for
86
330
63
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Reading many of the older reviews of the hotel, I am not sure what people really want from a hotel. I suggest you read the comment by the manager. The hotel is near the metro and all parts of Paris.
The hotel staff are more than helpfully, they go the extra mile.. The rooms are in a North African style but comfy and the house keeping standards are excellent. Very clean, fresh sheets.....good quality towels. It was nice to walk into the rooms after a day sight seeing. I have been to many hotels in Paris . This for the price is very good. Thank you all for the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a up grade, but standard rooms are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renzonimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationsoffice, Responsable relations clients at Villa Royale Montsouris, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Renzo,

Thank you very much for your comment that helps us to improve our service. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your review has been shared with the hotel staff.

For all people who would like to visit Paris, The Villa Royale Montsouris is offering a very good alternative location : situated in the south of Paris, next to the Montsouris Medical Institute, Universitary foreign Campus, Porte de Versailles Exhibition Center (direct access with the tram line from Porte d’Orleans), Montsouris garden, and Charlety Stadium.

Good restaurants are also close to the hotel. We have excellent relations with our Italian neigbour that offers speciality from the south of Italia, and is one of the best Italian Restaurant in Tripadvisor. Forget Pizza’s and discover what real pasta or Bruschetta’s are…! French Cuisine is also to be tasted at CHINCHIN restaurant, direct on the Montsouris Garden. Delicious and fresh from the Market!

As it is the end of the year, We would like to, in English this time, thank all of you that have been helping us in writing your experience’s. We have improved our service a lot after reading all of your comments. All the team of the Villa Royale Montsouris wish you a very good Christmas and happy new year 2014.

Sincerely,

Eric Raffestin
Manager - Villa Royale Montsouris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

I wanted somewhere, quirky and non-businessy, this was a good place, just not very romantic. Our double bed was made up from 2 singles so it's no good for couples. Breakfast was ok, everything was satisfactory. The staff were very friendly and there was always someone around who spoke English. I just don't get the decor, it's like spanishy or North African style? not very french.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sébastien D, Responsable relations clients at Villa Royale Montsouris, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Sophie C,

First of all, We would like to take the opportunity to thank you very much for your comment and your stay at Villa Royale Montsouris.

It is a pleasure for us to provide an alternative style of decoration, with our Arabian style. Our hotel could bring you to dream of your past or future trips to Morocco or Andalusia. Anyway, we understand that we can’t satisfy guests looking for more traditional French hotel style.

We would like also to apologies for the bedding, and we let you know that we also have normal double beds in our hotel.

Finally, We are pleased to see that you have appreciated the quality of our service and staff. It is very important for us to satisfy all of our guests.

Sincerely,

Eric Raffestin
Manager of the Villa Royale Montsouris Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We staied here for a long week-end. The hotel is well connected to the center of Paris (metro 4 and RER B). The rooms are really confortable and clean, lovely furnished. It seems to be in Casablanca! I will definitely come back here!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarikaGri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed at the hotel during a short break with a friend for 3 nights in October. The hotel is clean and comfortable, and the staff were friendly. We got a really good deal with Eurostar from lastminute.com so it was a very cheap trip, and we decided not to have the beakfast which is about 8 euros per day due to our limited budget.

Our room was a nice size, had a good bathroom and wardrobe space. The Morrocan style decor is colourful and in good taste, and the beds were warm and comfortable. Our room was on the fourth floor and there seemed to be a water storage tank very close to our room which was a little noisy during the night. This did not interrupt our sleep and was not worth complaining about, however if we had been staying longer I might have mentioned it to staff.

The hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk from the metro station from which you can easily access the main sites of Paris. It took us about half an hour from Gar du Nord and most trips on the metro were shorter than this. It is much cheaper it is to stay outside the centre, and definitely worthwhile as we had no problems getting anywhere we wanted to go to. We bought a 10 trip metro ticket for about 13 euros which is great value and very convenient.

All in all this is a nice place to stay, clean and comfortable, quite well-located and I would both recommend and return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ren_SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

After reading previous reviews about this hotel we were a little concerned. Thankfully our concerns were ungrounded. We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. It is not posh but it is quirky. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and there was always somebody available. While not central there were 3 metro stations nearby so Paris was easily accessible. The hotel was extremely good value for money and I would recommend it

Room Tip: After reading the past revues we were a little concerned about the quality of this hotel. Our fears...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Took my 16 year old daughter to Paris for 3 nights, needed somewhere clean, safe, quiet, reasonably central and on a budget. Booked this hotel on Lastminute.com Secret Hotels deal not knowing which hotel we would get. When it came up with this hotel and I checked Tripadvisor I was slightly concerned about previous reviews however when we got there I was pleasantly surprised to find it fitted the bill nicely. On top of being clean, safe and quiet the room was a good size and the staff friendly. Having a mini fridge was great as we could buy drinks and food outside and keep them chilled, also had a safe in the room. The Metro is 5 mins away and there is a good selection of local shops, a few bars and a Lidl. Its not the centre of Paris nightlife but that's not what we wanted. We hardly used the Metro as just outside the hotel is a Velib cycle hire point and we just rode around, it is an easy ride to all the major attractions and a great way to get around Paris, cycled back one evening at 11:30pm, no problems. I would stay here again. I also liked the decor it was a bit different from your average hotel and the room was nice enough to spend time in relaxing in the evening.
The only things I would point out for those more picky people are (in our room): you could only turn the bedside lights off from the main switch by the door, the lighting wasn't great (bit too dim for me, no problem for 16 yr olds), the bathroom door didn't quite shut properly (more of a problem for my 16 year self conscious daughter) and it was tricky to have a shower without soaking the bathroom floor. Having said that it wouldn't stop me staying there again. For the price its not going to be 5* luxury but for £155 for 3 nights I thought it was very great value. Had a brilliant trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Santosh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sébastien D, Responsable relations clients at Villa Royale Montsouris, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It helps us always very much to know your feelings after having stayed in our Hotel.

I would like to inform a little bit more about us. I took over the management of the Villa Royale Montsouris 6 month ago. Until July 2013, this establishment wasn’t classified, and travel agencies had sold our property as a 4 stars hotel.

Therefore, this situation was critical. I decided to classify officially the Hotel, and we are now a very respectable 3 stars hotel. I am sure that you will prefer a good 3 stars hotel, than a poor 4 star hotel!

I understand that many of you are concerned about previous reviews. But I am now confident that you are all going to be pleasantly surprised.

I have also reinforced my team with a very nice and efficient Lady that impulse higher service at reception and Housekeeping.

Again, I would like to thanks all of you, leaving reviews on Tripadvisor. It will help me a lot to improve the service.

Eric Raffestin – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Fred Hotel
Fred Hotel
#227 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
#381 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#99 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
La Manufacture
La Manufacture
#260 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#238 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Terminus Orleans
#473 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Royale Montsouris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale Montsouris

Property: Villa Royale Montsouris
Address: 144 rue de la Tombe Issoire, 75014 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#71 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#207 Business Hotel in Paris
#412 Family Hotel in Paris
#516 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Royale Montsouris 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
How would you know, before actually entering the Villa Royale Montsouris, that you would be crossing the Mediterranean? The lobby, decorated in Andalusian-Moorish style, is a perfect representation of the charms of the Orient. Colonnades and vaulted ceilings, copper, zelliges and wrought iron make the hotel look like a traditional Moroccan riad. Combine the stories of One Thousand and One Nights with draperies, sheer curtains and precious fabrics and the rooms seem to jump straight of oriental palaces. The elements of the decor bring brightly-coloured touches to the place: the reds of the floor tiles and the ochres of the earthenware, the Majorelle blue of the doors, which, when closed, make Paris seem very far away. In this exotic and wonderful universe, the service provided by the attentive staff add a personal note to the unique charm of the establishment, located in a peaceful district of the Capital, near the Parc de Montsouris and the tram that’s a direct connection with the Porte de Versailles Convention and Exhibition Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Royale Montsouris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Montsouris Hotel Paris
Hotel Royal Montsouris
Royal Montsouris Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing