We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Nearby Hotels
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$377
US$365
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$322
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Le Patio Bastille(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Le 20 Prieure(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$221
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$446
US$434
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$196
US$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Fabric(Paris)
US$246
US$226
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$632
US$561
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,023)
Filter reviews
1,023 results
Traveller rating
463
449
72
25
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
463
449
72
25
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslatin quarternotre damerue des ecolesaudrey hepburngreat locationbelle epoquestreet noisetriple roomstay there againtop floorcharming hotelsmall balconywithin walking distanceluxembourg gardensloved this hotelmetro stationbreakfast room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
324 - 329 of 1,023 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Spent 2 nights at this "very French" lovely hotel on Rue des Ecoles. Location is perfect, 5 minutes from Il de la cite (no accent on us keyboard) and Notre Dame. Staff was helpful, room nicely appointed and bathroom fine and clean. Did not want to pay the 14 euro per person for breakfast when you can have a baguette and a coffee for much less at a neighboring cafe at the bar, for a lot less. Easy and fast to get to from CDG by RER and metro for 9.60 euro; no need for a cab! Lots of shopping, cafes, resteraunts and a multiplicity of local food and wine shops nearby. A bit pricey, but isn't everything in Paris. A good value. We enjoyed our stay and would love to go back!! A very good way to end our 3 week trip to La France

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gareddg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We booked this hotel after reading in an (older) guide book that it was one of the locations used for hotel scenes in one of my favorite classic movies, Charade. There were some mixed reviews, so we went in with mixed expectations. Frankly, we were a little surprised by the price of Paris hotels - so we went with the "budget/special" option that several people have talked about on the top floor. We discussed a few times whether we should upgrade, but ultimately decided that it was 2 days at the end of our 2 week vacation, and we wouldn't be in the room much anyway. I am SO glad that we decided on this option.

The biggest plus about this hotel is its location. It's fantastic. We were only a few blocks from Notre Dame, very close to metro/RER stations (we got a book of metro tickets and zipped all over) - and it was a lovely neighborhood a stone's throw away from the Sorbonne. For these reasons alone, the price of the room was worth it.

We did not use the concierge service much - but the desk was always friendly, and did coordinate a taxi for us (though there were 10e on the meter when it arrived, so it was a pretty darned expensive cab ride). We arrived in Paris a little before 9am and they were very kind in letting us stow our luggage, use restrooms, etc, and told us our room would be ready at 1pm (much earlier than we were expecting). When we went downstairs to use the restrooms, we walked by breakfast - we opted not to do breakfast at the hotel. While I can't review something that I didn't try, I was not impressed by the spread or the pricetag. We opted instead to visit local cafes for breakfast - we just wanted a pastry and coffee anyway, and felt that we were much more pleased with this option.

The hotel is beautifully decorated - feels very "Paris." The skeleton key for your room (which you leave at the front desk when you go out) adds to a little bit of the history/romance as well. We read so many reviews complaining about the stairs leading up to the top floor - and we're still really confused by that. Maybe it's because we only 2 small bags a piece or maybe it's because we had just come from the Cinque Terre where "a lot of stairs" means more than 100...but we found there to be absolutely no difficulty with the stairs. It's a spiral staircase - but decently wide, carpeted, not steep - fewer stairs than most people have in a 2-story house in the US.

Our room was at the end of the upstairs hallway, and we loved it. It had a tiny (barely 2-person) balcony on the roof - if you looked left, you saw the Pantheon, and to the right was the towers of Notre Dame. The sunsets were lovely as well. There was a big, comfy by European standards, bed, TV, wardrobe, and a decent sized bathroom. The tub WAS interesting as other reviews have pointed out- it was a handheld shower head, and since it's the attic of the building, the ceiling overhead slants. I didn't have a problem with it - I'm 5'5", but my husband at 5'11" was probably pushing the maximum height that a person could comfortably shower. But after having TINY showers in Italy, I found the large tub to be a bit luxurious.

All in all, the Hotel St. Jacques was the perfect place for a home base in Paris. Perhaps with a slightly bigger budget/if my trip was only to Paris it would be worth it to spring for an upgraded room, but we found the attic room to be more than adequate - and it had plenty of charm, luxury, and a romantic feel. The balcony/view was incredible and worth every penny. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuluHulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We chose this hotel based upon a friend's recommendation. We stayed for 7 nights & had a lovely room on the 6th floor (room 31 - booked in advance at a good rate) with views of Notre Dame & the Pantheon from our charming balcony which we used every morning to check the weather & see how everyone was dressed. The room was small, as others have mentioned, but perfectly adequate for us. This hotel has a small boutique feeling & Parisienne charm. It is in a great location in the Latin Quarter -(very safe) - close to everything either by walking, bus, or metro. We had breakfast everyday at Eric Keyser which is 2 blocks away & has incredible pastries.The hotel staff was wonderful - very helpful in answering all of our questions & giving us restaurant suggestions. We would definitely return to the Hotel Saint-Jacques!

Room Tip: Room 31 has a great view of Notre Dame & the Pantheon but is on the 6th floor (elevator only goes to 5 so you have to walk up 16 steps -- not a problem for us but may be for some) Book as far in advance as you can for the best rates...this hotel fills up fast as it is a good value in a great location (Latin Quarter)
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Very good location. Used three day water taxi pass to get to all the tourist hotspots, eight stations to hop on or off, stress free way to get around Paris. Notre Dame water taxi station within easy walking distance of St Jacques Hotel.
Concierge arranged an evening dinner cruise on the Seine, she was so helpful with advice on which one to take, bookings taken care of. Absolutely memorable, this is a must-do in Paris.
Breakfast very good, assortment of yoghurts, cheeses, cold meats, croissants, fresh fruit salad and orange juice, not included in price. We had to pay extra for boiled eggs which we felt could have been included in the price of breakfast.
Room we stayed in, overlooking street, a little noisy outside which could bother some people.
Showerhead, over bath, not great, water sprayed over bathroom. Also feel higher fitted showerhead would be a plus.
Overall would recommend this Hotel for location, cleanliness and very helpful staff. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room not facing street.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fandllow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Good location, clean, organized, the best breakfast I've had in Europe (not included in the price), nice staff. We stayed there in three people and the room was very good, with three single beds. Realy good room for three people!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews