We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for the price”
Review of Hotel Des Canettes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Des Canettes
Ranked #1,667 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 15 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights. For us, it was totally worth it. When we are on vacation, we spend very little time in the hotel room (other to sleep). The room was very small, and hotel basic, but we spent all of our time exploring Paris, so it wasn't a big deal. The noise was not bad for us (request a high room and bring ear plugs.. how much silence do you expect, you are in the middle of a major city!) It was convenient being so close to the metro, and there were a lot of resturant options walking distance away

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dem068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

The rooms are really tiny and the noise level is definitely not good for light sleepers. Though the metro stations are near, but it is still away from major attractions.

Bathroom is so tiny, you can only wash 1 leg at a time. ;p. Didn't get the breakfast but many options for breakfast in the surrounding restaurants.

Thank Zoocar9
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 November 2012

If you've stayed in European hotel rooms, then this hotel will be as expected. No frills but a good price (101euros for a single), clean, safe and great location. I booked based on reviews on tripadvisor, dreading the noise as other reviewers had stated. I had an interior room and there was one night where I could hear distant thumping music but I closed my window and it was fine. The staff was a bit curt at check-in but I don't expect overly enthusiastic (and sometimes fake) greetings so this was fine. At check-out, they did offer to call a car service for the airport, which was about the same price as a taxi but nicer. He was there in less than 10 minutes. Overall, fine place to stay and there are probably others similar to it.

I will say this is the first time I had stayed in the Saint Germain des Pres area of Paris and I would definitely stay in the area again. It felt away from the crowds, but within easy walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy-c-atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

This hotel certainly was no frills. Easy to locate after getting off the metro at Saint Germaine des Pres, we had to drag our luggage up a flight of stairs to reception (thankfully there is a lift from there to the 5 floors).
Customer service was perfunctory and short (despite attempts to smile and greet).
The room was adequate size to open luggage and bed had clean sheets. Lighting was terrible however giving yellow paint a drab glow and making you feel like you're in a cheesy motel. Thankfully we were in Paris to sight see instead of hanging out in a room.
Bathroom was very clean but shower so tiny even as a slender personI could barely turn around!
Stay was ok, would recommend if you only intend to sleep and store luggage.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinxC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Well, let me start by saying that the hotel is a great choice for someone looking to spend little money and wanting to stay right next to a busy bar! This hotel is in the heart of Saint German, the rooms are small (like everywhere in paris), the bathroom is tiny but the shower is good. The hotel is right next to a bar, so if you're 18-40 you'll be ok, but if you're older than that, i would recommend searching for a hotel in another street, because it gets really loud until 2 am.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivi_rojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Don't expect frills and fuss at Hotel Des Canettes. That said, why would you want to spend time in the hotel on a trip to Paris? Centrally located in Paris' trendy Saint-Germain-des-Prés district, Hotel Des Canettes is just a few minutes walk from the Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Mabillon Metro line. Before I went to this hotel, I'd read reviews of the noise that comes from the street below (there's an Irish style pub locate directly opposite the entrance to the hotel), however I didn't find this problematic during my 2 night stay but this was probably because our room was higher up on the 5th floor. Room are small and pokey but comfortable and clean. Equipped with adequate storage space (built in cupboards), TV, bathroom with complimentary shower gel & shampoo. This hotel is perfect if you want to experience central Paris on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I had consulted Tripadvisor.com before booking this hotel. I had read the reviews mentioning the bar across the street from the hotel and the noise. I wish I took those comments more seriously because noise became quite a problem during our five nights at Hotel Des Canettes. Three out of five nights I had trouble sleeping. The first night there was screaming, banging, and partying both inside and outside the hotel. It was a Saturday night and the bar and street were filled with people until 4AM creating disruptive noise. Some of those noise makers went from the street into the hotel (I presume they were staying there also) making it painfully hard to sleep. The other nights were not as bad, yet I could still hear people singing and yelling most nights.

Other than the noise we really liked the hotel and the staff. They were helpful, nice, and tried their best with the language difference. The rooms were suitable for us as budget travels. Rooms were clean, had a tv, and there was enough room to move around. I'm very disappointed that the noise was such a problem since everything else worked out nicely.

The hotel is in a great area (aside from the nearby bar), plenty of shopping, places to eat, and access to the metro.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbee98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
#1,022 of 1,803 in Paris
364 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Atlantis Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Tonic Hotel Saint Germain
Tonic Hotel Saint Germain
#999 of 1,803 in Paris
122 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
#909 of 1,803 in Paris
421 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Stanislas
Hotel Stanislas
#1,673 of 1,803 in Paris
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Canettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Canettes

Address: 17 rue des Canettes | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,667 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £62 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Des Canettes 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel des Canettes is located on rue des Canettes, just opposite the prestigious private residence whose name and history reverberate in the street today.The hotel lies within a picturesque area of Paris where restaurants, boutiques, cinemas and entertainment abound : there is everything you need for a perfect vacation !Two steps from Saint-Germain des Prés : the historic heart of old Paris, the Paris of artists, writers, poets and musicians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Des Canettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing