We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretty little hotel in the beautiful Latin Quarter”
Review of Port-Royal Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Port-Royal Hotel
Ranked #1,158 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A pretty little hotel in the beautiful Latin Quarter”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a family of four in June. The rooms are quite small, yet we didn't spend much time in our rooms so this wasn't a problem. The staff members we encountered were polite, kind and helpful; however the breakfast was only adequate. This hotel is situated about 1/2 hour from Notre Dame cathedral and the rest of the city centre; we quite enjoyed the walk yet some might consider the location inconvenient. The Latin Quarter is a beautiful area with a lively, authentic atmosphere. To experience the Latin Q. was worth the extra walking time, in my opinion.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Katyusha_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    130
    41
    13
    17
See reviews for
36
118
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is in a great part of town, beautiful and calm. I was pleasantly surprised by how close it was to the metro and how lovely the neighborhood was. The front desk staff was very helpful with all of my needs - late arrival and a very early departure. Communication via email to set up reservations was quick and very clear. I stayed in the smallest room and it was very tiny, but as I was just there to sleep, it was not too much of a problem. The room over the courtyard was quiet but a bit warm as I didn't get much of a breeze. For the shared shower, I did have to wait, but was happy with the level of cleanliness in the shared shower as well as toilets. The hotel is also a short walk from the Noctilien bus with service to Orly airport. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed here for a week and a half in Sept of 2013. While their reservation system is a bit antiquated, involving bank transfers or similar method, once that was accomplished they were able to adjust to the quirks of my stay: arrival night adjustments, two different friends staying as roommates consecutively. The room was very clean, something that made one of my friends very happy. It is family owned, with Grandpa setting the standards for cleanliness. For budget travelers who don't require the amenities that business travelers do this was a great find. Some of the staff were friendlier that others, but during my stay even the "crankier" individual warmed up to us, all it took was a few earnest attempts to use some of my high school French. I would definitely stay here again, it was safe, clean, pleasant and the kind of budget option I like.

Room Tip: If you value quiet ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

In a country where everything costs an arm and a leg this Hotel is brilliant. 93 Euros for a twin room with bath. Clean easy to find 1 minute from Metro Les Gobelins. What a fabulous area. Restaurants and shopping abound. Lovely people, makes your stay so much better. Great breakfast for 8 Euros.

Room Tip: Rooms with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michaela230000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ingereich@sympatico.ca
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I just stayed here for 3 nights with my teenaged daughter. We were looking for a safe location, walking distance to some interesting areas, and at a reasonable price. This hotel was perfect! Our room was VERY small with a double bed (had requested 2 twins...), a sink, small table and chair and a huge window. Perfect if you are not planning on spending much time in the room (we weren't). We opted for the "shared" shower and toilet (separate rooms) to save money. They were spotless and always available. The lobby area is inviting and has 2 separate areas to sit and relax. The staff was polite and helpful, but Thierry was especially friendly. It is across the street from the "Les Gobelins" metro station so very easy to get around. Also, walking distance to the RER (Port Royal station) that goes directly to the airport. We were able to walk to Notre Dame and the Louvre from the hotel. Also, right by Rue Mouffetard with tons of cafes, restaurants and little shops. Across the street is a small grocery store and a bakery. I reserved our room by e-mail from Canada, confirmed 15 days before arriving and again 2 days before arriving. Our room was ready for us upon arrival. No deposit necessary, no hassle, and every e-mail was responded to quickly, politely and on point.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the courtyard and it was quiet. We shared a bath to save money and I would reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank igr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I am an American college student studying abroad in Lyon, France and stayed at this hotel over three nights while visiting friends in Paris. I booked a single room with "lavabo" (i.e. a sink); the toilet and showers were communal. The staff was very friendly and the 49 euro/night rate was very good for Paris. While my room was tiny as could be, the window let out on a very quiet, small courtyard which meant I was able to open my window at night without being disturbed by street noise (I could not here anything from the street save the occasional ambulance siren).

Two things to point out quickly:
1) Showers are 2.50 euros for 5 minutes which is a bit ridiculous
2) They do NOT accept credit or debit cards as methods of payment

For my needs as a young traveler staying here alone, the single room was perfect. Yes, it was dated and cramped, but I got a good nights sleep regardless. The room and bathroom were both spotlessly clean. Stay here for a good deal!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the interior courtyard. Some single rooms are larger than others, so ask ahead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I have written many many reviews and I am very well traveled, however, dealing with this hotel is very difficult and expensive process, this is not a review but some advice for the traveler especially if you are coming from the United States that other reviews fail to mention.
1. The management of the hotel seems to have a problem reading your emails, regardless of your request you will get a standard email response.
2. If you are persistent and get management to respond, be aware that the only way to insure a reservation is a bank wire transfer or mailing a money order, the bank wire transfer is a VERY expensive process that a US bank will charge $50-75 per transaction, in addition to your bank wire fees you will also be changed the hotel transaction wire fee costs which are 14 euros these fees are before even paying for the room.
3.The hotel DOES not accept CC nor do they accept paypal.
I just wanted to insure that fellow travelers are aware.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Cruisinbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunny
Hotel Sunny
#1,274 of 1,800 in Paris
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Garance
Hotel Garance
#1,181 of 1,800 in Paris
131 reviews
3.0 mi away
Campanile Paris 15 - Tour Eiffel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris
Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris
#966 of 1,800 in Paris
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Henriette
Hotel Henriette
#97 of 1,800 in Paris
593 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pierre Nicole
Hotel Pierre Nicole
#989 of 1,800 in Paris
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port-Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port-Royal Hotel

Property: Port-Royal Hotel
Address: 8 boulevard de Port Royal, 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Port Royal Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing