We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location hotel”
Review of Hotel Marignan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marignan
Ranked #545 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

5 minute walk from notre dame. Very close to metro station, eatery places.
The room is good enough for sleeping.The price is very reasonable. Will stay there again when we visit Paris. Highly recomend for travellers who do not look for luxury staying.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elsye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was the friendliest hotels I have ever been in. The staff is by far some of the nicest and helpful people I have met. Breakfast is served every morning. The staff speaks several languages and there is even a laundry room. They let you check out travel books and there is a bulletin board with city travel tips (like museum closings and train info). There is no elevator, but the stairs are not bad. Rooms are very comfortable and quiet. All rooms have excellent free wifi. I will never stay at any other location in Paris!

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable. Some rooms have shared bathroom. You can request a room with a private ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We live in Hong Kong and generally live it up in luxury on holidays. But in Paris we always stay at the Marignan.

Friendly, helpful staff, it delivers exactly what it promises on the web. This time we were on the coronary inducing 6th floor, which makes us think twice about what we need before we come downstairs.

But we love staying here still. Free use of kitchen and nearby fresh food markets is great, and free laundry too.

Brilliant location for sightseeing, great food around the area, and the baguette with cream cheese and hot chocolate breakfast just seems like a religious experience.


Surpassed only by the crepes
nearby with nutella, banana and Grand Marnier.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJFlash138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in a room with a double bed and sink on the 3rd floor. The toilet and shower were across the hall. This was my second stay at Hotel Marignan and I would happily stay here again. Our room was comfortable and clean. As was the toilet and shower rooms. In our 3 night stay we never had to wait to use either. Not sure how many others were using the bathroom but we never had any issues at all. Breakfast was good. The standouts for staying at Hotel Marignan for me are the use of a kitchen, luggage storage, book exchange and most importantly free laundry including the soap. I really appreciate that service. All of the staff were friendly to us and happily answered our questions about busses, sites, etc. The location is great! So close to sites, shops, banks and transit options. Will happily climb the stairs at the Marginan on our next stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank AuntyLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is by no means upscale or trendy. What it is is clean, perfect location, lovely hosts, and very convenient to all of Paris' attractions and Metro. The price is great for the location. The breakfast, which is included, is fresh and timely. We booked a triple room with a shower and toilet en suite. The hallway carpeting and other linens are a bit tired but, again, it's a great price and location. Quiet street. Staff is helpful and there are helpful tips posted on bulletin board. Kitchen for use of guests as well as full laundry with free use and soaps. Wifi is included. Comfortable stay in the Latin Quarter.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joburkholder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Marignan during the last week of June, in a room that accommodated all six of us. We had stayed here several years ago and like it so much we decided to return. Our children range in age from16 to 7, and we managed to all find places to sleep. The washroom was surprisingly large with his and her sinks. The hotel had clearly been renovated since we last visited, and renovations continue.

The breakfast was the same fare that was served before, but we enjoy it. We made use of the fridge to store milk and foodstuff, and the staff were helpful in boiling water for tea during the day. The staff, in general, were very friendly and helpful.

And as before, the location is ideal, with easy walks to various sites and gardens. We also again enjoyed the open air market just around the corner with its fresh fruit and vegetables, as well as crafts.

I am happy to recommend this hotel and our only disappointment was that we could only book the room for part of our time in Paris.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so ask for a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prenns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Comfy, clean and home away from home this little gem of a hotel. Ideally located in the heart of the Latin Quarter action, but in quiet street far enough away to be peaceful. Attention to detail from management excellent, breakfast served to you each morning - what more could anyone want! I'll return.
Marg Malkin

Room Tip: no elevator, but stairs are wide and easily negotiable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#195 of 1,804 in Paris
966 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
#918 of 1,804 in Paris
421 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel de France Quartier Latin
Hotel de France Quartier Latin
#1,238 of 1,804 in Paris
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#1,616 of 1,804 in Paris
467 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#253 of 1,804 in Paris
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marignan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marignan

Address: 13 rue du Sommerard | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#92 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#207 Business Hotel in Paris
#449 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £70 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Marignan 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in the center of Paris, Quartier Latin The Hotel Marignan is located in a small, quiet street of Paris, city center on the left bank in the famous "Quartier Latin" district. The hotel is close to Notre Dame de Paris, Sorbonne University, the Pantheon and Luxembourg Gardens (five minutes walking) and is an ideal accommodation for families and international guests visiting Paris. Free services We offer clean and comfortable accommodation for up to 5 people with competitive prices that include many free services: Free Wifi internet PC available for clients Free Continental breakfast Free washing machine & dryer Free use of kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and fridge A library of guide books and novels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Marignan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marignan Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing