We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good central base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai
Ranked #963 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This small hotel is tucked away behind the Rue de Rivoli in a quiet street within easy walking distance of a number of Metro stations, the River and Notre Dam.
The room we had was small but adequte, the bed was comfortable and clean. There was little hanging space but we coped.
There are pleny of bars and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

The location is the best part about this hotel - you really can't beat it . Such a close walk to St Paul and amazing boutique and cafes around it. Right in the heart of vintage shopping in Paris but no air con or fans.

Five mins walk to Notre Dame, we also walked to the Louve and along the River Seine. Just beautiful!

The rooms are very very simple. If you're looking for somewhere to relax this isn't the place - rooms on the street are very loud. We were so jet lagged we slept through most of it - but it's great to have a little balcony you can open as there was no air conditioning. Don't know how anyone survives in the heat of Summer with no fan or air con.

No fridge or coffee etc in room, bathroom is so small can hardly fit one person. Wouldn't want to be overweight staying here!

Staff are not overly friendly or helpful. Don't even think about checking in early! But if you're after location you can't beat it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToscaSalomeLouis25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We spend there 5 nights during the winter. The rooms are basic, no doubt, but they were very clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful and very easy to communicate with. Wi-Fi was pretty good and although it had additional fee, it was quite cheap and worked fine in the rooms and lobby. The most amazing thing about this hotel is of course its unbeatable location. The neighborhood itself is young and vibrant and th hotel is 5 minutes away (by foot) from The Notre-Damm church. 2 Metro stations are very close by, as well as many excellent restaurants, cafes and bars. I highly recommend it and would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the lower floor, since the elevator is busy and sometimes doesn't work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plasmodium1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel in late March 2014 and we were satisfied. The rooms were reno'd and clean. You might even say comfy.

The location is obviously the selling feature here. It is in the ideal spot for Paris.

You don't find cheap anywhere in Paris unless it is unfit for humans and for $160CAD taxes in a night this was great.

I would recommend to anyone who isn't going to cry about outside noise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSpence79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hotel is in a great location for all the main tourist areas of Paris, very close to the Metro, Notre Dame and the Louvre. I was travelling with my teenage daughter and we particularly liked the traditional French cafes and wealth of independent shops that are right on the door step. We received a very courteous welcome and the breakfast was really good value. Our room was at the back of the hotel which was very quiet, we didn't hear any noise from the internal courtyard. The hotel is situated in an old building of typical Paris architecture which was part of its charm. We would recommend this hotel if you want to feel that you have stayed right in the heart of it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie293734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The location of this hotel is perfectly situated in the Marais for visiting the Notre Dame, Hotel de Ville and the St Louis island? Lots of bars and bistros close by and some lovely individual shops to browse. Metro connections to all of the Paris sites are easily found from St Paul metro station a mere qtr mile from the hotel. The hotel itself was very clean and the staff very welcoming. The room was perfectly adequate and good value for a Paris centre hotel. But sadly all ruined by the noisy neighbours. The hotel did try to find who the culprits were that we're banging doors bins and bottles till the early hours and again clattering waste bins as early as 4am but with no success. It seems that the rear courtyard that one would expect to be the quieter option from the street is to be avoided. So we would say ok use the hotel but make sure you get a room at the front

Room Tip: As already stated a room at the front and high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Very good location in Marais walk to most points if note
Clean hotel no frills good shower
Very very cramped you can hear about every other room conversation and.....
As long as you base yourself here and spend the whole day out exploring paris - excellent
Just about right for what You pay

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank thesensuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Grand Hotel du Loiret
Grand Hotel du Loiret
#1,092 of 1,804 in Paris
239 reviews
Le Marais
Vieux Marais
Vieux Marais
#1,354 of 1,804 in Paris
170 reviews
Le Marais
D'win Hotel
D'win Hotel
#1,026 of 1,804 in Paris
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
France Louvre
France Louvre
#1,463 of 1,804 in Paris
282 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Paris Rivoli
Hotel Paris Rivoli
#688 of 1,804 in Paris
470 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
#318 of 1,804 in Paris
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai

Address: 31 rue du Roi de Sicile, 75004 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #963 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £96 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Compostelle Marai
Le Compostelle Le Marais
Le Compostelle Marai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing