We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we expected”
Review of Metropol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metropol Hotel
Ranked #1,404 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

When we booked this hotel we were going to be gone 3 weeks in Europe, so cost did play a factor in this room. It was close to train station, that we were going to be leaving from. I asked for two non smoking rooms. When we got to our room it reeked of smoke in the old tattered drapes and sheers. They tried to cover up the smell with plug ins, but it did not work. The carpet was very stained and outdated as was the thread bare covers. The bathroom in one of our rooms was ok, but in the other room no shelf above sink, just the brackets were there, and the hair dryer was taped all up and we even got shocked. They did give us another hair dryer to use. This is a very dirty place and the staff was so-so, almost rude. It sure could use an update in all the rooms. They did have a lift for 2 people and luggage. Bottom line would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors, so you do not hear so much street noise, and it will help the air c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank staandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    79
    96
    40
    46
See reviews for
47
103
40
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gb
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

only stayed one night thank god have to agree with all juan c wrote on this hotel clean is an understatement after reading the reviews on it i thought hey i will give it a try, make up my own mind on it. and yes i did see the mites crawling in the sheets in the morning when i got up checked it over though before i got in it the night before could not see anything then.my advise to anyone would be to stay well clear .the only positive thing was that it was near to nord station which was why we booked it . and yes we did tell the reception in the morning exactly what we thought of it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank streamline16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The worst hotel experience in my life I stay in June 15 2014 and I have 37 bed bugs bites, TERRIBLE, that place is a mess, dirty, rude staff, un healthy, the breakfast is disappointing. Seriously DO NOT STAY THERE, DO NOT BELIEVE THE PICTURES, THE WHOLE PLACE IS JUST FALLING APART.

Room Tip: No good rooms at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Juan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed at the Metropol recently and I was neither overly impressed or let down, it was exactly what I expected from a 3 star hotel in Paris! Nothing special, just what you need, a comfortable bed and a clean room with a good size bathroom.

Don't book this hotel and expect luxury, its certainly not that! It was perfect for my one night stay with my friend, we weren't hardly in the hotel anyway.

The breakfast was nothing special, very basic with fresh croissants, baguettes and cereal. Some hot food was provided but it was finished by the time we got there.

I recommend this stay for all those who are looking for something very basic and not expensive in Paris. Also if you are arriving via the Eurostar from London, it is VERY convenient as its right next to the station. 3 minutes walk. The area however is not the best in Paris but has great connections with the metro.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top level, they have balconys which is nice if you want to step outside for so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikkipie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sesser, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Bed was terrible, morning staff was very impolite, very small dirty rooms, will not repeat stay. I have stayed in Paris several times and this hotel was the worse. apparently they do not understand the concept of a double room. the curtains were torn and difficult to close. the only advantage was the location but too many disadvantages to make up for the rest.

Room Tip: there are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiNillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

It was our first trip to Paris and we wanted a place easily reachable after getting off the airport express train.

Metropol fitted just right as it is just about 5 - 10 minutes walk from Gare du Nord. Being so near to Gare du Nord made it easy for us to reach the rest of the city on the metro.

We reached around 10am but the hotel manager was really accommodating to let us check in to our rooms. There's elevator but it's a really compact one. It could only fit one person and a big luggage at any one time. So it took us some time to go to the rooms.

One odd thing was the hallway to our rooms was really dark and there wasn't lighting nor window. Not a big issue though.

The double room is really compact and there isn't any floor space wide enough for us to open our luggage. On contrary, the triple room is spacious though. Overall, the rooms were clean and as per the photo shown on booking.com.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherynng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I've stayed in Paris a few times over the years, and came to the conclusion a while ago that, when staying in Paris, the average traveller on an average budget is unlikely to find a hotel with rooms big enough to swing the proverbial cat in. On this occasion I was proved wrong. We chose his hotel simply because my wife's family was staying in a hotel close to Gare du Nord, and we wanted be as close as possible (if not in the same hotel) and with a room for 3 people. The choice was limited unless we wanted to spend over £600 for 1 night, and as this one was literally across the road from the one her sister had booked, and was priced on booking.com at 75 Euros per night for a triple room, I booked it. On that basis I can only comment on a triple room, but it was very spacious, comfortable, and exactly as shown in the photos. The bathroom was nice enough too. The window wouldn't close properly but the room faced the back (as do all the triple rooms) so there wasn't any street noise. I also noticed on the inside of the room door the daily rate showed 170 Euros, but i'm not sure what that represents. The radiator wasn't on but the room wasn't especially cold. It's rated as a 3-star hotel, but I think the rating system in Paris these days is a tad... "impressionistic", and shouldn't be taken literally. We didn't have the breakfast so can't comment on it. The lift/elevator is tiny, as they are in many small/boutique Parisian hotel. The receptionist was friendly and helpful and informed me of the special parking rate they had arranged at the nearest car park (15 Euros per day).

All in all we didn't expect luxury and certainly didn't pay for it (or have the budget for it), but based on past experiences I was pleasantly surprised and would recommend this hotel as a convenient and affordable base from which to explore France's capital. My wife's family saw our room and will be booking this hotel on their upcoming return.

Room Tip: We stayed in a triple room, but it was very spacious and not much more than a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Balvennie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
#1,271 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Entrepôt
Maison du Pre
Maison du Pre
#1,283 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Cambrai a Paris
Hotel Cambrai a Paris
#1,575 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avalon Hotel Paris
#755 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#498 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Maubeuge Gare Du Nord
Hotel Maubeuge Gare Du Nord
#1,585 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel

Property: Metropol Hotel
Address: 98 rue de Maubeuge, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Entrepôt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,404 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing