We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apart from its location, not a lot of positive points.”
Review of Hotel Massena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Massena
Ranked #1,048 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Good location in heart of Paris is the plus side.

Expensive rooms, elevator accessible by ... stairs, basic breakfast in a breakfast space that can't seat everyone, really small rooms who have seen much better days, and small window with view on a miniature courtyard that resembles a favela are the other side.

Our room smelled of cigarettes and cigarette buds were on the window sill. The elevator is mounted on the outer wall and makes a lot of noise if you're obliged to sleep with open windows due to smoked out room.

Staff attitude is Parisian. Which mean they expect you to be grateful for them acknowledging the obvious peasant you are.

Will not stay again, obviously.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend arrived home tonight from Hotel Massena! Absolutely perfect location for shopping, being only a 15 minute walk to the Champs Elysees! Plenty of places to eat around the hotel, all within walking distance! The Eiffel Tower (go on a Sunday evening about 9pm when there's less children, much shorter queues) Arc de Triomphe, Notre Dame and The Louvre are both about 30-40 minutes walk! Plenty of places to stop and rest/eat! If walking isn't your thing, the Metro system is exactly the same as using the Tube! Taxis are really cheap! €35 from Paris-Orly airport to the hotel! About the hotel... Staff we're very friendly and helpful, the beds were made every day! It can be a bit noisy during the morning if you have a room on the main road but the soundproof windows are stunning! My ONLY complaint is that the double bed was actually two single beds pushed together in room 106! Not great if you're a couple! One last thing... Definitely make time to go out to the Chateaux de Versailles... It's simply stunning and has to be seen to be believed! It's about 30 minutes from the hotel in a taxi! Queues were pretty big, about an hour or so but we'll worth the wait! Get there early and set aside a day for it! So much to see! Quite a lot of the attractions are free/discounted if you're 18-25 and a member of the EU, so take your driving licence as proof! Top weekend!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tommojenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed at the hotel in april. Never been in Paris before, and find the location great, close to both shopping and attractions. Hotel was clean and cosy, receptionists were both serviceminded and friendly and the room was nice but small.
A great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalleAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
16Massena, Responsable réception at Hotel Massena, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you very much ,
the team of reception and room is very happy that you spent an excellent moment has the hotel and that it pleased you we hope has very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is the first time I have stayed at this hotel but always try and stay in this area.
I was delighted with this hotel.. The staff were very pleasant and couldn't have been more helpful. The room was small but everything was there.

Room Tip: Rooms are small but everything there. Bed very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBDudrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I was for the first time in this location, recomended by friends, I can confirm: excellent location , very warm welcome and service, also easy access by subway.
My room was not so large but good enough very clean
Hotel is located very close to shopping center, restaurants, theaters... areas, easy to access by feet

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HubertVienne_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

It has not been the first time staying in Massena, we know him since long time and like to staying there for the position in the center of the city. The courtesy and availability of the hotel "crew"are at avery high level and remains unchanged along the time. Staying in the hotel is to staying in a family, even if the rooms are essenzial and quote small, but clean and the bathroom well organized. I like and will suggest Messena.

Room Tip: I do not know the reason why I find a room, each time, in the same position, at a different floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The hotel is situated in a very central place, the metro entrance is 50 meters opposite the station, so convenient to travel around. The shopping is just 200 meters with printemps and other brands around. Cheap shopping in street behind the Haussman street.
Good Indian restaurant in the lane next to the hotel.
The only thing is the size of room but that's acceptable since its paris.
However the booking said locker and in room tea coffee maker but that was missing.
The only drawback is the sound of metro running below you when the strrts turn quiet after about 7:30-8pm.
Overall it was good place to be because of its location and pricing.

Room Tip: I had the room with a view of the street. good since i had a view and i could open the window when t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shweta23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel du Triangle d'Or
Hotel du Triangle d'Or
#307 of 1,803 in Paris
440 reviews
Hotel Royal Opera
#1,355 of 1,803 in Paris
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Madeleine Haussmann Hotel
#423 of 1,803 in Paris
218 reviews
Hotel Cordelia
#691 of 1,803 in Paris
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Massena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Massena

Address: 16 rue Tronchet, 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#407 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £111 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Massena 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hôtel Masséna benefits from a superb location right in the heart of Paris, between the famous Madeleine church, the renowned Printemps and Galéries Lafayette department stores and the truly magnificent Opéra Garnier, all a short walk away. Ideal for shopping or sightseeing, we are also near the finance district and have excellent public transport links to all parts of the French capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Massena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massena Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing