We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parisian Charm hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Ranked #328 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Parisian Charm hotel”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

My 3rd time to Paris. Area was great. Close to a metro but the stop took multiple transfers for anywhere we were trying to get to. We did not do their breakfast--- bfast was overpriced and the hotel is located near to plenty of boulangeries ( including one of these ones http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g187147-d1153247-Reviews-Eric_Kayser-Paris_Ile_de_France.html) . We could simply stop in on our way to the metro and get a couple croissants and pain au chocolats.
Decor was cheesy but that was one of the reason's I chose it. Room was a decent size for Paris ( we stayed in a Superior Double). Bed was HUGE and I thought it took up way too much room.
Bathroom was very modern--shower small.
I requested a balcony and they did give us one that did not look onto anything particular but just the cute Parisian streets below.
Price is what to be expected for what you get. Not a budget place but we were only staying in Paris for a couple of nights so we wanted to splurge just a bit. If you're looking for budget and staying for more than 3 nights, I'd recommend renting an apartment (which is what we did last time we were In Paris for 5 nights).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kng88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    419
    69
    23
    12
See reviews for
189
452
72
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Beautiful room on the 5th floor, small but beautifull with amazing view to Notre dame and old building around. Last floor can be reached with stairs only but price for this room is 50EUR less then rooms below. Location of this hotel is excellent, breakfast is not included in price so we had breakfast in bars around. Every morning other one. Great vacation in Paris.... Love it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frea o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Check in and out was easy. Hotel was warm, clean and comfortable. Bathroom was clean and a good size. We booked a triple room and was adequate for our party size. The hotel is quirky and cute and I love the interior. Added a bit of old-fashioned Parisian charm. Lovely :)

Location was perfect. Lots of local restaurants and a 10 minute walk to Notre Dame and further, more touristy restaurants. There is a bakery across the street with a quirky waiter who was rushed off his feet and grumpy, but gave us a free croissant. I think that was his way of apologising. A fun experience and good price!

Downside of the hotel is that the breakfast is expensive at 14 Euros per person. I am sure it is a yummy feast, but considering a pain au chocolat and coffee was around 4 Euros from the bakery, it puts things in perspective. You can even sit inside in the bakery, so can still have a relaxing breakfast.

The walls of the hotel are also very, very thin. Got woken up at 7am by an enthusiastic American tourist. This wouldn't put me off from visiting the hotel again. I plan to come back in October!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foamshrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed at the hotel in early March, yes it snowed ! The hotel is lovely, decor, rooms, breakfast and the staff off course all exceptional. Small hotel yes but with bags of caracter. About 5 min's walk down to Notre-Dame and the Metro.THe owners have spent a lot of time to make the hotel Parisien, If in Paris again will stay here again, Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preston1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel on 17/03/2013. Staff was very friendly and helpful, we asked if we could check out a bit later next day and suggested to pay for that, but we where kindly offered to sleep longer for free! Room is very beautiful, all those authentic decorations and furniture, very romantic and spacious enough too. Shower room was quite tiny, but clean and nice. Would definitely come back there!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dovile B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

4 of us stayed for 3 nights as this bijou hotel. The weather was awful on the first two days (snow and freezing cold) but the rooms (twins on the 2nd and 3rd floors) were warm clean and welcoming. It is very well placed for exploring the Latin Quarter and for easy access to the rest of Paris. The breakfast was superb - one of the best I have been offered in any hotel in the world: fresh fruit salad, fresh orange juice, limitless coffee, cold meats and cheeses, yoghurt and cereal and a large basket of pastries. The service was good and all the staff, particularly the breakfast waitresses and the room maids were friendly and communicative. The Italian restaurant across the road is superb and was particularly welcome as we didn't want to trek the icey streets at night. The half bottle of champagne in each room was a wonderful touch.

Room Tip: The corner room overlooking the rue des ecoles is spacious and has good views. Cannot comment on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

As everywhere in Paris, your experience depends on the room that you get. "A corner room with a view of Notre Dame " is certainly better than the room we got overlooking rue des Ecoles, though this was a good size room with its own WC seprate from the bath. It is important to request the kind of room you want with your booking. Staff is generally polite and somewhat helpful, though it varies with who is managing the hotel. I would still go back to the Hotel, better prepared this time.

Room Tip: Definitely look for higher floors away from the elevator and corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Risorgimento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
#499 of 1,802 in Paris
567 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#178 of 1,802 in Paris
904 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#110 of 1,802 in Paris
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#141 of 1,802 in Paris
1,628 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#266 of 1,802 in Paris
791 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#277 of 1,802 in Paris
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint-Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Jacques

Property: Hotel Saint-Jacques
Address: 35 rue des Ecoles, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#207 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#365 Family Hotel in Paris
#383 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint-Jacques 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saint-Jacques Hotel welcomes you in its elegant 19th century building.You will discover its style staircase, its frescoes and its spacious rooms with molded ceilings and for some of them viewing Notre-Dame or with balcony.For an original drink, you can try an Absinthe tasting proposed by ourbar Le Toulouse-Lautrec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Saint-Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jacques Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing