We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service & location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Marignan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marignan
Ranked #512 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
123 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent Service & location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We arrived at about 10am and was allowed to our room as it was vacant and were offered breakfast too! We were informed of the type of metro tickets best suited for travel and were shown to the notice board with information on attractions, restaurants and tourist information. Staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Hotel is very close to a few metro stations and the Notre Dame.

Room Tip: Request for a low floor if you have a lot of bags as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    332
    87
    29
    26
See reviews for
268
151
99
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We booked (for four nights) late, and were offered an en suite room for the first two nights and a room with shared bathroom for the next two nights. Both were very comfortable and clean. Staff were informative and helpful, the hotel is close to all the major sights & venues we wanted to visit, and there's no shortage of restaurants and shops close by. All in all, a hugely enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15grosvenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I think it is very important to know that this hotel has 6 floors and NO LIFT. Additionally, the staircase is very narrow.

If you are staying on the SIXTH FLOOR you should be very careful when climbing up the staircase: there is a VERY DANGEROUSLY PLACED smoke-detector, on the wall next to the staircase, and you may very easily injure your head! Without any doubts that device should be relocated elsewhere (they are in fact well aware of the risk, as proven by the fact that they placed there a warning - but this becomes visible only after hurting your head, when it's of course too late).

Breakfast is included in the price but it is of poor quality in my opinion. Breakfast room was cold when I was there.

The reception staff was very kind and helpful. The manager was instead not so friendly.

Location is very good and rooms are ok, except for the noise from the corridor and from other rooms, which was clearly audible-so I did not get a good sleep.

Room Tip: AVOID THE 6TH FLOOR! There is no lift, bathroom not on the same floor, plus a danger to injury yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bytklim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland K, Directeur général at Hotel Marignan, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Sir,
The security commission of the city of Paris has inspected the hotel and found that everything was in full compliance with all regulations. We respect all security regulations.
I am sorry for this small incident. I gave you another room as soon as possible. No one else has had this problem, and as you note, we warn people to pay attention at this spot.
As for the breakfast, most of our clients like it and it is free.
Roland Keniger
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Hotel Marignan was great!! The location was excellent, only a 5 minute walk to Saint-Germain, Notre Dame and the Seine, around which are tons of shops and restaurants. The hotel was neatly kept, and the service was outstanding. There was a bulletin board in the lobby with tons of tourist information on it: restaurant suggestions, tips on using the metro, museum opening times and prices, etc. We had a room on the fifth floor - five flights of steep spiral staircase - but it was worth it, because our room had a balcony with beautiful views. We had a double bed with a sink in the room, and there was a toilet and shower just outside in the hallway. There are only a few rooms on each floor, so there was never a wait to use the facilities. The hotel has free wifi and a computer in the lobby available for guests (we had problems connecting to the wifi at first from our phones: it said it was connected but nothing would load. Turns out we just had to open Safari and accept the internet terms in order to log on. Once we figured that out, it worked flawlessly. A major plus!). Another huge bonus at this hotel was the free breakfast: a fresh baguette with nutella, butter, jam, and cheese; a cup of fruit; and coffee, tea or hot chocolate. Overall my experience here was more than I expected, and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shayna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night, the staff were friendly and helpful, giving us a map on arrival and showing us where the major attractions were. There is also a notice board with other information on.
We paid £104 for a triple room with private bathroom and we had 3 beds, it was a good size and the bathroom was a good size too, and clean.
Breakfast was nice, a baguette, jam, cheese spread, nutella, a little cake, tinned fruit, juice and tea/coffee, it was enough for us.
The location was really good, 5 mins walk to Notre Dame, near plenty of restaurants and 2 mins to the metro station.
There is a washing machine you can use and a microwave, we never used them but they're there if you need them.
There was some work getting done near the hotel (roadworks I think) which started just before 8, which wasn't really a problem as we were getting up at that time but it wouldn't be good if you wanted a lie in. But obviously it isn't the hotels fault.
We would definitely stay there again and would recommend it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ChloChar2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We came here at the recommendation of a friend for a basic, clean, friendly place to stay in Paris. We are very happy we did. The location is excellent. It's very accessible via the RER from the airport and within walking distance of many sights. The staff is friendly and knowledgable, and our room was clean and comfortable. Being that was on the top floor, we also had a great view! Wifi worked great. No complaints, would absolutely stay there again and recommend to other budget travelers.

Room Tip: If you don't mind climbing the stairs, the views in the top floor rooms are excellent. Just mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJWerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was my second stay at the hotel Marignan. I'd been there 2 years ago with our daughter and 2 of her children and had had a family room, which we'd found quite adequate for our needs. This time my wife and I stayed there. We hadn't booked in time to have a room with ensuite facilities, but the shower and the toilet were both close to our room. We seemed to be the only ones using the shower, which was clean and with plenty of hot water, but we seemed to be sharing the toilet with others. The bedroom was small but clean and the bed was very comfortable. The towels provided seemed new and of good quality. Breakfast was simple but perfectly adequate. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very centrally located and we didn't need to use public transport very often, because we were able to walk to most places. There are plenty of good and relatively cheap places to eat within 5 minutes walk of the hotel, both for a full meal and for a snack.Even without crossing the river one has easy access to the Musée d'Orsay, the Jardin du Luxembourg, the Jardin des Plantes and the Latin Quarter, while across the river within easy reach are Notre Dame, la Sainte Chapelle, the Louvre, the Jardin des Tuileries, to mention just a few places. The hotel rooms don't have TV, but they are perfectly adequate for sleeping in. We would be very happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to book early enough to get a room with ensuite facilities on one of the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#170 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#429 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Le Jardin de Cluny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Le Home Latin
Hotel Le Home Latin
#992 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#324 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#190 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marignan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marignan

Property: Hotel Marignan
Address: 13 rue du Sommerard | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#208 Business Hotel in Paris
#303 Family Hotel in Paris
#450 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Marignan 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in the center of Paris, Quartier Latin The Hotel Marignan is located in a small, quiet street of Paris, city center on the left bank in the famous "Quartier Latin" district. The hotel is close to Notre Dame de Paris, Sorbonne University, the Pantheon and Luxembourg Gardens (five minutes walking) and is an ideal accommodation for families and international guests visiting Paris. Free services We offer clean and comfortable accommodation for up to 5 people with competitive prices that include many free services: Free Wifi internet PC available for clients Free Continental breakfast Free washing machine & dryer Free use of kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and fridge A library of guide books and novels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Marignan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marignan Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing