We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Setting The Record Straight On Hotel San Regis”
Review of Hotel San Regis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel San Regis
Ranked #764 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Midwest, USA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Setting The Record Straight On Hotel San Regis”
Reviewed 10 May 2008

Here's the real story on the Hotel San Regis. The hotel is a lovely and very quiet hotel near the Champs Elysees. Many of the negative things we read before our trip on this website are simply not true, or perhaps atypical, one-time incidents.

The staff are courteous and helpful - they helped us with Internet connections, printing boarding passes, mailing postcards, etc. Some staffers are a little quiet, but that does not mean they are rude or unhelpful. We stayed there a week, and the lobby did not smell of b.o. even once. I suspect that complaint comes from a one-time incident of a stinky guest. Yes, there are some small rooms, and the prices aren't cheap (though relative to the Paris market, they're fine), but you know exactly what you're getting when you book, so convert square meters to square feet and figure out the size of the room you're getting. The maids do honor the DO NOT DISTURB signs - again likely a one-time incident. Our room (9) was very quiet, clean, and plenty big enough. The AC worked well, the shower was great, the tub was large, and the shades really darkened the room.

The only real downside to this hotel isn't anything to do with the hotel, but rather the location. San Regis is well located in terms of Metro access, the Seine, and fancy shopping/dining, but it's less than ideal for finding a quick bite to eat (few good cheap cafes nearby), and we couldn't find a little market nearby (a la Rue Cler).

It's true that the hotel isn't quite in the class of a hotel like Four Seasons George V - there are a few signs of wear in the carpets and wallpaper - but who cares? If you want to spend 2-3 times as much for a top hotel, enjoy, but see how comfortable you feel tromping through the Ritz lobby in a pair of jeans unshaven. Personally I'd take something a little more relaxed.

  • Liked — quiet
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank parisusaparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles_SR, General Manager at Hotel San Regis, responded to this review, 16 May 2008
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I really appreciate your pointing out that the complaints in previous reviews were one-time incident as you did not encounter anyone of them during your one-week stay. However, be sure that we consider any complaint very seriously, and we take appropriate measures to keep our guests satisfied when possible.

Please allow me to comment on the location of the San Régis. We are indeed very well located in a quiet street and one block away from the Champs-Elysées and Montaigne Avenues, close to many theatres, concert halls, gourmet restaurants and museums. Regarding informal cafés and restaurants, there are plenty of them on rue Marboeuf and rue Pierre Charron, both a short walk from the San Régis. Our Concierge is always of great help to recommend you the best restaurants according to your requests. Just to name a couple you would probably have enjoyed Le Relais de l'Entrecôte or Le Bar des Théâtres.

Also, be sure that we closely watch any sign of wear in the fabrics and carpets. Renovation is an ongoing process that we usually carry out during lower occupancy season.

On behalf of the hotel team, I thank you again for your review and hope to welcome you again soon to the San Régis.

Best Regards,

Maurice Georges
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    59
    16
    13
    11
See reviews for
51
128
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2007

Truly a small luxury hotel, the San Regis is tastefully decorated for a perfect combination of class and comfort. My wife particulary enjoyed the "winter garden", which she says gives the salon additional charm.
The room itself was spacious, comfortable, quiet and decorated in the same spirit as the rest of the hotel.
The staff was friendly and helpful, and it was pleasant to be greeted by name, both at reception, and in the dining area.
I was in Paris on a 10 day holiday with my wife and daughter, but the hotel's atmosphere and amenities make it perfect for business stays as well.
A bonus: The hotel is centrally located on a quiet street, just a couple of minutes walk from the Champs-Elysees.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank EDSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2007

I would highly recommend , Small Luxury Boutique ...yes its is , we stayed on the 7th floor had a nice balcony with views of the Eiffel Tower , for 2 nights was lovely , staff all very polite & not snobby at all ! room was very clean , fast room service , very safe area , not noisy .

  • Liked — Comfort & Location
  • Disliked — Narrow Halls & Tiny Lifts
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank resortowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2007

This is a small upmarket boutique hotel. If you like a hotel with a few airs and graces, and similar staff then it is nice. The decor is luxurious, but in a very old fashioned way. The free toiletries (if you are one of us who takes them) are Hermes, which is unusual.
I find the hotel noisy and very expensive.I don't like the breakfast service, which takes a long time. However, if you like some old time luxury, with few amenities but a superb location then this is a good choice for a weekend break.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank between_u_and_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2007

The location was great. The staff was helpful and friendly. The room was tired, noisy and dirty, especially the toilet. The toilet was cleaned after I told the front desk. The room smelled. The smell got worse when the heat was turned on. Now I know why the window was open when we were taken to our room. The room (5) was next to a metal door in the courtyard that was closed loudly every morning before 6 a.m.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirty and smelly room
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ChinoHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2007

Just off the Champs Elysees near Metro Clemenceau is one of the most elegant hotels we have ever experienced. Our lovely and inviting room was appointed with antiques, the walls and headboards upholstered in traditional blue and yellow French fabric, the bathroom luxurious. One cannot help but feel special in such surroundings. The staff were kind and solicitous, but not pretentious. All this and a convenient location. We had lunch in the hotel dining room and it was superb.

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bibelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
La Maison Champs Elysees
La Maison Champs Elysees
#347 of 1,802 in Paris
502 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Montaigne
Hotel Montaigne
#1,288 of 1,802 in Paris
124 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Marignan Champs-Elysees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel de la Tremoille
Hotel de la Tremoille
#551 of 1,802 in Paris
379 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Residence du Roy Hotel
Residence du Roy Hotel
#541 of 1,802 in Paris
329 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#34 of 1,802 in Paris
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Regis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Regis

Property: Hotel San Regis
Address: 12 rue Jean Goujon | Eighth Arrondissement, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#281 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#343 Business Hotel in Paris
#385 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel San Regis 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Intimate 7-story Hotel, once a private home, situated in couturier district near the Champs-Elysees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Regis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Regis Hotel
San Regis Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing