We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Hotel Marignan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marignan
Ranked #545 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Cute family hotel, not luxury, but nice and very friendly....very good service and smiling staff. Perfect locality! All "the main" atractive places are "nex to"... super metro / train connection.
Have a nice holiday there!
We really recommend it. :-)
Evita

Room Tip: We had a room for 4 people - we could only sleep there, so we didn´t find any luxus...but for sleepi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evita37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

Great boutique hotel (40 rooms, 10 suites). Modern but tasteful décor. Room was very comfortable. Bathroom and stall shower were beautiful. Almost everything about it was terrific. The only blips were 1) I kept on getting thrown off the wifi connection and had to repeatedly reconnect, both during Skype call and while working on emails; 2) the concierge was not as knowledgeable as she should have been; and 3) the temperature of the water in the shower kept fluctuating.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This hotel is not only in the perfect location, but for the price it offers a comfy bed, free basic breakfast, free Internet and friendly staff. It is a No frills stay, but I've had to pay buffet breakfast and Internet in 5 start hotels, which makes the Hotel Marignan even more worth it. As a solo female traveller in her 20s, it is in a safe location and easy to travel to and from by either walking, the metro or a cab. I loved the 6 flights of stairs as it helps to work off all the yummy french food available in the area. I shared the bathroom which was kept neat, and never had to wait on someone. The single bed room has a sink and mirror in it to freshen up as well. I you are on an early flight, they can provide a breakfast to you for the early morning before the usual breakfast starts which was helpful! It is 10min walk to the Notre Dame, 15min to the Rue de Revoli and a few steps from some fantastic french restaurants. Highly recommend and can't wait to visit again!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank Shae W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Amazing location in the heart of Paris excellent for both learning city by walk as well as convenient public transportation. Located at quite street this tidy hotel is offering everything you need during the travel: shower, laundry, breakfast, fridge, kitchen, free internet access, printing and scanning services. Don't expect luxury, expect all conveniences you really need for fare minimum price. Strong recommendation for everyone.

Room Tip: We've enjoyed room with private shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boroda8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Around 3pm, We landed in Paris at ORLY airport, hopped in a taxi and for less than 30 euros - we were at the hotel.

Simply nothing like an American hotel, Marignan delivers what it promises... Great staff, free laundry and wifi, comfy rooms, stairs, a simple breakfast, more stairs, and most important - perfect location. You are in the center of Paris.

I can't speak to the rest of the rooms,, just room 22. We spent 8 nights here
1) bed fit us both, comfy... Firm bed. No AC, but you do have a fan.
2) room had a bath/shower - we are not much for "sharing" with strangers. ((We did walk by those shared baths/showers.. Not horrible, just not our comfort))
3) room 22, is on the 4th floor - so 4 flights to climb
4) very clean, and kept clean throughout our stay ((Great job!!))
5) bring a converter, and a power strip. You'll need the extra plugs

Around 7am on our last morning, we had the 18euro shuttle pick us up. Be sure to give yourself plenty of time to get to import - we flew out of C Gaulle. Hotel staff helped us book this.

When we paid, the hotel offer for us to pay in US$, through our credit card. I don't fully understand it - but we did it... And it was exactly what the amount should have been, with no extra fees. So I think that was a savings and its nice of the hotel to offer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TL02474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My friend and I stayed at Hotel Marignan for 4 nights. It was my first time in Paris and our first time at this particular hotel. The room was cozy and clean with a double bed, sink, balcony and fan that we definitely needed! The bathroom and shower were right outside our door in the hall which was very convenient. The hotel was located on a side street so there wasn't a lot of noise from traffic. We loved walking up the little spiral staircase to our room. It gave the place such a different feel from any hotel you'd find in the US. We used the free laundry service and the computer as well. Breakfast was included and it was delicious-bread with your choice of jam, butter, cheese or chocolate spread, coffee or hot chocolate, orange juice, fruit and a little dessert biscuit (we couldn't even finish those). The staff was very friendly and what we appreciated the most was the help of the manager, Mr. Keniger. After a series of events including me not being able to access my email and the plan for where to pick up the key for our next destination changing, Mr. Keniger printed out the changes which my mom had emailed to him and taped them to the door of our room. Without that, we would have been lost and confused in our next location. We appreciated it so much. Along with all of these things Hotel Marignan is in a fantastic location, walking distance to many major sights you would want to see and is a great price for everything that's included. If you don't mind walking up some stairs to your room and not having air conditioning, this hotel has everything else you need! I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My family ( myself, husband and two daughters aged 7 and 11 ) stayed at the Marignan for 4 nights during the last week of August and loved it! I agree with other reviews- the Marignan has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and ambience that you do not find in bigger, smarter, expensive hotels .Before our visit I was a little unsure about having a shared shower, but no problems, shower always free for us, with constant hot water, better than in some 'posher ' hotels we have stayed in. The room was basic but the bed linen white and clean, toilet also clean, towels soft and thick too. There was a hair dryer and toiletries too, neither of which I was expecting. Breakfast basic but plentiful and filled us all up well. The staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful. It was brilliant to be able to use the kitchen to prepare lunch/dinner and to store food in the 'fridge - eating out very expensive in Paris.Will definitely stay there again and recommend you do too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggie may r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#195 of 1,804 in Paris
966 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
#918 of 1,804 in Paris
421 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel de France Quartier Latin
Hotel de France Quartier Latin
#1,238 of 1,804 in Paris
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#1,616 of 1,804 in Paris
467 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#253 of 1,804 in Paris
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marignan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marignan

Address: 13 rue du Sommerard | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#92 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#207 Business Hotel in Paris
#449 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £70 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Marignan 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in the center of Paris, Quartier Latin The Hotel Marignan is located in a small, quiet street of Paris, city center on the left bank in the famous "Quartier Latin" district. The hotel is close to Notre Dame de Paris, Sorbonne University, the Pantheon and Luxembourg Gardens (five minutes walking) and is an ideal accommodation for families and international guests visiting Paris. Free services We offer clean and comfortable accommodation for up to 5 people with competitive prices that include many free services: Free Wifi internet PC available for clients Free Continental breakfast Free washing machine & dryer Free use of kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and fridge A library of guide books and novels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Marignan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marignan Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing