We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything a budget traveler could ask for!!”
Review of Hotel Marignan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marignan
Ranked #545 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This hotel is almost a hostel type environment but in a good way. You have the option of getting a room with the bathroom and or the shower in the hall for a lower price, great for those who want to save some money! We had a group of 6 split between 2 rooms. My boyfriend and I were in a room just us 2 that could have slept 4, and on the last night they asked if we would be willing to switch rooms to one that didn't have a bathroom in it because they had accidentaly over booked the room, we were fine with it because it saved us 15 euro on the last night and not having the bathroom in the room wasn't a huge deal!

The included breakfast was great, and we made use of the kitchen to save money on meals. They give you a key to the hotel to let yourself in if you come back past i think 10 p.m. at night, which is kind of a strange security policy, but we were fine with it. Very close walking distance to Notre Dame and the metro stops to get where ever you want around Paris! We were fooled by our map on the first day as to how big Paris was, and we walked to the Eiffel Tower from the hotel and it was about an hour walk, walking at a very brisk pace.

Room we had was very quiet facing an inner courtyard which was very nice for sleep quality.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrosex3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Our family met up in Paris for Easter this year, coming from all over the world to meet at Hotel Marignan. The hotel is a typical 6 story Paris small hotel, with a number of great advantages. 1. Location. It is about 2 blocks from Notre Dame -- could not be more outstandingly located. Superb restaurants are all over the place, the neighbourhood is safe and quiet, and the metro only a step away. And, bonus for the teenage boys, there are at least 6 comic book/super hero shops in the area. 2. Breakfast. Included, delicious and filling. 3. Capacity. We had two rooms with 4 beds each, an unusual configuration in hotels, and very handy. 4. Cost. It was very reasonable compared with the Big Hotels. 5. People. The manager speaks every language, apparently, and knows everything, and is very helpful. There is a somewhat ideosyncratic but truly useful tourist information bulletin board in the lobby. 6. Free laundry and soap. Say no more. What is the down side, you ask? No elevator. We went up and down 91 steps every day but in the end I think that was good for us. If you are looking for the perfect paris hotel, Marignan is what you want.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dr_Abby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

As most of the reviews have said, it is about three blocks from the St. Michael metro/rar stop and 4 blocks from Notre Dame in the Latin Quarter which makes it an outstanding location! I've stayed in other hotels in this area and paid about $125 more per night. Marignan is sparse yet free wi-fi and a free breakfast are nice perks. The staff is top notch and if you're out past 2300 local, you have a key to access the building. If you're looking for luxury, move on and be prepared to pay dearly for it yet if you're more interested in the city of Paris than your hotel room; Marignan is the deal for you!

Room Tip: No elevator so if climbing stairs with luggage is an issue, request the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cmasonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Four ladies travelling to Paris for the first time. The metro dropped us three blocks from the hotel. The welcome was very pleasant and informative. Fully bilingual for English. Lots of reference material. Staff shared favourite restaurants, directions on the metro and buses whenever needed. The room was comfortable and clean, The ensuite bathroom/shower was clean and suitable. No elevator but the staff carried up our large suitacases and down at the end of our visit. In all, we'd recommend and go back again.

Room Tip: Trouble with steps....ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This hotel is located within walking distance of the Notre Dame, which is a great location given the price. Its a typical Parisian building, but rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and the wi-fi was free (which is always a bonus). Would stay again...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I chose to stay here for one night on my way back to the USA. I live in France, and this was my fifth time visiting Paris. I knew the location and the area, and wanted just a cheap place to rest for the night before my early flight.

The hotel itself is very run down. The floors are old, and so is the furniture. There is a tiny breakfast nook, and the staff were nice and influenced me to eat before I left to head to the airport.

I chose a bedroom with a shared facility for 50 Euro for the night. Super cheap according to Paris. The room was so small. It lacked any charm, I felt like I was a child at a summer camp. The bed was a single, the covers barely fit the bed right, and the pillow i think didnt have a proper pillowcase. It did have a nice sink to wash up and what not, and the bathroom was the door outside my room. I have stayed at really nice places in Paris, and this one kind of scared me.

With that being said, who goes to Paris to sit in the room. The location is amazing, on a quiet street. There is so much to do in the area, and a short walk to many metros/ tourist spots. Easy to get to the RER B for the airport as well.

I would recommend it for overnight stays, younger travelers, or people on a tight budget. It was a great value for the night. But next time I will try somewhere else for the same situation. I would not stay at this hotel with my girlfriend though.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Wonderfully quiet street, yet just down the street from Notre Dame. As my husband said when he saw Notre Dame 'Whoa! we are already here?!?!?' We walked along the river to the Eiffel Tower, and it took about an hour at a very leisurely pace. Great breakfast, good sized rooms, comfy beds. Linens were old and unmatched, but who cares with the location and price! Had an ensuite shower and sink which were small, but good water pressure and clean. The toilet was just across the hall and shared with only one other room. It was very clean. Friendly helpful staff, helped us when we realized we were stuck in traffic and wouldn't arrive until 2am. Loved everything about the place. Laundry is free, but there are only certain posted hours to use it. Definitely would stay here again! One word of advice: Don't have lots of suitcases. The stairs are very narrow and steep, and it can be a long way up. We just had carry-on sized luggage and it was fine.

Room Tip: Lower for less stairs, higher for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ampanmangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#195 of 1,804 in Paris
966 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
#918 of 1,804 in Paris
421 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel de France Quartier Latin
Hotel de France Quartier Latin
#1,238 of 1,804 in Paris
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#1,616 of 1,804 in Paris
467 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#253 of 1,804 in Paris
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marignan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marignan

Address: 13 rue du Sommerard | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#93 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#207 Business Hotel in Paris
#449 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £71 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Marignan 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in the center of Paris, Quartier Latin The Hotel Marignan is located in a small, quiet street of Paris, city center on the left bank in the famous "Quartier Latin" district. The hotel is close to Notre Dame de Paris, Sorbonne University, the Pantheon and Luxembourg Gardens (five minutes walking) and is an ideal accommodation for families and international guests visiting Paris. Free services We offer clean and comfortable accommodation for up to 5 people with competitive prices that include many free services: Free Wifi internet PC available for clients Free Continental breakfast Free washing machine & dryer Free use of kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and fridge A library of guide books and novels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Marignan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marignan Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing