We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place I will stay in Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Ranked #353 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The only place I will stay in Paris”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I cannot believe I have not yet reviewed the Hotel Saint Jacques, as it has been where I "live" while I'm in Paris forever...I was lucky enough to study at the Sorbonne the summer before I started college and I was even luckier that the Hotel Saint Jacques was where I lived that summer. I cannot say enough about this hotel - sure, there are fancier hotels in Paris, but they don't have anything on this place. It is so incredibly charming and perfectly Parisian - every single time I go back to Paris, I stay here. In fact, I stay in the very same room - chambre No. 5. The location could not be better and I've seen almost all the rooms and there is not one in which I wouldn't be thrilled to stay. This is one of my favorite places in the world in my favorite city in the world. If I could give the Hotel Saint Jacques ten stars, I would!! MAGNIFIQUE!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bijou177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    427
    69
    24
    13
See reviews for
194
456
78
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sarasota, florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Saint-Jacques for 4 days. The staff was friendly and helpful as was stated in other reviews. We skipped the breakfast and enjoyed a croissant and "grand creme" at the bistro on the corner. The hotel is located on a great bus line. The 63 and 87 bus routes are fabulous for visiting The tower, the d'orsay, the Rodin and much more. Saint-Jacques is within walking distance of Notre Dame as well. Our room (17) seemed a bit worn but had a modern bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable bu the room faces the street and there is the noise of the city below. We closed the windows at night and were not bothered at all. There is a great little open market on Tues. and Thursday on Rue St. Germaine.
We felt safe and walked or rode the bus or metro everywhere. (We are in our late 50's and early 60's.) We only skimmed the surface of the area in 3.5 days. We will definitely be back to Paris. We both decided that we would shop for a different hotel just for the experience of staying in another neighborhood of this highly addictive city!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17 which faced the street. If you plan on going to sleep at nine pm then plan lis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bicyclemanics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A small hotel with friendly staff. We had a very big room with a big bathroom (superior double) with wiew to the street, nice beds and very clean rooms.
Very close to a lot of cafés, restaurants and bars, and very close to Maubert Mutalité Metro-station.
And close to a lot of shopping.
The hotel is just a three minute walk from the Pantheon.
On the negative side, it is a busy street so bring earplugs and the TV only had french channels.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 16 that was a big room with paintings in the ceiling, both shower and bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lelle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bay village, OH
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We've stayed here a number of times because it feels very Parisean, the Belle Epoque details are charming and the location is ideal. The rooms are very comfortable and feature interesting art. The staff is very accommodating and just a few minutes walk is the Seine and Notre Dame. There is wonderful shopping and restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a balcony - wonderful to people watch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benzletravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Pros:
Well located in the Latin Quarter
Easy walk to Seine, Notre dame, Pantheon
Close to subway
Coin operated laundry nearby
Eric Kaysar bakery nearby which can be a less expensive alternative for breakfast/lunch
Nice, traditional interior
Good management: changed my room when I had a noise problem; upgraded my room

CONS:
Pricey
All but the single rooms face the street and it is noisy at all hours (the higher up, the less the noise carries)

Room Tip: The higher up the room, the less the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJB1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Loved staying here, everything was in walking distance, you can see the Parthenon and Notre Dame from here. Stayed in the cheapest attic rooms, they were well appointed with French doors opening onto a little balcony where you could watch the street. Staff very helpful and spoke excellent English. Had breakfast once, very nice but lots of choices in the streets below. Would recommend anyone to stay here, very clean and charming.

Room Tip: looking for value for money, book the attic rooms on their website, they have a special deal for 5 d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed four nights in a deluxe room. Location is nice if you want a more chilled out, relaxed scene with restaurants, Notre dame and the seine nearby. We stayed the remaining 6 nights in Paris over the river near Republique metro stop and found this area to be more suited to us as it just seemed to have a busier, livelier vibe. Plus we found the metro lines at Republique to have easier access to sites, other lines etc. Anyway, room was nice. Very spacious and we had two windows. However, no mini fridge and the shower had a hand held hose with the holder screwed in right near the taps. I have no idea why they just didn't screw the holder up a little higher and it therefore could act as a shower too. Floors walls and ceilings are super thin so don't expect much privacy although this may be the norm for Parisian hotels. The service at the front desk was to the point but lacked warmth or friendliness or even a simple smile (although Brigitte was friendly). It almost felt like we were disturbing the staff when handing in our room key every time we left (hotel policy). Lacked tourist pamphlets in the lobby and overall our stay at this hotel did not leave us with a feeling of ever wanting to return. The staff at the other hotel we stayed at always greeted us with a smile and even small talk. They even remembered our room number by day 2 despite being similar sized to St Jacques. Overall, you can get better hotels in Paris for cheaper.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hungrytraveller-au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsaintjacques, Propriétaire at Hotel Saint-Jacques, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guests,
Your review is very important to us as we always keep on mind that each review helps us to improve the quality of our hotel.
We are sorry that you didn't complain about the shower we would have solved the problem by giving you another room at least.
We regret that you did not appreciate a part of our team at the front desk , as usually they are very helpful and outgoing as you can also read on most of the reviews on Trip Advisor.
Finally we understand your decisive choice for a hotel in the Republique area as it is cheaper but not central.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#138 of 1,800 in Paris
1,648 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#111 of 1,800 in Paris
1,625 reviews
Quartier Latin
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
#528 of 1,800 in Paris
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#65 of 1,800 in Paris
1,009 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#268 of 1,800 in Paris
798 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#283 of 1,800 in Paris
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint-Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Jacques

Property: Hotel Saint-Jacques
Address: 35 rue des Ecoles, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#207 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#365 Family Hotel in Paris
#383 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint-Jacques 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saint-Jacques Hotel welcomes you in its elegant 19th century building.You will discover its style staircase, its frescoes and its spacious rooms with molded ceilings and for some of them viewing Notre-Dame or with balcony.For an original drink, you can try an Absinthe tasting proposed by ourbar Le Toulouse-Lautrec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Saint-Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jacques Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing