We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Saint-Jacques

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Ranked #296 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights and found the location perfect for exploring the Left Bank. The various front desk people were all very helpful as was the nice woman who ran the breakfast area. The basement breakfast room is very nicely decorated and the food is varied, plentiful and good....don't miss it....great coffees also! Our triple room was small as is the norm usually but it suited all our needs.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wailea67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    409
    64
    23
    12
See reviews for
184
443
70
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Near the Pantheon in the Latin Quarter. Lots of nice cafés and bistros in walking distance. Triple room worked well for us. Easy walk to Notre Dame and St Chapelle. Hotel staff let us store our luggage there before we registered at 3pm and at the end of our trip as well. Cute area downstairs for breakfast

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBH611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband for a special occasion. On arrival we had complimentary champagne brought to our room. The decor was beautiful. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our airline had gone on strike that week and before we arrived a lovely staff member called Davide helped us to find alternative accommodation as they were fully booked. The hotel that he recommended was also fabulous. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank san84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I probably spent too much time trying to decide between a VRBO or hotel and then what type of hotel. In the end, thanks in part to Trip Advisor, I opted for Hotel Saint Jacques for several reasons. 1. the location: I would come back to this area of Paris. easy access to almost everything. cafes and shops galore. a fun vibe and true Paris feel. 2. the price. I didn't want to go with the cheapest, and I think the value for what we got was perfect. we had the triple room-- and the one on the high floor was not available which was of concern. It was a nice corner looking both directions up and down the streets 3rd floor 4th floor in US). no balcony which ended up being fine. Yes the room and the bathroom are small compared to US standards... we (2 teenagers and me) paused when we walked in (elevator too). That said, 4 nights there. teenage suitcase sprawl and we adapted easily without issue. beds comfortable and clean. We literally slept there (AC a critical aspect that saved us in the July heat)-- so the hang out and lobby hang out factor not important 9and we didn't pay for that). we had breakfast the first morning and the service was very good and food likewise. We opted to eat outside at other cafes for the other morning for better (& slightly cheaper) Paris ambiance.

the front desk team was always helpful and friendly and I feel we got a small taste of Paris in an ideal location. would recommend and stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank exBostonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I stayed here for two nights this week having previously stayed one night last summer. The hotel is comfortable, quiet and pleasantly decorated. It is in a great location, lots of excellent restaurants nearby and Notre Dame in walking distance. However, its biggest asset is its staff. They could not be more helpful and appear to be genuinely interested in making your stay a pleasure. A special thank you to them for all their assistance.

Room Tip: Attic rooms are cheaper if you don't mind a small flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clarajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed at the Hotel St Jacques for 3 nights in July 2014, after some confusion on the rooms that we reserved which was rectified the next day, the hotel staff was very accommodating. Great location to explore Paris and the Metro stops were in quick walking distance from the hotel. The room we had was lovely and large with a very comfortable bed but the bathroom was tiny in comparison. The shower stall was very tight regarding to space. Overall we had a great time in Paris and would recommend this hotel if you want a truly Parisian experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winston5207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

If you're staying in Paris for a short time, you need somewhere handy to the main sights and the Hotel St Jacques fits the bill. Unlike the uniformity of many hotels, the artistic decor will remind you that you're in this wonderful city. My room was small, as expected, but had all I needed, the staff were friendly and there was always someone at the desk. The lift is a bonus! Apart from the nearby famous landmarks, it's a short walk to the metro and on one morning I was pleased to discover a market. A special 'merci' to the room attendant and the staff for reuniting me with a scarf I'd left behind. I hope to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanetteJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#183 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#136 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Quartier Latin
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
#420 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#289 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Le Jardin de Cluny
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#134 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint-Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Jacques

Property: Hotel Saint-Jacques
Address: 35 rue des Ecoles, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#208 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#366 Family Hotel in Paris
#383 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint-Jacques 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saint-Jacques Hotel welcomes you in its elegant 19th century building.You will discover its style staircase, its frescoes and its spacious rooms with molded ceilings and for some of them viewing Notre-Dame or with balcony.For an original drink, you can try an Absinthe tasting proposed by ourbar Le Toulouse-Lautrec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Saint-Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jacques Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing