We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location but Some Drawbacks” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Saint-Jacques

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Ranked #296 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good Location but Some Drawbacks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The location of this hotel was terrific and we liked the décor. Breakfast was also good.The staff were also friendly.

However right outside our window was the flood lighting for the building. This meant our room was quite bright even with the curtains fully drawn until the lights went out at midnight. I know, I was awake until then.The second night we found that the old wooden blinds outside the window were a bit stiff but could be closed, which helped cut down the light.

Also, I know this is central Paris and you expect hotel rooms to be small, but our bathroom was so tight that being a relatively tall person (6 foot two), I had to sit sideways on the toilet to avoid the wash basin and shelf. It was also difficult to shower without creating a little Venice.

In summary we enjoyed our stay but wouldn't come back again because of these issues.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie7leagueboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsaintjacques, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint-Jacques, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Sir,

We thank very much for your message and are glad that you have enjoyed you stay with us and that you have found our staff friendly.
Concerning the light from outside into your room we would appreciate to know in which room you have stayed in. Please inform us directly to our email address.
All of our rooms have blackout curtains and we need to verify the one you have had as soon as possible.
We always do our best to give to our guest a wonderful stay in our hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in a next future.
Fabienne
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    409
    64
    23
    12
See reviews for
184
443
70
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were delighted with this quaint Parisienne hotel, the location for the filming of "Charade." Staff, location, ambience, etc. were great. We had Room 1, with a view of the street, giving us a great feel of the city and neighborhood. Most everything we did was within walking distance. We enjoyed the entire experience. An added perk was free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I had a lovely six-night stay at the Hotel Saint-Jacques in April of 2014. I was in Paris for a conference at the Sorbonne, and chose this hotel because of its proximity to the college. I was delighted to find that the hotel is within very easy walking distance of Notre Dame, the Luxembourg Gardens, the medieval museum and Shakespeare and Company, along with many other interest sites. It also was perfectly located for my RER train to and from Versailles and convenient to the Saint-Denis metro stop (where the RER from the airport also stops). There were many lovely cafes and stores around, too. My room was so pretty -- beautifully decorated and newly refurbished. I stayed in a room that had the bathroom on the first floor and then a staircase to reach the sleeping loft. It seemed almost magical! The windows opened and looked out on the streets below -- so lovely.

The staff was always warm and welcoming to me. I did not have many questions for them, but I am sure they would have been very helpful if I had. I also did not have the breakfast -- I preferred to grab a croissant at a nearby bakery and watch the sun rise by Notre Dame. :)

I could not recommend this room for people with mobility issues -- the stairs were narrow and the room small to maneuver within. But for a solo traveler like myself, it was absolutely perfect. I'd love to stay to stay here again!

Room Tip: As I said in my review, this hotel is old and charming. If you have mobility issues, you should conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sreed151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Hotel Saint Jacques is very centrally located, in the Latin Quarter, on a road parallel to but much quieter than Bvde St Germain. The Notre Dame and the Seine are just a few hundred metres away, there is a Metro station less than 200 metres from the Hotel, and a variety of buses run past the Hotel or nearby. The nearby section of the Bvde St Germain and other nearby streets contain all manner of food shops, cafes and restaurants. This was a repeat stay at the Hotel, which was well located for my purposes, and I had enjoyed a previous stay there.

The Hotel is a smaller, older hotel which is moderately expensive but run to a high standard. It has a small but functional lift. The reception staff were almost always helpful and agreeable. The Hotel is very clean and well maintained. My 'superior double room' on the second floor was fairly small, had a good view (see photo) and was nicely decorated. The only concern I had was that the shower recess was very cramped. The street has little traffic between 11 p.m. and 7 a.m., so the room was quiet, for sleeping.

There is a small breakfast room where a classic French breakfast is served, with the unusual touch of a functioning player piano (Pianola). This is not a luxury hotel, but it has style and class - very Parisian. The Hotel does not have a restaurant, which is irrelevant, with so much choice nearby.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HK_Sydney2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel is on a busy street so it can be noisy. We had a delux double and the room is tight with the bathroom being very tight and no shower curtain etc. The hotel is very clean and the staff are truly helpful and friendly. Nearby bus and metro stops. Overall very good value in Paris.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phantomAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel is conveniently located to transportation and a delightful 10-20 minute walk to major attractions through tree lined boulevards and chic cafes and restuarants. The hotel is farily quiet and has a very pleasant ambience and the staff on reception were friendly and helpful. The room was clean with nice decor. On returning to Paris I would be delighted to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moveiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

If staying in the Latin Quarters, this is a nice boutique hotel. Preferred staying in a French style boutique rather then a big brand hotel. Certainly have the feeling of being in Paris with the way it was decorated. The rooms, bathroom and elevator are small (as common in hotels) but quaint and nicely decorated. Walls very thin and can hear "everything" in next room. Hotel and rooms were very clean. Breakfast was good-croissants, fresh fruit, cheese, wonderful coffee and fresh orange juice. Would have been nice to be included in room as many hotels in Paris do, however it is 14 euros.The majority of the day and night staff were very nice and helpful in providing directions and maps, but not with information on tours or tickets. Hotel was very well located to metro and bus to get to far sites, such as Eiffel and Versailles. Easily walkable to many areas which we did and the area around the hotel has many wonderful restaurants, which the hotel can suggest. Negative was street noise- as it is a student area and they are out all night, plus can hear buses, motorcycles and cars.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#183 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#136 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Quartier Latin
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
#420 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#289 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Le Jardin de Cluny
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#134 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint-Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Jacques

Property: Hotel Saint-Jacques
Address: 35 rue des Ecoles, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#208 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#366 Family Hotel in Paris
#383 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint-Jacques 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saint-Jacques Hotel welcomes you in its elegant 19th century building.You will discover its style staircase, its frescoes and its spacious rooms with molded ceilings and for some of them viewing Notre-Dame or with balcony.For an original drink, you can try an Absinthe tasting proposed by ourbar Le Toulouse-Lautrec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Saint-Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jacques Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing