We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel in Paris!”
Review of Le Village Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Village Hostel
Ranked #2 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great hostel in Paris!”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Really cool and friendly hostel, provided with fresh clean sheets upon arrival and met smiling faces. Good working free wifi, clean well kept rooms with plenty of young people to socialize with, and FABULOUS free breakfast. Hostel provides many areas to sit and talk to friends. Also 2 minutes away from metro and sacre coer. Would stay here again!

Helpful?
Thank marcyella13
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    289
    106
    34
    32
See reviews for
44
110
301
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We liked our stay here but might look elsewhere when in Paris, main reason was unfortunately just the area itself. When we first saw it, i must admit my heart sunk with some worry, It is next to the red light district with lots of market stalls and a few sketchy people around, so if arriving by night I would hesitate to walk from the metro to the hostel alone in a city your unfamiliar with. Having said that the hostel is actually really good. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The hostel is secure and only five minute walk to a few metro stops. Close to the sacre couer and moulin rouge. Room was clean and decent although a bit small and a little bit noisy from the street noise. Breakfast was included and was good. Had a kitchen and fridge and nice outdoor area for chilling out when the sun was around. Wifi only worked in the lobby which was a bit annoying but no biggie. Seems like a very chilled and quiet hostel, not a party hostel. Good budget option and not bad for the price in Paris, an expensive city.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brians86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed in a 4 bed dorm and the only way to access it was via the terrace. The terrace offers a brilliant view of Sacre Coeur however it makes life difficult when going to your room! The breakfast was yummy! Fresh bread and croissants with hot chocolate make it a good start to the day! The guys and girls on the front desk were wonderful and very helpful. The hostel is super close to the metro stop Anvers and really close to gare du nord. I would stay here again!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ClaireMcNeilage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Stayed here for a week while I was visiting a friend who was an exchange student in Paris. Hostel is clean and the staff is friendly. Only complaint that I can think of is that the Wi-Fi only works in the lobby area, other than that everything else was great.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cody T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamberg, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The village is a nice hostel just around the corner of Sacre Coeur. It is very close to the metro station “Anvers” and “Barbès Rochechuart”. It is good advice to buy a 10-times-ticket or a similar offering and start your sightseeing tours at one of these metro stations. The railway station “Gare du Nord” is easy to reach by walk (about 15 min), too. Unfortunately, the neighborhood is not the best; if you plan to get out at night, you might want to use the metro to get somewhere else. A supermarket is just over the road.
The staff is very friendly and speaks perfect English. Wifi is free and fast. Rooms and kitchen were clean, but not very fancy or modern. They don’t have an oven and neither a toaster. The shower is the only bad thing about the rooms. Compared to the rest of Paris, you can get beer for very reasonable prices at the hostel itself.
A magnificent breakfast is included in the price. They offer an all-you-can-eat-buffet with bread rolls, croissants, cereals, butter, jam, orange juice, tea and coffee from 7.30 am to 9.30 am!
If you don’t mind that the shower is not the best, we absolutely recommend The Village, especially due to the superb breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pascal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlovac,Croatia
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2013

It's clean,safe,comfy,quiet,with a great personnel and on great location on Montmartre- only few minutes away from Sacre Coeur,Anvers and Barbes Rochechouart metro stations, souvenir shops,pattiseries,cafes,,,They offer really great breakfast,the personnel is kind and pleasant,always with a big warm smile :-) We found our french home and would fully recommend it fully :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suedehead_ivana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

The bedrooms were nice beds EXTREMELY noisy to roll or turn over kept waking me up n imnot a light sleeper I slept thru my drunken roomies coming in at 3am but the creaking of the bed woke me and the nob for the shower you had to keep you hand on it or it would turn off other then that I don't have really any complaints slightly out of the way to any sights other than sacre couer but the metro is close and the price is a bit steep but oh we'll I guess all in all it's really not a bad place their staff were all friendly besides the breakfast lady I got a story about her.....but for another time perhaps if they dropped the price some I would reccomend this place to anyone its a hostel mot a hotel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lidsinga42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Le Marais
Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE  Fourcy
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vintage Hostel
#12 of 166 in Paris
757 reviews
Le Regent Hostel
#9 of 166 in Paris
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Village Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Village Hostel

Property: Le Village Hostel
Address: 20 rue d Orsel, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Village is where old-world charm has a hip, fresh attitude. Located in Montmartre, one of Paris's most popular and authentic areas, we provide travellers with the service and comfort of a hotel at budget prices. Montmartre is one of Paris's most popular districts for a few reasons: it's close to famous tourist sites like Sacre-Coeur and the Moulin Rouge and is full of bars - as the On the Road Pub, bistros and some of the best nightlife Paris has to offer. We're very close to the metro so getting to anywhere else in Paris easy and cheap. Stay here and you'll be in a fantastic area. You will have choice between several accomodations types from the single or private double / triple / quadruple rooms to cheap beds in mixt or female dormitories. All of our rooms are equipped with air conditioning and their own shower, toilet, sink and telephone and include free linen and blankets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Village Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Village Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing