We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretty good hostel overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
Ranked #1,209 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 10 July 2009

I stayed here for 4 nights in a room with 2 bunk beds (4 people) and bathroom ensuite. The bathroom was pretty nice, and the room was small but fine. Staff spoke good English when I couldn't figure out what I wanted to say in French and were pretty helpful although I really didn't need their help very much since I had already been in Paris for a while. The room could have been cleaner, but overall it wasn't gross or anything (and there was no evidence of anything like bedbugs that I ever saw). Breakfast was really good by Paris hostel standards-- cereal, croissants, bread, orange juice, hot drinks (good hot chocolate)-- and free for everyone who stays in their dorm rooms. Free internet was also nice, but there are only a few computers and some people seem to stay on them forever so it's hard to catch one open. The neighborhood is not the most exciting place in Paris but the metro is less than a five minute walk away. All in all, I had a fun time and met lots of cool people.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2008

I have had good experiences in the past with clean, welcoming hostels but this was not the case in Caulaincourt Square. I booked a double, which turned out to be a twin, it was damp, paper peeling from the walls, horrible, horrible smell in the room and twice came out of the room to find some one had vomited in the corridor. if you want to book a smelly dorm bed for a cheap price and spend all your time in Paris drunk then this could be the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank always_on_holiday72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2008

Reasonable prices for a fantastic hostel based in a great location in Paris. Easy to find and easy to get to and from. Bathroom small but brand new and very clean. Double room was of a good size and we had clean sheets and towels everyday of our stay. Inclusive breakfast is pretty standard but worth trying. Free internet access is awesome and the reception staff are helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank shoegal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2008

we stayed here for two nights and to be honest I could not wait to get away. There is no air con and it has been boiling in paris and whilst I dont mind being in a mixed dorm we were practically on top of one another and the heat was stifling. The breqkfast was terrible too. if you like stale bread then great.

One good thing is the f'ree internet access.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Londongirl0_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

This was an excellent hostile. They were very friendly and nice. The rooms weren't 5 star hotels but what did you expect from a hostile. It's a great place to sleep and meet new people in the lobby area. The bed were comfy and the bathroom was good. Only 25 euro per person and included a delicious big breakfast. All in all an amazing hostile.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank avega415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2007

Very Parisian.
In an excellent location. Really a great part of Paris. We stayed in September which is still high season and payed 25 Euro each to stay in a 6 bed mixed dorm ensuite. 2 months later we paid the same to stay in a private room in a 2 star hotel with ensuite.
But if you are after a good hostel, Caulaincourt is it. You may leave your bags in reception as check in is at 4 an they have "lock out" from 11-4 daily. You get free internet for 1/2 an hour. After having lost my code the guy on reception gave me an hour and a half for free.
Rooms are reasonably small but it is Paris...
A good place.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PoeticCrayon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2007

What a great hostel. The rooms were nicely decorated with really comfy bunk beds. The bathrooms were also really modern and with nice hot showers. The rest of the hotel was lovely including the restaurant area where the nice breakfast is served. The location is also great, just minutes from the lamark-caulaincourt metro station in a lovely area of Montmatre away from all the tourist crowds. I also recommend a restaurant called Lui...Linsolent. If you go out of the hotel and turn right onto rue caulaincourt its about 5 mins down the road on the right hand side. It serves AMAZING traditional french food, the staff are so friendly (and can speak english as well, although they were happy to help me practise my french and were really interested in where I came from) and the set menu (without wine) costs just 23euros - make sure you make reservations or pop in about an hour in advance and reserve a table because it gets busy.

There is also another great little bar called au reve (turn left out of the hotel and walk down rue caulaincourt for 3 mins and its on your left). Its VERY VERY french (even my french friend Claire couldn't believe how french it was). A bottle of wine with bread and a cheese selection costs about 21 euros and is enough for about 3 people. The lady that owns it is so pleasant as well but she can't speak english so you will need to know some basic french, which makes the experience even more french!!!

Basically, the hostel is GREAT and the AREA is beautiful and typically parisienne and for just 25euros a night with breakfast is worth every centimes!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thomuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Plug-Inn Hostel
Plug-Inn Hostel
#1,019 of 1,804 in Paris
461 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Perfect Hotel & Hostel
Perfect Hotel & Hostel
#954 of 1,804 in Paris
631 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#834 of 1,804 in Paris
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#1,575 of 1,804 in Paris
78 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,555 of 1,804 in Paris
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caulaincourt Square Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caulaincourt Square Hostel

Address: 2 Square Caulaincourt | 18 Arr., 75018 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £32 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Caulaincourt Square Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caulaincourt Square Hotel Paris
Caulaincourt Square Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing