We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, great value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marignan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Marignan
Ranked #495 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cahuita, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

This was was our first time staying in Paris, and we were not disappointed with our stay at Hotel Marignan. We were perfectly located, walking distance from a number of the attractions on our tick list, well priced restaurants, and metro stations. We had the lower level room, which was adequate for our family of four, and the rate was a bargain considering it included breakfast, laundry, and WiFi. The hotel is on a quiet street, though being on the lower level we did have some minor noise from the lobby and outside, though not a big deal for us. The hotel owner spent some time with us going through our trip itinerary, providing some useful suggestions and tips. We would stay here again on our next visit to Paris.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PSFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    327
    85
    29
    25
See reviews for
267
148
96
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

My first time in Paris and traveling solo. This place fit the bill perfectly:
- Safe neighborhood
- Close to plenty of eateries, major attractions, several metro stops
- Quiet
- The cheapest accommodation I could find without having to resort to a hostel
- Plentiful basic but delicious breakfast
- English speaking reception. They recommended and reserved a wonderful local bistro 'Le Buisson Ardent' for me.
- Shared showers but clean.
- In room wash basin and mirror. Provided towels.
- Free laundry.

Wonderful place if you are after something basic, clean and convenient. I would return.

Room Tip: No elevators. I stayed on 4th floor- the climb may be a hindrance if mobility is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loosek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We needed a Quint room for our stay for our family of five and the whole experience was incredible. The room was great and the staff fantastic. From the breakfast to the in-suite bathroom it was more that we expected. I would definitely stay there next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brianjj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

It was my first time at this hotel which is centrally located, a 5 minutes walk from the Seine and Notre Dame, close to the main sights, transport links and to many wonderful cinemas, not to mention places of literary interest (where Hemingway lived to mention one) All the staff were helpful and friendly and the 2 rooms I used during my stay were pretty, comfortable and clean. I will definitely go back to the Hotel Marignan as I had a wonderful experience

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tacoma, washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I chose HM because I had to cancel a few years ago but they kept me on their email list. I figured they wanted my business. They responded to emails promptly (I was inquiring from Morocco). They gave very explicit directions from the moment I stepped off the to their place. My room got upgraded. My room was on the 5th floor, no lift. But that was totally fine. It was extremely easy for my first time to Paris.

At 61 euros cheaper than anything else I found. The RER stops blocks from their place, more restaurants in the area than you can shake a stick at. Just a few minutes from Notre Dame and the Seine. Great location. Free wifi. Good instructions (in English) upon arrival. Nice breakfast. Free laundry, I believe.

Construction on the building across the street, but then again the American Church which I went to was under renovation, and the Arc de Triomphe had a tarp over its façade too. When I return to Paris, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revreggae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and was upgraded to a ensuite room. Bathrooms are very cramped but that's Paris. Really close to the St Michaels metro RER station. Friendly staff with English speaking tips and hints. Thanks for the stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rjleey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Myself and two friends stayed here for about 4 nights. It was perfect for budget travellers and was in a perfect location! We were easily able to get to Rue Mouffetard, which has excellent restaurants and great to walk down. Also in close proximity to Notre Dame and even les jardins de Luxembourg. The service was excellent and we even were able to use the kitchen to save a bit of money. We were 5 floors up, with no elevator, but if you're down for some exercise- you're good to go!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zoë N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#186 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Le Home Latin
Hotel Le Home Latin
#988 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#296 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Best Western Le Jardin de Cluny
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#190 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel de Suez
Hotel de Suez
#464 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marignan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marignan

Property: Hotel Marignan
Address: 13 rue du Sommerard | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#208 Business Hotel in Paris
#304 Family Hotel in Paris
#451 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Marignan 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in the center of Paris, Quartier Latin The Hotel Marignan is located in a small, quiet street of Paris, city center on the left bank in the famous "Quartier Latin" district. The hotel is close to Notre Dame de Paris, Sorbonne University, the Pantheon and Luxembourg Gardens (five minutes walking) and is an ideal accommodation for families and international guests visiting Paris. Free services We offer clean and comfortable accommodation for up to 5 people with competitive prices that include many free services: Free Wifi internet PC available for clients Free Continental breakfast Free washing machine & dryer Free use of kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and fridge A library of guide books and novels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Marignan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marignan Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing