We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some room for improvements” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Royale Montsouris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Royale Montsouris
Ranked #378 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Beirut
Level Contributor
239 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Some room for improvements”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The location is very good, right after the bus dropped us from only airport, we walked a few meters and found our hotel. The hotel is very close to the metro and bus stations. The reception was very nice and friendly. Check in was quick too. Once we got to our room, I could sense a weird smell. I believe it is from the AC system. Who knows. The decoration of the room is Moroccan style. Not bad. The squeaky door of the bathroom is annoying though. The shower is annoying while taking a bath as all the water gets unto the floor since the bathroom is hard to maneuver around and the slot to hang on the shower handle is un strategically located on the wall. We had a nice small but descent tv although the remote control was not working properly. The bed is comfortable and the quality of sleep is good even though we had construction works on the street next to us but that didn't bother us at all. The breakfast was ok noting the price of 8.5 euros. Croissant, toast, eggs, jams, salami, cheese, juices.... Not bad for the price, you pay much more to get that outside. Overall The hotel is average, some works can b done as it shows that it's a bit outdated and old (flooring, furniture, broken shower handles...) plus we felt it is overpriced even for that level of hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xena1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric R, Gérant at Villa Royale Montsouris, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having given your point of view regarding our hotel.
All commentaries, either good or bad, help us to improve our service in the future. For this reason, we are taking very seriously your recommendation’s, and hope that we will be able to welcome you better, when travelling back to Paris.

Best Regards
Eric Raffestin
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    386
    94
    54
    55
See reviews for
85
328
62
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Constanta, Romania
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Villa Royale Montsouris on 144 Rue de la Tombe Issoire was our address for one week of this summer vacation. This Moroccan style hotel, different from everything we have tried so far, proved to be simply a great choice. Lots of warm colors, blue furniture, a romantic prison-like bathroom door with a small window cut in it and an old type lock bolt, and many other chic details make together an entire Arabic atmosphere that we loved from the very first second in the hotel.
There are modern details of course that made our accommodation a cozy intimate one, suiting everyone’s taste: air conditioning (careful, it has an auto-switch if you open the window or the entrance door!), mini-bar, a good breakfast if you choose to pay the price (8.50 euros per day).

The internet access, unfortunately, was a nuissance, as it was restricted to basic sites as you are in China or Saudi Arabia for example, and thus you have to stay in the lobby if you need good internet signal or to connect via VPN for business purposes. The good think is that the reception staff was truly adorable and they kindly helped us to get another connection (a network called "free wifi" with a password) which was good and stable and let us do our job and navigate freely.

Another downside I should mention is something that other customers also wrote about: prices of the mini-bar products are too high, although there are ordinary drinks which you can buy at a fraction of the price from any corner shop. Otherwise none of the minibar items are personalized, in different shape or content to make you feel paying for an extra fanciness. Thus potential clients are discouraged to buy and this is a situation nobody benefits and that can be easily adjusted.

A strength of Hotel Villa Royale Montsouris is its location, even if not situated in the very heart of the city. But it is near a green oasis (Park Montsouris) and close to the bus and underground station. There are a few important attractions in a walking distance, such as the Catacombs (the famous ossuaries of Paris) and Montparnasse Tower, offering spectacular views of the whole city from the observation deck and terrace.

I need to end this review mentioning the staff of the hotel, friendly and helpful at all times (desk is manned 24 hours a day), making the difference between a good place to stay and a homey-like one. Another out of the ordinary thing regards the housekeeping: impeccable, made on a daily basis, regardless the time (there were days when we left the hotel late in the afternoon). Good-quality towels were changed daily, which is a nice surprise comparing with the so-called environmentally friendly policies of other hotels, claiming superior status.

Original decorations in addition to a good location, friendly staff, good breakfast to start your day with, excellent services, all have worked together to create a quality time and a fine vacation.

N.B. For the choosy and demanding tourists it is good to know the peculiarities of the hotel before booking there, so they would know what to expect. I saw reviews with unhappy people because of the size of rooms, etc., but this is common in Paris and is also written in the presentation of the hotel. This is a theme hotel which needs to be appreciated for what it is – a special kind for open minded, appreciative tourists in search for new experiences.

Room Tip: If you'd lik a spacious room make sure you equest from the hotel. There are three sizes of rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Royale Montsouris, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Adrian,

We thank you very much for leaving a review on TripAdvisor. We always welcome feedback and all the team are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our property !

We hope we can be part of you future travel plans.

With our best regards,

The Villa Royale Montsouris *** Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I booked this hotel at last moment of my travel. The atmosphere and the facilities are very nice and the hotel was very clean and tidy including my room. Specially the room was very cosy and lively.
The reception staffs are very friendly and help all time where ever i need. . . ..

Furthermore the hotel location wasn't far from the city and train link. So as it was my first trip to pairs was nice because of the commutation was difficult.

Overall my review is i will definitely book in future and highly recommend for others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smayazahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Royale Montsouris, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor !

It is a real pleasure to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for recommend the Villa Royale Montsouris to others travellers.

We look forward to welcoming you back as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

The Villa Royale Montsouris *** Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed in the hotel at the end of July and during that time the air conditioning wasn't working, no sleep at all, it was extremely hot and uncomfortable.

The staff seemed more interested in their ipods than the customers and we received very little acknowledgement. Definitely not the service we expected for what we paid.

We went for the "deluxe" room which looked nice but was far too small with a small bed, the street was noisy and the room was too hot.

Location wasn't great, out of the way from anything and noisy street.

The worst about this stay was that we were not given a price list for the "mini bar" aka small fridge in room, being 18- 19 years of age we weren't expecting them to be 5 times more expensive than they would actually cost anywhere else. DO NOT touch the god damn mini bar. When we complained we received a rude response and the promise to get a visit from the manager the next morning, who obviously wasn't there. Fantastic!

The room safe was hazardous, it was balancing on a broken shelf and was very inconvenient as well as inefficient, it wasn't fixed to anything and easy to walk away with.

Not having a shower curtain was annoying, It was uncomfortable to have to stay in a certain position to avoid spraying water all over the bathroom and on your towels.

connie_01x@hotmail.com

Overall, we will definitely not be coming back to this hotel and we would recommend people to stay away. Not worth the money!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie_016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Royale Montsouris, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Connie,

Thank you for your comments posted on TripAdvisor. We regret that your stay was not has great as you expected.

As Hotel Manager, I had been informed that you were surprised to have to pay for the minibar. But we remind you that the prices of the minibar are displayed at the reception desk, and been given personally to you on check in. (I found in your room the paper we gave to you) So, there is no surprise, that we ask you to pay for the minibar. Also, prices for drinks in the minibar are the same everywhere. I also worked many years in London, and insure to you that 3€ for a bottle is not that expensive.

Unfortunately, we understand that the principal reason for getting a bad review on the hotel, is regarding the minibar, for which we insisted you to pay. My staff as only done is job properly, and we regret all consequences that a bad review can have on the reputation of an hotel when it is not justified.

However, it seems that you had experienced some other problem, and we would like to respond to them :

- Air-conditioning: We have tested it, and it worked properly. We do not understand your comment. But if you open your window, the system is shut down automatically. We also recognize that it was extremely hot last week in Paris, up to 35°C.
- Room price: We think that if you have chosen our Hotel, it is because you had found the best promotion with our property. As you told us that you had no money to pay the minibar, we presume that you were also looking for the cheapest Hotel.
- Location: Our Street is usually very quiet, but it is true, there are some works going on in the street for the moment. It could explain the noise. However, our hotel is 20 minutes away from the city centre, and you have access in 5 minutes to all transportations, as metro, bus, direct train to Eurostar terminal and Airport. Also, there is a location map for our hotel on all our websites, and there is no surprise about our location.
- Safe and Shower: We thank you for your point of view that will help us to improve these services.

We thank you very much for your attention.

Eric Raffestin - The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel looked more to me like a motel rather than a hotel. I think you shouldn't pay more than 30 Euros per night to stay there. The air condition was running in a fan mode, does not cool, spreads bad smell, the bathroom tub doesn't have any curtain so the bathroom gets all sprayed with water when showering.
The tub and bathroom sink don't drain water well and you find yourself in a pool of water.
The room overall is very small, badly lit. The room safe wasn't well fixed so someone can just grab the whole safe and get away with it.
Our room was directly facing the street lights. They were about a couple of meters away from the room window. You need to keep the window curtains very well closed, otherwise the street light will blind you.
The bed mattress is hard, the bathroom door doesn't close well, is noisy and the closet looked more like a chicken's coop.
I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMcmillanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Royale Montsouris, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear John,

Thank you very much for having explained to us why you did not liked our hotel. It is very important to us to know your feelings, in order to improve our service in the future.

First of all, please accept our apologies. We understand that our Moroccan style hotel did not correspond to the standards you expected.

We remind you anyway that our Hotel is classified as a 3 star hotel, up to the standards of the European Tourism Board. Our services’ correspond fully to our classification, and we can’t be considered as a motel. Also, we do not understand why you have given us on Booking.com a value of 5/10, and on TripAdvisor, a value of 1/5. Maybe is our service not as poor as described. For example, you have given us a good review for our breakfast and location on Booking.com.

Anywhere, after having read carefully your comments, it seems that there are some thinks that we are able to improve in the future. First of all, please note that we are currently renovating our Air Conditioning system, because it is too wick in some rooms, when outside temperatures are very high, as last week, with more than 35°C outside. Also, I have checked with my maintenance staff in order to secure the safes in the room. Again, we would like to insure you that all of your comments are important to us, and are discussed with the responsible persons in our Hotel.

Finally, we would like to remind you that that we offer two kind of rooms, standard and superior. The smallest rooms are 14m2 and the biggest 22m2.

Best Regards,

Eric Raffestin – The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
196 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

First the staff was very kind and nice to hold our luggage since we got there early and we weren't leaving until later on the day of departure. It is somewhat near metro stations (Port oLeans and CiteUniversite) and bus stops. We found people were glad to help with directions if needed. Our room was VERY small (9x10 maybe with a King sized bed, night stand, desk and standing closet). My iPad I didn't fit into the safe. The tub was so high it was difficult to step out of and there was no shower curtain so it was hard to shower without getting the mini-bathroom wet. There were no tissues or cups in the room the first night. The next day are cleaning they removed our room soap and left none, but left us a wrapped plastic cup. None of the outlets would work unless a light switch was on so it was I possible to recharge batteries at night. There was no a/c so we had the windows open and heard everyone get off the bus and have their conversations throughout the night. There was a family with two rooms within our area so we were able to hear them knock to each other on the doors and talk. The breakfast had a good selection and the woman serving it was very kind. I don't know...maybe just too much in a small space that comfort is gone.

Room Tip: Not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitravelingteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Royale Montsouris, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken a little bit of your time to tell us your feelings after your stay. We are glad that our staff was kind to you, and that you have appreciated the service given from them.

However, we know that the standard Parisian size for hotel rooms makes often American guests unsatisfied. The package you have booked was for a standard room. But we inform you that we have much bigger rooms, up to 20 m2 size. We recommend therefore to book superior rooms.

Regarding our AC, we have Air Conditioning in all the rooms. We are actually renovating all our AC system to make it more efficient. Anyway, there were AC in your room, but it was last week also unusually hot outside. Also, the AC is automatically turned off when opening a window in your room.

We are sorry that you were not satisfied of the service in your room. I have checked with the housekeeper, to see how to be more efficient. Regarding Electricity, there is a general switch in your room, but you do not need to cut off all the electricity during the night. We would have shown you if you told us your problem.

We hope to be able to improve our service, and we thank you very much again for your comments, indeed they helps us to welcome you better the next time.

Best Regards,

Eric Raffestin - Manager of the Villa Royale Montsouris ***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lannion, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is very conveniently located at 10 minutes walking distance of "Porte d'Orléans" metro station. The neighborhood is nice and quiet at night. "Alesia" metro station is also easy to reach by foot, so you can access many shops, including a supermarket.
The staff was very friendly. It took barely five minutes to get my key with online reservation.

The rooms use traditional metal keys, attached to a very heavy key holder. You have to give the key at reception every time you leave the room. Some will appreciate this old style system. I really prefer key cards I can keep with me and being able to get in and out without asking anybody.

My room was very small (I could only walk around the bed) but this is the standard in Paris so I did not surprise me. The bed was big and comfy. The oriental style decoration has been pushed quite far. This is mostly a question of personal taste, but I found it original and pleasant. Everything was very clean and shiny. This is something I really appreciate.

The bathroom was clean and functional, and well equipped in soap and towels. There was no toothbrush kit, only a nail file.

Breakfast was correct, with a decent choice. Croissants were average, probably not fresh, which is always disappointing in a French hotel. Bread was good, probably fresh.
The breakfast area is small with only a few tables so I guess you can have to wait if the hotel is full.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C00lH4nds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Royale Montsouris, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. It is important for us to receive the feedback of our guests, in order to improve the quality of our service.

Please let us give some explanations regarding what you have written about our hotel :

Regarding our room keys, it is true that more and more hotels are now equipped with electronic Keys. But this system was very expensive 15 years ago at the opening of our hotel. But for sure, we will during our future renovations use these new systems, more convenient for our guests. Also, we ask to leave the key every time at reception in order not to lose them, and to know who’s in or not.

Thank you for your room description. We are glad to know that you liked it. However, we let you know that we have also superior rooms up to 22 m2.

Finally, regarding our breakfast, all our bread and croissants choice is fresh from the baker, cooked during the night. We are sorry that you found it not has you like. We are going to speak with our baker to see what is possible to do about it.

We hope to see you again in our Oriental Hotel, the Villa Royale Montsouris.

Best Regards,

Eric Raffestin – The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Fred Hotel
Fred Hotel
#230 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Gobelins
La Manufacture
La Manufacture
#258 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#97 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terminus Orleans
#334 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
#382 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Villa Modigliani
Hotel Villa Modigliani
#834 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Royale Montsouris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale Montsouris

Property: Villa Royale Montsouris
Address: 144 rue de la Tombe Issoire, 75014 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#95 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#207 Business Hotel in Paris
#412 Family Hotel in Paris
#516 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Royale Montsouris 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
How would you know, before actually entering the Villa Royale Montsouris, that you would be crossing the Mediterranean? The lobby, decorated in Andalusian-Moorish style, is a perfect representation of the charms of the Orient. Colonnades and vaulted ceilings, copper, zelliges and wrought iron make the hotel look like a traditional Moroccan riad. Combine the stories of One Thousand and One Nights with draperies, sheer curtains and precious fabrics and the rooms seem to jump straight of oriental palaces. The elements of the decor bring brightly-coloured touches to the place: the reds of the floor tiles and the ochres of the earthenware, the Majorelle blue of the doors, which, when closed, make Paris seem very far away. In this exotic and wonderful universe, the service provided by the attentive staff add a personal note to the unique charm of the establishment, located in a peaceful district of the Capital, near the Parc de Montsouris and the tram that’s a direct connection with the Porte de Versailles Convention and Exhibition Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Villa Royale Montsouris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Montsouris Hotel Paris
Hotel Royal Montsouris
Royal Montsouris Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing