We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”
Review of Metropol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropol Hotel
Ranked #1,562 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 days. Chose this place becasue of the cost. The room looked run down, tatered curtains and the bedspread was stained and even though the pictures said it was a double bed we ended up with twin beds pushed together. There was no safe or a place to leave luggage before checking in room. Did not have breakfast there since it was cheaper to eat at the cafe down the street.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank plorina59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

When we booked this hotel we were going to be gone 3 weeks in Europe, so cost did play a factor in this room. It was close to train station, that we were going to be leaving from. I asked for two non smoking rooms. When we got to our room it reeked of smoke in the old tattered drapes and sheers. They tried to cover up the smell with plug ins, but it did not work. The carpet was very stained and outdated as was the thread bare covers. The bathroom in one of our rooms was ok, but in the other room no shelf above sink, just the brackets were there, and the hair dryer was taped all up and we even got shocked. They did give us another hair dryer to use. This is a very dirty place and the staff was so-so, almost rude. It sure could use an update in all the rooms. They did have a lift for 2 people and luggage. Bottom line would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors, so you do not hear so much street noise, and it will help the air c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank staandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

only stayed one night thank god have to agree with all juan c wrote on this hotel clean is an understatement after reading the reviews on it i thought hey i will give it a try, make up my own mind on it. and yes i did see the mites crawling in the sheets in the morning when i got up checked it over though before i got in it the night before could not see anything then.my advise to anyone would be to stay well clear .the only positive thing was that it was near to nord station which was why we booked it . and yes we did tell the reception in the morning exactly what we thought of it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank streamline16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The worst hotel experience in my life I stay in June 15 2014 and I have 37 bed bugs bites, TERRIBLE, that place is a mess, dirty, rude staff, un healthy, the breakfast is disappointing. Seriously DO NOT STAY THERE, DO NOT BELIEVE THE PICTURES, THE WHOLE PLACE IS JUST FALLING APART.

Room Tip: No good rooms at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Juan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed at the Metropol recently and I was neither overly impressed or let down, it was exactly what I expected from a 3 star hotel in Paris! Nothing special, just what you need, a comfortable bed and a clean room with a good size bathroom.

Don't book this hotel and expect luxury, its certainly not that! It was perfect for my one night stay with my friend, we weren't hardly in the hotel anyway.

The breakfast was nothing special, very basic with fresh croissants, baguettes and cereal. Some hot food was provided but it was finished by the time we got there.

I recommend this stay for all those who are looking for something very basic and not expensive in Paris. Also if you are arriving via the Eurostar from London, it is VERY convenient as its right next to the station. 3 minutes walk. The area however is not the best in Paris but has great connections with the metro.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top level, they have balconys which is nice if you want to step outside for so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikkipie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Bed was terrible, morning staff was very impolite, very small dirty rooms, will not repeat stay. I have stayed in Paris several times and this hotel was the worse. apparently they do not understand the concept of a double room. the curtains were torn and difficult to close. the only advantage was the location but too many disadvantages to make up for the rest.

Room Tip: there are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiNillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

It was our first trip to Paris and we wanted a place easily reachable after getting off the airport express train.

Metropol fitted just right as it is just about 5 - 10 minutes walk from Gare du Nord. Being so near to Gare du Nord made it easy for us to reach the rest of the city on the metro.

We reached around 10am but the hotel manager was really accommodating to let us check in to our rooms. There's elevator but it's a really compact one. It could only fit one person and a big luggage at any one time. So it took us some time to go to the rooms.

One odd thing was the hallway to our rooms was really dark and there wasn't lighting nor window. Not a big issue though.

The double room is really compact and there isn't any floor space wide enough for us to open our luggage. On contrary, the triple room is spacious though. Overall, the rooms were clean and as per the photo shown on booking.com.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherynng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Avalon Hotel Paris
#861 of 1,803 in Paris
974 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Maubeuge Gare Du Nord
Hotel Maubeuge Gare Du Nord
#1,626 of 1,803 in Paris
313 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Cambrai a Paris
Hotel Cambrai a Paris
#1,571 of 1,803 in Paris
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Entrepôt
Maison du Pre
Maison du Pre
#1,312 of 1,803 in Paris
158 reviews
Hotel Rocroy
#712 of 1,803 in Paris
457 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#1,446 of 1,803 in Paris
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel

Address: 98 rue de Maubeuge, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Entrepôt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,562 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £49 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Metropol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing